We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
507
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
507
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives northern serengeti other guests wildebeest migration long table great migration sitting area our honeymoon bush tv his knowledge driver guide each morning dietary needs hot water bottles asante sana walkie talkie wildlife viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2019 via mobile

My brother and I just returned from the Serengeti. We first stayed at Namiri@asiliaafrica.com in Central Serengeti, a permanent camp, then Olakira mobile camp in the North. I can't imagine a better or more organized or more accommodating outfit than Asilia Safari company through Audley tours.
My brother and I have above average knowledge of flora and fauna than most. We were astounded at the level of information and interest our guides possessed out in the wilds of the Serengeti. Birds are a particular interest of mine. The identification and behaviors of the 70 plus new birds we found in East Tanzania were effortlessly expounded upon by our amazing guides. We were given an expansive and entertaining lesson about anything that was spotted.
The staff is extraordinary in there attitude and cheerful efforts to accommodate our every wish...thank you dear ones, Aunt Mary and Rod

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MARYRSAHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Hello Aunt Mary and Rod,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! It was such a pleasure to host you both and to discuss the incredible flora and fauna of the Serengeti with you, We truly appreciate your wonderful comments on your stay.

We do hope the memories of those entertaining discussions and the amazing sights will linger for some time to come. Please come back again soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

The tent accommodation and communal areas were well equipped and provided comfort. The added advantage of moving a bed into the screened area to enjoy the night sky alongside dining experiences under the stars and around the fire were well received.
Staff, specifically our driver were vigilant in providing the best top 5+ sightings and his knowledge of the area and its wildlife was entaining and informative. 6 star ++
Manager and assistant were on hand at all times and provide very professional service including vital conversation on the history of the Serengeti and its ecoystem.
The Asilia group are experts in organising the connections between hotels and flights, providing escorts through all airports removing all areas of confusion.
The close proximity of the camp to the wildebeest crossing reduces travel times and creates more wildlife discovery opportunities. Afternoon rest was a very welcomed period as the day generally started at 0500 with fresh coffee, returning 1300 to lunch and a second safari at 4pm. Dinner served 1945 and often bed 2230, big days. We cannot fault this camp though do not believe a mobile camp is essential. Asilia had a permanent camp close by.

Room tip: Mobile tents are unique though not necessary to enjoy the Serengeti.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplabain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Hello,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us in the Serengeti and appreciate your comments on the Asilia service as a whole. Thank you for taking the time to put this great review together.

Those wildlife sightings are sure to linger in your memory as amazing highlights for some time to come. When they have you longing to return for more incredible moments we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019

From start to finish my wife and I were wow'ed by the team at Olakira. It was a perfect Safari experience with great animal sightings and a wonderful "glamping" experience. The room was unique, comfy and fun to watch/hear animals from. Our guide Kanael was very knowledgeable and accommodating when out on safari. All meals were fantastic with great service as well - fun to interact with the other guests. It was evident the whole staff truly cares and really makes a guest feel special. We did another camp (Sanctuary) in the crater that was similarly priced and Olakira was head & shoulders better. If you are considering a safari Olakira is the place to do it.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank hunterb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review, we appreciate your kind recommendation and compliments to our team with such pride.

We are thrilled that you had such an amazing time with us all around, it was our pleasure hosting you and making your stay a memorable one.

Do come back soon, we look forward to have you stay with us again in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2019

It’s difficult to put such perfection in words. But it’s true. Everything was absolutely perfect. The service, the food, the room, the adventures on the safari, our guide, the management of the camp. I’ve never met a team more dedicated to their cause than the Olakira family.
If you do a safari, do it right.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andashtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

Hello,

What a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for sharing your Olakira Camp experience.

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and safari adventure with us, it was our pleasure having you in camp and making your stay a memorable one in every way.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and compliments to our team with such pride.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, our friendly team will be waiting!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

There were so many highlights to my visit to Olakira Camp in northern Serengeti, from the the spectacular landscapes to the dynamic wildlife. But I have to say it was all enhanced by the incredible team at Olakira Asilia who turned a mobile camp into a home for a few days. The fantastic team led by Dickson and Ridhi were friendly, warm, professional, and had us laughing every single day we were there. Our guide Ebenezer was so informative and knowledgable with clear passion for all wildlife. We could not have asked for more. We saw the big five in action and loved every minute being in the spectacular Serengeti. Thank you Olakira Camp!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank kenpla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We truly appreciate all your comments and you taking the time to post them. We are thrilled to be part of the beautiful memories made in the Serengeti.

It is our hope that those highlights will be recalled regularly and with great fondness. We also hope they have you longing to return for more spectacular views, incredible wildlife, and warm hospitality. Come back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews