We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the expensive side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanzi Restaurant

Amanzi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 157 Restaurants in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of the Northern Suburbs of Harare, Amanzi Restaurant is set well back from the road in 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. An old farmhouse, architucturally converted to a stylish modern restaurant. Amanzi has the capacity to seat 100 people. Amanzi offers it customers "fusion" cuisine. The decor is a sophisticated blend of interior styles created to form a backdrop for unusual collections of African antiquities and contemporary art. The water feature is stocked with koi carp, and is floodlit at night. The property is noted for its collection of indigenous trees, predominately msasa, and colourful shrubs, which provide a cool, restful atmosphere.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On the expensive side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The food and ambience is great. Hoever it tends to be a bit overpriced. Try the qual and steaks which are great. Beautiful gardens.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    129
    48
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch in the garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Location of this place makes it easy to access. Located on the main road to Nyamapanda. Lunch outside in the garden on a sunny day gives you unforgettable experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

We came here on a Thursday evening with 3 friends, 2 of which live in Harare & dine at Amanzi often & I can see why. We sat at a lovely table toward the back of the room which is decorated in a very eclectic style with African artwork. The waitstaff were very prompt & professional. There was also a live band playing in the other room by the bar towards the front of the house. The dinner came timely & was quite delicious. Our friends said it was one of the top restaurants in the area & I would have to agree. After dinner we went to the bar which was getting a much younger, hipper crowd with a DJ playing. Apparently post dinner time, the place becomes a cool lounge which was fun. If ever in Harare, I would definitely recommend dining here.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drinks and Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

My Husband and I went for early drinks and Tapas, the atmosphere on the veranda is great with the gorgeous green garden and sculptures. The wine by the glass was superb, not from a box which is normal in zim and also served in a nice big wine glass. The taps was delicious, We had the Duck Pate, spring rolls and one or two other tapas. Really very good and tasty. So nice to go to a classy place for after work drinks.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Travel Guru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
407 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Food So-So, Place with Nice Decor and Decent Guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

It's a nice and higher class place with more elegant kind of guests. We, a group of five persons, walked in for a late dinner after taking a taxi at Harare domestic airport, with our big-five pieces of luggages staying in the taxi and the driver waiting for us to finish the meal and then sending us to check in a hotel in Harare city centre.

Upon entering, we saw that the place was nice with classy decor and well dressed guests. The food was however disappointing, not matching its hardware. The waiters were not attentive, service slow.

As it's dark in dinner time, we did not see clearly the exterior of the restaurant and the environment. Perhaps the views would be better for lunch.

Overall, I do not recommend it for the food and drinks were not tasty or impressive.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amanzi Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Amanzi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing