We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$970
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$485
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$316
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
US$1 238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$298
US$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$195
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
US$235
US$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
433
60
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
60
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesthe riverbotswana borderflood plainmorning cruisenight gamesafari lodgepontoon boatknowledgeable guideother guestsprivate concessionbirds and animalsgreat guidewild horizonsnight packagegreat hostsbird life
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

The staff and facilities were great. We had a great time. Our guide Richard was really knowledgeable and helped us find so many unique animals. If we ever needed anything the staff were really accommodating. Having a very limited number of shacks was great as it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anna_ms85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Anna

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear how much guests have enjoyed their time at this very special place! It sounds as though you had a lovely time with Richard and your very kind words have been passed on to all the staff concerned. We are delighted that you had such great game viewing too.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The staff was very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. It was a wonderful and relaxing stay! The individual huts are comfortable and well appointed. Our guide was great!! The highlight of the stay was breakfast aboard a boat on the Zambezi River while watching all of the wildlife!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GemGirl552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Imbabala so much. We love to read how much guests have enjoyed their stay. Imbabala is a very special little gem set in the bush and we are so glad that you could visit us. Your kind comments about your guide been passed on. Thank you for recommending us.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Birding (accompanied by Stan the man), game viewing, both on water and land was out of this world. The chalets were ideal for 2 and early nights readied us for 5h30 starts the next day. Our hosts John and Sarah just couldn't do enough. This all together with a cordon bleu dining experience.
A day spent in Chobe was a worthwhile extension in spite of the in/out through the border post. A night drive is highly recommended where you are likely to see hippo, out of the water, hyena, civet, genet and serval if you're lucky, as we were.
For those birders we added 13 lifers to our list of >650. This was far more than expected - thank you Stan. We were a little early for the migrants and suggest 1st week in November would be a better time. Birding and game viewing on the river and a visit to the junction of 4 countries which is a world wide unique was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobJackson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Rob

Thank you for your wonderful review on Imbabala! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and had excellent bird sightings. 13 lifers certainly is an amazing achievement! Imbabala is in a perfect locationto provide wonderful bird watching opportunities. We are delighted that you also enjoyed your Chobe day trip so much.
Thank you for your kind comments about Jon, Sarah and Stan - these have been passed on. We would love to welcome you back again.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Having never been on an African Safari, I did not really know what to expect. So for most of my North American friends, let me summarize what you are exactly paying for. Depending on your package, most likely it will be all inclusive. If it is an all inclusive, it basically includes lodging, all meals, snacks, open bar drinks, and activities. If the rate seems high initially, you need to factor the "all inclusive" into the equation. To me, it was completely worth it.

Our activities included safari drives, boat safaris, & crossing into Botswana for land&water safari. The dry season is the best time to go as that is when the water is scarce and all the animals congregate onto these limited water area.

We were a group of 6 young men split into 3 different lodges. The crowd was mostly older European couples but everyone was very pleasant. Dinner is done family style, very nice dinners! Since we traveled as a "guys" trip, we did not bring our families but I am not sure if I would bring my children as they are still young. While certainly doable, I could see how children could get bored fairly quickly and then your vacation would be spoiled in trying to entertain them.

We did not go to the elephant lodge so cannot comment on that.

All in all, I would go back to Zimbabwe and specifically stay here or another one of their properties. Truly an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chud1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Chud

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends had such a lovely stay and Imbabala! The lodge staff all pride themselves on their excellent hospitality and your kind comments will be passed onto them. I am sure that many of your North American friends will find your detailed review very useful. Thank you for your great recommendation.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This was the last of the 3 camps for us. This camp was a nice contrast to our previous 2, with being very near the Zambezi river. There is much lush and blooming flowers compared to the dryness of Camp Hwange Park. We saw a ton of hippos, waterbuck, impala, giraffes and more! We even saw 3 lions at night. Our guide, AB, was great! He would run and get us as elephants crossed the river as that is a sight to see! Every night baboons would come through the camp, followed by hunderd or so impala. Food was 5 star prepared by awesome chefs at the camp. Most of us in camp took the Bostwana day trip safari and it is totally worth it. You will see a beautiful park with tons of elephants, hippos and antelopes. We even had a few crocs on this side day tour.

Accomodations were very nice with a great shower and big bed.
John and Sara were great managers of the camp and helped make it a truly 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tall-Traveler6ft7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Imbabala so much. We loved to read about the wonderful contrast that Imbabala could give you compared to your safari in Hwange. Imbabala is a very special little gem set in the bush and we are so glad that you could visit us. Your kind comments about AB, Jon, Sarah and all the camp staff have been passed on. Thank you for recommending us so highly.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
Imbabala Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews