We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 422)
Filter reviews
1 422 results
Traveller rating
852
488
73
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
488
73
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm restaurant new wing ra ikane walking distance victoria falls hotel post office lovely hotel the ground floor tourist police closest hotel mist rising minute walk to the falls sunset cruise elephant walk our honeymoon wonderful stay helicopter ride
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 1 422 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

As part of our trip to Victoria Falls and to Botswana we stayed here for two nights. Located within easy walking distance from the falls we were very satisfied with the rooms and the services received and we also enjoyed a great dinner 'al Fresco'

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ernst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for the review and the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The reception on arrival is great, everything went very smooth. The rooms are rather old but very clean and well maintained. There is a waterhole in front of the rooms, during our stay no animals passed. Breakfast is too expensive.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Katrijn_Jeroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for the feedback. Breakfast is included in our rates. Our room refurbishment is planned for January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

In my humble opinion anyway. First you want to be on the Zim side of the falls, this way you can walk to the falls and get the best views. I know there are good lodges on the Zambia side, but you're going to want to view the falls from the Zim side. Ilala Lodge is only 10 mins walk from the Falls park entrance, so is ideally placed. It's just across the road from the Kingdom and the Victoria Falls hotel. It's a lovely comfortable hotel in the African style, without being at all stuffy. Staff were always friendly and helpful and you can wake in the morning to look out of your doors into the grounds and see warthog and bushbuck grazing there. After staying here we went on the Rovos Rail to Pretoria and met other people who had stayed at the Kingdom (good reports) and the Victoria Falls Hotel, which is looking tired in parts and guests who had stayed there voiced their disappointment, so glad we chose Ilala Lodge and would happily recommend and it will be our choice if we visit Victoria Falls again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ground floor garden room as you can look out the French doors at bushbuck and warthog.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for staying. Hope you had a memorable trip on Rovos Rail. Appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We recently stayed at Illala Lodge at the beginning of our camping safari and highly recommend it over all the other hotels we saw there. The people are wonderful, breakfast on the patio terrific, walking distance to the parks and Zambia, and our evening dinners on the Veranda were very special. Our rooms were great and not stuffy but relaxed and the tour groups smaller. We ended up eating all of our dinners there as the food and setting and service was terrific. The town is forgettable so spend your time at the park and then hike to the Zambia side of the falls for a special treat!

Room Tip: rooms higher level are better but no real view of the falls
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for staying. Glad you enjoyed our restaurant and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

The Hotel is very good for visiting the Victoria Falls as you can walk there. The Hotel is very big with and old and a new part. We had a nice room and a bottle of sparkling wine as a wedding special. It was loud because of the power supply and all the helicopter. The service from the Management is okay but more like " it's so famous and next to the Falls that the guest will come anyways"... But nice to stay for one night!

Thanks for the wedding gift for our honeymoon
Michael & Valéa

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valéa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on service as my team strive to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews