We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethiopian handicrafts & arts”
Review of Salem's Ethiopia

Salem's Ethiopia
Ranked #2 of 23 Shopping in Addis Ababa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salem's produces authentic Ethiopian handcrafts for personal and home accessories. Our main objective is to deliver quality designs that highlight the rich culture of handcrafts in Ethiopia while empowering Ethiopian craftspeople. In addition to producing on site, we also stock handcrafted items from other artisan groups. One of Salem's core values is committment to giving a fair return to all employees and co-op partners.
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Salem’s is a little off the beaten path and worth a visit. The displays highlight their weaved goods and you can watch many of the scarves being made. The store offers a variety of handicrafts, clothing, art, jewelry and home goods. Prices were reasonable for the quality - about 300 birr for a nice scarf. They do accept credit cards.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank loveDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem K, Manager at Salem's Ethiopia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Love DCA
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"men and women"
in 4 reviews
"accept credit cards"
in 3 reviews
"woven goods"
in 3 reviews
"home goods"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful handicrafts"
in 2 reviews
"great place to shop"
in 2 reviews
"quality products"
in 2 reviews
"taking photos"
in 2 reviews
"fair trade"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"scarves"
in 19 reviews
"workshop"
in 10 reviews
"cotton"
in 7 reviews
"gifts"
in 11 reviews
"artisan"
in 14 reviews
"basket"
in 17 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Very nice selection of handicrafts. High quality artisan made ranging from textiles to jewelry to small clay works and large baskets. Didn't feel comfortable taking photos of the artists working behind glass doors but it was quite amazing to see the crafts being made right there on the premises.
It is a gorgeous shop and showroom, the displays are tasteful and organized.
My only minus today was that there was no sales person to ask questions to. The cashier didn't speak any English. I would have liked to find out more about the store and the craftspeople. Maybe I came too early in the morning!
I also loved the fact that there was a flat price on each item. I knew exactly how much I would be spending and I found the prices to be worth the work that went into making them.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank mia_tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem K, Manager at Salem's Ethiopia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Mia,
Thank you for the visit to our shop and your review. We truly appreciate it. Taking pictures of the artisans is absolutely ok. They understand that it will only be for your personal use and next time you visit, please feel free to do so.
With regards to the cashier not speaking English, I fully understand you and it is quite a challenge for us. However even the little English that the cashiers speak, we have put in so much effort and encouragement into it. We hope to continue to do better in the future.
All the best
Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I would give this shop/workshop no less than 5 stars. I loved everything on the shelfs, and was hard to get me out.
Beautiful work, lovely people, and fair trade.
Should be on the top of “ where to go” list in Addis.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Greenrosseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem K, Manager at Salem's Ethiopia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Greenrosseta,
Thank you for visiting our shop and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We feel encouraged and are very grateful for such visits and feed backs.
Wish you all the best.
Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We had a very Interesting shopping experience at Salems Ethiopia. They have different fabrics for scarf and handcrafts.
It's also great to see how things work in the shop. Moreover the shop employ mainly women to support them and their family.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank etsehiwote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem K, Manager at Salem's Ethiopia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for visiting our place Etsehiwot. We appreciate your comments and of course the business you gave us.
All the best.
Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

such a beautiful spot. you see weaving, sewing, basket and jewellery making. Salem is a gentle unpretentious and gracious lady who had a vision for employing local people and now exports world wide. the prices are very reasonable. my husband had a white cotton shirt made overnight as he admired a blue shirt but there were no white ones. the baskets are made from authentic Zulu designs. Even Ethiopian crosses are cheaper here than in the markets!! this is a must-visit place!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank RichardDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem K, Manager at Salem's Ethiopia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear RichardDenise,
How grateful we are for your visit. We too love the white cotton shirts. We hope to make more styles in the same material. The business we are afforded by such visits will ensure not only that our artisans are paid but also they get so encouraged when their creations are sold.
Thank you so much.
Salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salem's Ethiopia also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Salem's Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing