We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner by the watering hole”

Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Centuries past, we’re told, an inimitable Royal Drum disenchanted with its owner was lost forever when it ‘jumped’ into the Zambezi River. In honour of this legend, the award-winning Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant celebrates the richness of Africa’s heritage with fine fare and unmatched hospitality. The MaKuwa-Kuwa drumbeat is a call to partake of a royal feast.Located in the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's central hub is the Makuwa-Kuwa Resaurant - split level and with a 270º view of the unfenced Zambezi National Park, and focusing on a central waterhole attracting year-round wildlife, the a la carte restaurant offers a wide variety of internationally styled cuisine, with a hint of African and game dishes thrown in. Diners are tempted by gourmet dishes made from the choicest selection of local and imported ingredients, and Zimbabwe’s finest winelist. Little wonder then, that this restaurant lays unchallenged claim to Zimbabwe’s top eatery title year after year…
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The first stop on our visit, the restaurant was great - service was excellent with super-free day staff, and the food was really great. The bonus is watching a herd of elephants come in to the watering hole while we were having dinner !!

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL-GM, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you had an excellent evening with us and hope to host you again soon!

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018

Even though we were guests at the lodge - we had to sit in the middle of the room which lacked ambiance - and the food was just okay (I have the bream).

Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL-GM, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We are so sorry that you found the food mediocre, rest assured actions will be taken as we strive for excellence.

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We had dinner here last week and loved it. The food we had was great, the chef was very helpful with special dietary requirements. We have stayed here before and were very happy with the breakfast choice especially the gluten free selection. Friendly/helpful staff. Great view of the waterhole whilst eating in the restaurant.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adeline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL-GM, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We greatly appreciate your excellent review, thank you! We are always happy to meet the specific requirements of our treasured guests. We hope to host you again soon.

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

I arrived hoping to have a refreshing sundowner and since okay relax. Instead, I had to get up each time I wanted the waitress (was not waited on basically). Then when I ordered one of their $9 speciality drinks with alcohol- African Sunset- it was ALL JUICE! So disappointing. To make it all worse, they must have been preparing for dinner upstairs because the wood ceiling above my table kept squeaking and loud thuds as they continued to walk back and forth. I definitely DO NOT recommend this place. Yes the view is pretty but there are plenty of other good service and quality places with beautiful views. Don't waste you time!

Thank MeganSamfya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL-GM, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

We sincerely apologise for your poor experience with us, this is most disappointing and highly uncharacteristic of the usual great service we provide. Rest assured the necessary remedial actions are being taken.

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

A broad menu with some real local specialties. Amazing ambience and a treat to watch elephant and buffalo drinking at the waterhole while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Breakfasts are also excellent and varied.

Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and hope to host you again. Thank you for your wonderful review.

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing