We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel restaurant”

Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Centuries past, we’re told, an inimitable Royal Drum disenchanted with its owner was lost forever when it ‘jumped’ into the Zambezi River. In honour of this legend, the award-winning Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant celebrates the richness of Africa’s heritage with fine fare and unmatched hospitality. The MaKuwa-Kuwa drumbeat is a call to partake of a royal feast.Located in the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's central hub is the Makuwa-Kuwa Resaurant - split level and with a 270º view of the unfenced Zambezi National Park, and focusing on a central waterhole attracting year-round wildlife, the a la carte restaurant offers a wide variety of internationally styled cuisine, with a hint of African and game dishes thrown in. Diners are tempted by gourmet dishes made from the choicest selection of local and imported ingredients, and Zimbabwe’s finest winelist. Little wonder then, that this restaurant lays unchallenged claim to Zimbabwe’s top eatery title year after year…
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A very enthusiastic and friendly staff attend professionally to diners. Seating is well spaced, dinner menu offers a fair selection of choice, lunch basic but value, drink list OK. Best to book for evinces and while waterhole viewing is available from some tables, little wildlife activity on our 2 nights there. At around 8pm, an all male acapella choir entertains for around 15 minutes. Enjoyed.

Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you so much for your four out of five review! We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope you will visit again soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We came here earlier to watch the sunset and that was well worth it! The terrace is spectacular overlooking the bush.
After we went to the restaurant to have dinner and that was a bit disappointing. Everything was ok, but the menu is very boring and all our meats tough as a shoe.

I would definitely recommend the cafe for a drink, but not the restaurant.

Thank Italian468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the view and sunset. We are so sorry to have disappointed you. We would have loved the opportunity to correct our mistake on the ground but greatly appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to improve and ensure that this does not happen again.

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed in the lodge where this restaurant is, so ate many meals here. Tasty food, creative presentations and wonderful staff and service!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ak206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Many thanks for your amazing review! We hope to host you for many more wonderful meals in the future!

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and staying at the Royal Livingstone in Zambia. I had read a great review about Mukuwa-kuwa (housed in the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge -in a New York Times Article (36 Hours in Victoria Falls). So I went on a bit of a mission to get over to Zimbabwe to check it out! We did not have reservations as I wasn't sure that we would be able to get there but the restaurant was very accommodating. We arrived at 6 and seating wasn't until 7 - so we had a drink at the outdoor bar with a fantastic view of the watering hole (which was having it's own happy hour made up of larger clientele!) and an amazing sunset. For dinner I ordered the warthog and my husband the crocodile - great choices - and our only opportunity to try something like this! The service was excellent and the ambience really cozy - the prices right. The night finished off with a few songs from an a cappella type group. Definitely stop by Makuwa-kuwa if your are in the area!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

We greatly appreciate you making the effort to come across and dine with us! Thank you for your excellent review. Congratulations on your recent nuptials, we hope to host you for your future anniversaries too!

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Our food was wonderful, as was the service. My son had told them it was my birthday and they made a cake' brought to the table by a group which sang an African version of Happy Birthday.

Thank GDH1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Hudson, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us! We are so grateful for your lovely review.

Best regards,
Jonathan Hudson.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing