We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was right”

Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Centuries past, we’re told, an inimitable Royal Drum disenchanted with its owner was lost forever when it ‘jumped’ into the Zambezi River. In honour of this legend, the award-winning Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant celebrates the richness of Africa’s heritage with fine fare and unmatched hospitality. The MaKuwa-Kuwa drumbeat is a call to partake of a royal feast.Located in the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's central hub is the Makuwa-Kuwa Resaurant - split level and with a 270º view of the unfenced Zambezi National Park, and focusing on a central waterhole attracting year-round wildlife, the a la carte restaurant offers a wide variety of internationally styled cuisine, with a hint of African and game dishes thrown in. Diners are tempted by gourmet dishes made from the choicest selection of local and imported ingredients, and Zimbabwe’s finest winelist. Little wonder then, that this restaurant lays unchallenged claim to Zimbabwe’s top eatery title year after year…
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not often you get good food, good service and great surroundings coming together but we did this night. Can't think of a more evocative place to enjoy good food, overlooking a waterhole in a beautiful thatched building. Memories will live forever.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Conqueror17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are thrilled to have played a part in making some magical memories for you! We hope to host you again soon.

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

As we were staying at the Safari lodge club we had a reservation for dinner and were given a 'window' seat. It is actually all open sided but the prime seats along the edge overlook the area where they feed the vultures in the day so the hyena come to see what may be left. You also get a view of the floodlit waterhole.
The trouble is they get this mad rush of reservations and others at 1900 when they open and it is chaotic as the place fills. If you want to eat here I suggest you go along later after this first 'sitting' has cleared out and your service will be better.
Due to the volume of diners at once service was haphazard, if you hadn't quite made up your mind when they came to take your order you were at the back of the queue again. The food was Ok but not more than that.
We did try a lunch another day and that was so bad I sent mine back and refused to pay.
If you happen to be staying in the Club part just eat there as the food is so much better and service excellent

Thank ColchesterSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your review and valued feedback. Should you wish to send further details regarding the haphazard service and meal you sent back we would greatly appreciate it, jonathan@africaalbida.co.zw, as it aids us in ensuring that this never happens again.

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant. There is a good array of foods and cocktails and great views over a waterhole where many animals can be easily seen, Try the Warthog!

Thank Qldfoodie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable evening with us and hope that you will visit again soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A lovely setting with sumptuous food served by friendly staff. There was a good selection on offer with the chefs presenting quality food. Special diets were catered for although watch out if you are allergic to onion as they cannot resist the temptation to include it somewhere in the dish. Drink prices were reasonable.

Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so sorry for not strictly adhering to your dietary requirements as this is usually of utmost importance to our team. We hope that you will return for a visit soon!

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

You need to reserves a table. I had chateaubriand and it was wonderful. The other patrons had other selections which they found to be excellent. If you can, get a table where you can see out to the gaming reserve.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim_of_Gilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Many thanks for your great review, we are so happy that you had a wonderful evening with us.

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing