We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 169)
Filter reviews
1 169 results
Traveller rating
528
445
131
44
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
445
131
44
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor business trip huge pool excellent hotel main restaurant great facilities room service rooms are spacious an oasis enjoyed my stay airport shuttle home away from home deli gym africa pharmacy security
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 1 169 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The hotel is an exceptionally comfortable one with large rooms and excellent wi-fi. Very comfortable for a stay and also a great location to meet clients and work colleagues. The food is above average and they have a full selection buffet.

Everything is immaculately clean and crisp. The air conditioning inn the main lobby and restaurant is set to freezing. If you stay at the Hotel for your entire stay and never venture outside this is fine as you can wear warm clothes. Your room has a thermostat you can set to your own temperature.

Taxi's to and from the hotel (not airport {free}) were astronomically expensive at $25 per trip to $60 per hour. I realised taking Uber was about $4 for the same distance.

The experience with the staff was mixed. Most staff were extremely helpful and professional, however, there was one bad egg.

We were there for conference and gave the conference address to a lady at the "taxi" desk. She sent the taxi to the wrong location. Instead of apologising for her mistake, she accused me of giving the wrong directions to the driver? It was my first trip to Accra so it was not possible to give ANY directions to the driver.

It is the first time I have had to argue with a staff member of a hotel where you are paying $350 -$400 +- per night and $25 for a trip. A mistake was made and an apology would have been nice. A refund for the trip would have been better as we were an hour later than we wanted to be.

Room tip: All rooms are good. Buffet breakfast/ dinner is good. Super expensive !
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank douge992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Traveler

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your experiences. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your time with us and please rest assured, your compliments will be shared and appreciated by the team.

In regards to our taxi services we indeed have a higher rate than the regular taxi’s you get on the street since the services and safety differs at largely from the standards you find there. In addition I will investigate further your comment about our transport desk.
Thank you for highlighting this.

We do look forward to welcome you back in the next year and I remain with

Kind regards
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Generally good hotel but pricey. Good location unless you need to go to Tema. Staff are very pleasant and friendly and, for the most part, well trained. The food is good - drinks are expensive. Rooms are clean, beds good but unless you want a bath ask for a shower. Gym OK but spa is limited. If you are running an event there the Events management staff tend to be a bit invisible which is a pain when something goes wrong.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank P4456HSgarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for hosting your event at the Moevenpick Ambassador Hotel. Your praise and comments will be shared with the team.
You mentioned that you find the Spa limited. The Marn-Dah Spa is expert in Thai massages and we do have another Beauty Saloon at the Commercial Center which offers in addition to hair styling also manicure and pedicure & facials. I am not sure if you had a chance to try there services, if not maybe you can check it out during your next stay.

We are looking forward to it.

With best regards
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Excellent service from Kelvin at reception snd most other. Some slightly junior staff at payment desk was unable to realise poor connection for payment card. All in all a great experience and I will always stay here when in Ghana

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank Z4672PKevelynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Traveler

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for selecting our hotel as your home away from home. Kelvin and the team do appreciate your praise and please rest assured that we will train our new employees better to avoid such situations.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Good hotel with modern facilities. Please if possible use "des vitre teintées" for windows of rooms. We can easily see people through them. Thanks. I enjoyed my stay in your hotel and can recommend it to a friend or a colleague.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank agosolangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Accra and for your comments. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I had an excellent stay at the hotel which has a beautiful environment as well. Customer service was excellent and the hospitality was five star. Happy to stay again at Movenpick Accra during my next visit to Ghana.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
Thank brianmN9902UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja M, Rooms Division Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Mr. Brian

“Excellent” that’s what we are aiming for and we are excited to see that you experienced our services & facilities in this way. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we do look forward to welcome you back one day soon.

With kind regards
Nadja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews