We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$247
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$212
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
US$274
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamusha Lodge(Victoria Falls)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$130
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
US$391
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Backpackers(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
US$215
US$208
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$534
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 190
US$1 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 349)
Filter reviews
1 349 results
Traveller rating
801
470
69
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
470
69
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingsunset cruiseminute walk to the fallselephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1 349 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Really enjoy the stay in ilala. The meal was great (both breakfast and dinner), the hotel was really great for relaxing as well.
Very close to the banks, close to the falls and city center.

Unfortunately the wifi wasnt good enough in our room, so I need to go outside for better connection. Except wifi, all was perfect. (Not to mention the mini bar in the room was all complimentary -- at the first time)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 7usmt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for staying and for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

This lodging was arranged by a tour operator and was a fantastic choice. Beautiful lodge with very good rooms and comfortable beds. There were elephants, warthogs, and all sort of animals that strolled through the property every day. You are very close, walking distance to Victoria Falls. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, friendly and professional. The food was overall good, the pool cleaned every day, and the outdoor lodging area excellent. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This is a functional hotel next to the Falls. We were warned about animals roaming the grounds but they didn't appear the night we stayed. Room had everything we needed for a one night stay. We sat on the terrace and relaxed watching the spray from the Falls. You are able to use the PC to book seats for you flights. Staff very friendly with an excellent language skills.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Sorry you didn't get to see the animals - warthogs, mongoose and bush buck are often grazing on the front lawns. Hope you can return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at this hotel and Victoria Falls

The hotel is lovely. One negative to mention is there is no lift to the lower floor but there is always a porter on hand to sort that for a couple of US dollars.(tip)

The food in the hotel was great but a little too fancy for me

I liked the “3 monkeys” restaurant 200yrds from the hotel,


One frustration we found on the day of arrival is below (copied from my earlier Facebook post). After our experience I really want to go back to VF to take used trainers and old season football shirts to those guys I know they’d appreciate them so much.


Zimbabwe we found a very safe country, there are no muggings, no thefts, but there are people trying to sell wooden sculptures or worthless high value Zimbabwean Dollars or just asking for money.

With a 95% unemployment rate this can only really be expected.

Our first/default answer to begging for money was “no” but these guys didn’t just walk away, they asked for food (I will always give a beggar food if I have it or if it is available) if we didn’t have food they asked for shoes, if we had neither they ask for the free shampoo and soap from the hotel .

You really know someone is struggling when they ask for the above.

We left Zimbabwe 3 pairs of trainers and £100 lighter.

Hopefully their new president can sort the wealth divide and make their beautiful country as good as it looks.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank simon4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We just returned from a two-week trip to Africa. We had the great fortune to get to stay here for two nights. We loved everything about it -- the location (walking distance to Victoria Falls and souvenir shopping), the staff (all SO friendly and accommodating, especially when our daughter wasn't feeling well), the food (delicious, ample), the size (much more intimate than the larger hotels), the decor (wood, indoor/outdoor living), the comfort (beds, bedding, A/C) and amenities that were provided in our room (including bug spray). We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for staying! Hope your daughter recovered quickly and was able to enjoy the rest of her holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews