We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We just returned from a two week trip to Africa. Victoria falls being our first stop after connecting overnight flight from Kenya, airport transfer with Purple Patch faultless, offered water on pickup, We stayed here for two nights. We loved everything about it, the location and views of the falls unbelievable, we could have walked to Falls and shops Restaurants. opted for a Tour to the falls as had limited time. All the staff all very friendly and accommodating, especially with my wife being a Coeliac, but they could not have been more accommodating, thanks to our safari Consultants advising in advance, the food was lovely, plenty to eat at breakfast enough to fill you up all day, very intimate clean tidy, comfortable beds, amenities that were provided in our room, bug spray were very welcome as on safari we had to travel light, as we had a late flight given free use of spare room, the benefit of going during the quiet season We aim to return with our children

Room Tip: Second or top floor but the restaurant has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hereshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Look forward to your return with the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1 248 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Really enjoy the stay in ilala. The meal was great (both breakfast and dinner), the hotel was really great for relaxing as well.
Very close to the banks, close to the falls and city center.

Unfortunately the wifi wasnt good enough in our room, so I need to go outside for better connection. Except wifi, all was perfect. (Not to mention the mini bar in the room was all complimentary -- at the first time)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 7usmt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for staying and for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

This lodging was arranged by a tour operator and was a fantastic choice. Beautiful lodge with very good rooms and comfortable beds. There were elephants, warthogs, and all sort of animals that strolled through the property every day. You are very close, walking distance to Victoria Falls. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, friendly and professional. The food was overall good, the pool cleaned every day, and the outdoor lodging area excellent. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This is a functional hotel next to the Falls. We were warned about animals roaming the grounds but they didn't appear the night we stayed. Room had everything we needed for a one night stay. We sat on the terrace and relaxed watching the spray from the Falls. You are able to use the PC to book seats for you flights. Staff very friendly with an excellent language skills.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Sorry you didn't get to see the animals - warthogs, mongoose and bush buck are often grazing on the front lawns. Hope you can return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at this hotel and Victoria Falls

The hotel is lovely. One negative to mention is there is no lift to the lower floor but there is always a porter on hand to sort that for a couple of US dollars.(tip)

The food in the hotel was great but a little too fancy for me

I liked the “3 monkeys” restaurant 200yrds from the hotel,


One frustration we found on the day of arrival is below (copied from my earlier Facebook post). After our experience I really want to go back to VF to take used trainers and old season football shirts to those guys I know they’d appreciate them so much.


Zimbabwe we found a very safe country, there are no muggings, no thefts, but there are people trying to sell wooden sculptures or worthless high value Zimbabwean Dollars or just asking for money.

With a 95% unemployment rate this can only really be expected.

Our first/default answer to begging for money was “no” but these guys didn’t just walk away, they asked for food (I will always give a beggar food if I have it or if it is available) if we didn’t have food they asked for shoes, if we had neither they ask for the free shampoo and soap from the hotel .

You really know someone is struggling when they ask for the above.

We left Zimbabwe 3 pairs of trainers and £100 lighter.

Hopefully their new president can sort the wealth divide and make their beautiful country as good as it looks.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank simon4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
2,5 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1 990 reviews
0,5 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2 516 reviews
3,5 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,4 km away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
458 reviews
2,3 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
678 reviews
5,3 km away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: R3 372 - R5 174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing