We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
651
49
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
651
49
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern serengeti mara river game drives wildebeest crossing black rhino safari experience other guests his knowledge great migration our honeymoon breakfast in the bush kogatende airstrip wonderful experience private dinner whole team walking safari wildlife viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2019

We have stayed in many high-end, luxury places with large staffs to accommodate your needs but I have never experienced attentiveness, anticipation of your needs, and service like this camp. The staff are extraordinarily well trained; every single person, from waiters to security personnel, said hello and asked how we were doing. The bartender, Sweedy, is a delight to watch as he prepares your cocktail, and Goodluck will regale you with interesting tales as you chat at dinner. The staff often introduce dinner with a song, and one evening managed to get several guests up to enjoy a bit of group dancing pre-dinner. A wonderful management and staff make all of your time in camp a pleasure ... and then there are the game drives.

The Serengeti is filled with the animals we wanted to see, and the guides are brilliant at showing them to you. Thanks to Daniel, our guide, we were with 15 feet of two different lion prides, one sleeping in the sun and one chewing on the morning kill. We saw a leopard stalking it’s prey, and most incredible, a herd of roughly 3,000 wildebeest crossing a river. Definitely worth 3 days stay.

Recommend dressing in layers. The open jeeps are excellent for game viewing but can be a bit chilly when driving. Our guide was happy to share his binoculars but we should probably have brought our own. Also, iPhones are lovely for closeup pictures but a relatively inexpensive camera with a good zoom (we spent about $400 at Costco for one with 160 zoom) will give you much better pictures. Insects were a non-issue when we were there (October).

The laundry service is appreciated. It is a hand wash,so dependent on sun to dry your clothes. Also, laundry detergent is provided as they do not launder underwear.

A wonderful amp experience with multiple WOW moments every day, both amongst the animals and in camp. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Operarapfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your recommendation and your wonderful review of your stay with us. We so appreciate your comments and are thrilled that we could be part of the special memories made in the Serengeti.

It was a pleasure to offer you the kind of service that made your stay so enjoyable and it would be a joy to do so again. Come back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Sayari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019

My husband and I are incredibly fortunate to get to travel to nice places a lot - he's a director and it's not an exaggeration to say we're often spoiled rotten when it comes to accommodations. Needless to say, we were both tearing up when it was time to leave Sayari because we had such an amazing experience. We both agreed that it was the best place we've ever stayed, hands down.

While Africa, in particular, is renowned for incredible service, the warmth, thoughtfulness, and attention to detail displayed by ALL the staff at Sayari, is truly unrivaled. We had so much fun talking with the team - Good Luck, Anderson, Sweedy, Jacinta, Ely - we'd be the last ones to bed every night. The whole crew surprised us one night with a song, dance and cake to celebrate our belated honeymoon... we were so shocked, we assumed it was someone's birthday. They introduced us to the tradition where they would keep singing until we have served everyone a piece of cake, and the whole moment was SO joyful and SO kind, it's something we'll remember forever.

As you can probably figure out by now, Sayari is really into the shared experience of safari - you have cocktail hour with the guests by the fire and gossip about your day, you sit at a long, communal farm table for dinner (the food is outstanding, and they are very careful to provide gluten free options & address people's dietary restrictions), and you get a ton of individual attention from the staff. But, if that's not your jam - they are also really great at carving out a more private experience that fits what you want to get out of safari. For example, we decided we wanted a private driver - it was no problem (with a small, totally reasonable fee). Guests had private dinners. You can also start your day whenever you like (in Botswana, we also stayed in high end luxury camps, and we were on a much stricter schedule). So - whatever kind of trip you desire - you're going to get it at Sayari. But you should hang out! Because they are all so great!

Onto the actual safari: the rumor is that all the guides want to work at Asilia camps in Tanzania because they have the best training, and it shows. We had Deo for one day and Grace for two days after deciding we wanted to go solo (usually you'll have one guide the whole time), and we were stunned by their mastery of all things safari related: animals, birds, plants, animals, terrain, driving, languages... all while being super attuned to what we wanted to achieve on safari. They are legit geniuses, who you still want to be your best friends because of their fun attitude.

One thing I didn't expect was getting to see so many BABIES in October, which made the wildlife viewing really spectacular. We saw a baby rhino, leopard cubs, lion cubs, elephants, giraffes... the cuteness overload was real. We also saw a MASSIVE, 5k+ migration of the wildabeasts, which feels like a scene right out of Braveheart. Of course, none of these animal sightings are guaranteed, but we felt like we had the best chance of seeing everything on the list with the help of our expert guides.

All the tents are fabulous - spacious, comfortable beds, a working space (but please, don't work), the most reliable wifi we had in Africa (shockingly), and great showers. We loved having coffee delivered each day and sitting on our front patio, looking out into the plains.

Anyhow, I gush! If you're considering Sayari, you should just pull the trigger and go.
It's the perfect place for all types - families, friends, solo, and of course, couples. We will definitely be back.

Room tip: One day a herd of elephants walked right up to camp, and it was a breathtaking experience.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Meghan

What a pleasure reading your review!

We are thrilled that we were able to offer you the safari experience and stay that you have hoped for. What an accolade for us and our team to have been the best place to stay during your travels.

Thank you for your kind words and compliments to the team. It was our pleasure making your stay a memorable one and celebrating your belated honeymoon with you.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Until then, hold on to the fond memories.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Sayari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in Asilia safari camps on our recent trip to Tanzania. Sayari was so comfortable with excellent staff, food and accommodations. We were amazed at the things we saw with our guide, Festo. He was engaging and knowledgeable about the animals and their habitats.

Room tip: Our room was beautiful, comfortable and we loved hearing sounds of wildlife at night.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donandrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your Sayari Camp experience.

What a safari adventure you had with Festo.

We appreciate your compliments to our team with such pride and look forward to hopefully welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Until then, hold on to the fond memories!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Sayari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

From the moment we were picked up at the airport by the Asilia ladies until we were dropped back off at the airport 3 days later by our terrific guide Baraka, it was a trip of a lifetime. Goodluck and his crew of Anderson, Justine, Baraka and so many others at Sayari Camp were terrific hosts. Just like Oliver's Camp we were greeted with warm towels when returning back from a long drive. Our tent was fabulous, with all the amenities anyone could ask for. Listening to the call of Hyena's, Zebra's and Elephant's during the night was an added treat.
All the meals were excellent and well presented by the staff.
I had a great time laughing and joking with the staff, made new friends in such a short time.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbroabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it was our pleasure taking care of you and making your stay extra special.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and compliments to the team. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Sayari Camp and all that it has to offer.

Do come back soon, the animal nightly serenade and our friendly team will be waiting!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Sayari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

You won’t regret choosing this camp for your safari adventure. The staff are absolutely amazing! Generous, gracious, joyful and helpful you will feel quite pampered and welcome. The location is perfect to quickly and easily start your wildlife viewing and the guides work very hard to find whatever you want to see. Food is excellent and tents are spacious, well appointed and well kept

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Dear Lisa

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your Sayari Camp experience.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we are thrilled that you had such an amazing time with us all around.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and compliments to the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Sayari Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews