We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Imbabala! The Staff & Guides are amazing, the food is simple & delicious, the rooms are spacious & characteristic and the available activities are very interesting. I can definitely suggest experiencing all the activities offered, including the night drives!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Sabrina

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay at Imbabala. It is a very special place on the edge of the Zambezi! Your kind comments about the staff, the food, the accommodation and the activities are greatly appreciated. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back one day.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

The staff and facilities were great. We had a great time. Our guide Richard was really knowledgeable and helped us find so many unique animals. If we ever needed anything the staff were really accommodating. Having a very limited number of shacks was great as it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anna_ms85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Anna

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear how much guests have enjoyed their time at this very special place! It sounds as though you had a lovely time with Richard and your very kind words have been passed on to all the staff concerned. We are delighted that you had such great game viewing too.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The staff was very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. It was a wonderful and relaxing stay! The individual huts are comfortable and well appointed. Our guide was great!! The highlight of the stay was breakfast aboard a boat on the Zambezi River while watching all of the wildlife!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GemGirl552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Imbabala so much. We love to read how much guests have enjoyed their stay. Imbabala is a very special little gem set in the bush and we are so glad that you could visit us. Your kind comments about your guide been passed on. Thank you for recommending us.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Birding (accompanied by Stan the man), game viewing, both on water and land was out of this world. The chalets were ideal for 2 and early nights readied us for 5h30 starts the next day. Our hosts John and Sarah just couldn't do enough. This all together with a cordon bleu dining experience.
A day spent in Chobe was a worthwhile extension in spite of the in/out through the border post. A night drive is highly recommended where you are likely to see hippo, out of the water, hyena, civet, genet and serval if you're lucky, as we were.
For those birders we added 13 lifers to our list of >650. This was far more than expected - thank you Stan. We were a little early for the migrants and suggest 1st week in November would be a better time. Birding and game viewing on the river and a visit to the junction of 4 countries which is a world wide unique was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobJackson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Rob

Thank you for your wonderful review on Imbabala! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and had excellent bird sightings. 13 lifers certainly is an amazing achievement! Imbabala is in a perfect locationto provide wonderful bird watching opportunities. We are delighted that you also enjoyed your Chobe day trip so much.
Thank you for your kind comments about Jon, Sarah and Stan - these have been passed on. We would love to welcome you back again.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Having never been on an African Safari, I did not really know what to expect. So for most of my North American friends, let me summarize what you are exactly paying for. Depending on your package, most likely it will be all inclusive. If it is an all inclusive, it basically includes lodging, all meals, snacks, open bar drinks, and activities. If the rate seems high initially, you need to factor the "all inclusive" into the equation. To me, it was completely worth it.

Our activities included safari drives, boat safaris, & crossing into Botswana for land&water safari. The dry season is the best time to go as that is when the water is scarce and all the animals congregate onto these limited water area.

We were a group of 6 young men split into 3 different lodges. The crowd was mostly older European couples but everyone was very pleasant. Dinner is done family style, very nice dinners! Since we traveled as a "guys" trip, we did not bring our families but I am not sure if I would bring my children as they are still young. While certainly doable, I could see how children could get bored fairly quickly and then your vacation would be spoiled in trying to entertain them.

We did not go to the elephant lodge so cannot comment on that.

All in all, I would go back to Zimbabwe and specifically stay here or another one of their properties. Truly an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chud1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Chud

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends had such a lovely stay and Imbabala! The lodge staff all pride themselves on their excellent hospitality and your kind comments will be passed onto them. I am sure that many of your North American friends will find your detailed review very useful. Thank you for your great recommendation.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
62,1 km away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
938 reviews
57,8 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1 993 reviews
53,9 km away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58,9 km away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
460 reviews
57,8 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
916 reviews
60,5 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: R4 921 - R8 137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing