We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant encounter”

Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wild Horizons Elephant Encounter - Walk With Giants affords guests the opportunity to unobtrusively interact with some of the biggest personalities in Africa, in a pristine wilderness environment overflowing with raw natural beauty. Guests spend time and connect with elephants in the most positive and natural way possible. The Wild Horizons Elephant Art Safari offers an eco conscious and unique elephant experience, brought to life by the artistic strokes of your fingertips, while surrounded by the African bush.
Reviewed 13 February 2018

It was an excellent trip. I would recommend it to anyone who loves elephants. The staff really care about the looking after for their well-being.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank susanletheren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Susan

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your Elephant Encounter. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience so much and that you found it to be so informative. Wild Horizons work very hard to promote conservation in the area and we are grateful to you for assisting us in being able to continue with this work in wildlife preservation.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"elephant ride"
in 60 reviews
"wild horizons"
in 77 reviews
"ridden elephants"
in 5 reviews
"elephant experience"
in 12 reviews
"these gentle giants"
in 6 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful ride"
in 5 reviews
"the reserve"
in 13 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful animals"
in 6 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 15 reviews
"visit victoria falls"
in 5 reviews
"take photos"
in 6 reviews
"sylvester"
in 39 reviews
"treats"
in 35 reviews
"trunk"
in 29 reviews
"safari"
in 98 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2018

We had a wonderful and memorable holiday with my family. That was really great. Keep up the good work!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank tangisaim2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Tangisaim

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your Elephant Encounter. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the experience so much. Thank you for assisting us in being able to continue with this work in wildlife preservation.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

An absolute must if you are in Victoria Falls! The staff are great and the elephants seem very happy. All in all a great experience that I think is suitable for families, couples and also for a solo visit. I highly recommend taking the time to take part in this activity.

Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Kurt

Thank you so much for your very kind and enthusiastic review. We love to hear how much guests have enjoyed this very special interaction. Thank you for recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

The Elephant Encounter is something I can absolutely recommend! The elephant carers are so sweet, competent and dedicated to making it the most exciting and yet safe experience for the participants. The elephants seem to be satisfied and happy to be in their natural habitat.
If in Victoria Falls and looking to meet the gentle giants one on one, this is the place to go!

Thank Natacha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Natacha

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful safari with us and enjoyed all the aspects. We are passionate about conservation, and elephant conservation in particular. As you so correctly noted, our herd is very loved and well cared for and this can be seen in the elephants themselves. Your visit to our sanctuary will provide funds for us to continue with our work in elephant conservation. Thank you for your high recommendation.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
Wild Horizons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

I was fortunate enough to experience the Elephant Encounter. It was fantastic to walk with elephants, learn about them from their handlers and feed them. It is such an intimate experience to be next to them, hearing them rumbling and watching how they use their trunks to pick up even the smallest things. The keepers have all been with the elephants for a long time and know and love these elephants. I would definitely recommend it if you are visiting Vic Falls.

Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Sheila

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to get such positive feedback on the Elephant Encounter. It certainly is a wonderful experience and we are so pleased that we could share it with you. Thank you for recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
The Elephant Encounter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Wild Horizons Elephant Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing