We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
36
34
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
34
8
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely cosy and kind place!
The staff are ridiculously helpful and work tirelessly to meet the needs of all their guests!
The Greek Embassy restaurant across the street is worth a visit as well, delicious and safe food!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tdntdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I spent a week in here in July 2016 while on business, nice and spacious room and nicely located near CBD .The personal touch and warm of the owners makes all the difference give one that sense home not just a lodge ......they serve also nice local Ethiopian food

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Themba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

well located, perfectly equipped the Lion's Den Hotel has major assets: perfect welcome and spacy, clean and quiet rooms and the hotel management lives its commitment to make you feel home at their place in Addis - I was impressed by both, the professional performance and the personal atmosphere. Thank you, The Lion's Den Hotel for these perfect four days in Addis!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dairyanton2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I first stayed at Lions Den in 2010 and have been going back at least 2 times a year whenever I come to Ethiopia for business or on holiday. Very friendly and professional staff, clean rooms, efficient service, reasonable price, great location, consistently excellent food.. What else can a traveller ask for? All the above are reasons why I continue to choose to stay at Lions Den. For me Lions Den has and continues to be home away from home.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I spent nearly four months here (on and off) while on assignment with an NGO.

The long-term rate ($65 a night including breakfast) was very good value for a hotel in the middle of Addis. I had a double bedroom, sitting room (with flat screen TV), bathroom and a sort of kitchen. The "kitchen" has a double sink (cold water only), small fridge and loads of kitchen cupboards but strangely no actual cooking facilities or even a kettle. I ended up buying my own.

The hotel is in a fairly quiet area of greenery, which is hard to find in a city that is rapidly becoming a concrete jungle. The Greek Club with its excellent and good value restaurant is just across the road. The hotel has its own restaurant which Is best at providing local food (injeera etc) - not to everyone's taste.

Most rooms look out over an area of unkempt greenery which will probably become a building plot in due course but at the moment is a haven for birds. There are the usual noises from nearby barking dogs and inconsiderate fellow guests but there are no neighbouring churches or mosques belting out over-amplified chanting in the early hours.

The wifi suffered when put under load but worked most of the time. The hotel has its own enormous (and quiet) generator for coping with frequent power cuts and this powers everything, not just the lights as in some hotels. The water supply is reliable and the hot water system works at all times.

There is no air conditioning but Addis is so high that it is hardly needed. If you open the windows towards dusk to cool things down, be prepared to spray for mosquitoes afterwards. There are no lifts, so if you have a room higher up, you will have to climb the stairs and, until you get used to the altitude, get puffed out doing so.

Cleaning staff were extremely thorough and kept the rooms in spotless condition. There is a good value laundry service which may take two or three days to return your clean clothes and sometimes needs chasing.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and the hotel lived up to its motto of a "home away from home". Recommended for a good value long stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Beanie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sosina S, Front Office Manager at The Lion's Den Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

dear guest
Thank you for the great review! It is always pleasing to read such positive comments. I thank you so much for you feed back it gives us the opportunity to improve our service.thank you so much again we hope to see you soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews