We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This hotel is beautifully situated on the banks of the Zambezi River. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. The restaurant is open sided with a lovely ambience. The breakfast is nicely presented and consists of a great variety of foods both hot and cold.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

A refreshing day to you alesquire

Thank you for taking your time to review Azambezi River Lodge on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we met your needs.

Thank you once again as we now look forward to staying with you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Pros - right on the Zambezi river, lush landscaping with lots of open space, nice restaurant with show, large balcony, wild warthog lawn 'mowers', quiet, daily bottled water, refrig and a/c, large bathroom, friendly staff.

Cons - far from town, small room, mosquito net in segments not continuous from ceiling to sides, no dividers between balconies, expensive food.

Notes: The shuttle does not run every hour so this made it harder to go into and come back from town. Every night the staff puts down the mosquito net and sprays the room with Doom. I know this because they sprayed while I was in it and nearly got sprayed myself. Depending how you feel about Doom, this is a pro or a con. Considering how many people we saw catching tours and eating at the restaurant, it was super quiet and felt empty.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AprilinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

A refreshing day to you AprilinCali

Many thanks for taking your taking your time to review Azambezi River Lodge. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards

Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We've stayed at A'Zambezi for a second time, for four nights.

Check-in was smooth and effortless (and the fruit juice was much appreciated!). We were showed to our room in almost no time.

Our upstairs room had a beautiful view of the garden, and although we missed a small rail next to the basin for face cloths/hand towel, the facilities were fantastic. I especially appreciated the hand shower in the bath (although there is a normal shower as well).

Our room was sprayed with insect repellent every evening (really necessary!) and we got complimentary water, tea and coffee refills every day. And I've never appreciated an air-con as much as during these visits!

Since there is a kettle and bar fridge in the room, we took instant oats, rusks and breakfast bars along, instead of having breakfast at the hotel every morning.

The room had a "normal" three-point plug this time, but it's still advisable to take adaptors with you or ask at the front desk; it took some planning to keep our phones and cameras charged with only one plug to use. The free Wi-Fi is really great - fast enough and ideal for posting pictures online!

But ultimately, it's the staff at A'Zambezi which makes it great. They're friendly and always ready and willing to assist with anything. The fact that many of them recognised us from last time, made us feel right at home, like we've never been away.

I'd like to make special mention of Kimpton and Joseph and Dennis, who are on the ball with the luggage and shuttle service; Timothy and Kenneth, the friendly security guards who called us to see hippos and elephants (once at 02:30 in the morning!); and Faith in reception, who is an absolute gem.
Eddie, the taxi driver, was really friendly and helpful as well.

It might not be as soon again, but we'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to phone you if they spot animals (elephants, hippos, etc.) grazing on the lawns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

A refreshing day to you alvijoen

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay again in our refreshing hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Azambezi River Lodge

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

An amazing hotel nestled on the bank of the Zambezi River. We arrived here after 20+ hours traveling and were immediately welcomed by friendly, helpful staff. No request was too much and the room was clean, comfortable and welcoming! Warthogs and mongooses roam the hotel grounds which adds to the wonderful experience.

The food at the restaurant was great, and watching the monkeys steal sugar packets at breakfast was one of the highlights of our trip! If we come back to Zimbabwe, we will definitively be staying at the A'Zambezi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

A refreshing day to you Lukas P

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate all the feedback on your stay at Azambezi. We will share this great review with the team. We really hope to see you back in Victoria Falls one day.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

After many hours on planes from Australia, we were so pleased to arrive and find everyone so helpful, and such a pretty, quiet place. Lovely room. Nice grounds to stroll down to the river. . Great food and bar.
The room staff were excellent in their attention to detail, even coming in to close the nets over the beds and spray for bugs. Couldnt do enough for us.
And a bit of a novelty for us, having wart hogs outside our room.
There was also a shuttle bus in to town , but its only a $10 taxi ride anyway if the times dont suit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kaye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibongile2015, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

A refreshing day to you kaye g

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to note that you had a comfortable and memorable experience by the Zambezi River.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we are now looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
2 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1 993 reviews
1,3 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
679 reviews
2,9 km away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2 521 reviews
3,5 km away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
410 reviews
3,5 km away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls +260, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: R1 914 - R4 132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing