We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
507
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
507
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives northern serengeti other guests wildebeest migration long table great migration sitting area our honeymoon bush tv his knowledge driver guide each morning dietary needs hot water bottles asante sana walkie talkie wildlife viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019

It’s difficult to put such perfection in words. But it’s true. Everything was absolutely perfect. The service, the food, the room, the adventures on the safari, our guide, the management of the camp. I’ve never met a team more dedicated to their cause than the Olakira family.
If you do a safari, do it right.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andashtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

Hello,

What a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for sharing your Olakira Camp experience.

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and safari adventure with us, it was our pleasure having you in camp and making your stay a memorable one in every way.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and compliments to our team with such pride.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, our friendly team will be waiting!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

There were so many highlights to my visit to Olakira Camp in northern Serengeti, from the the spectacular landscapes to the dynamic wildlife. But I have to say it was all enhanced by the incredible team at Olakira Asilia who turned a mobile camp into a home for a few days. The fantastic team led by Dickson and Ridhi were friendly, warm, professional, and had us laughing every single day we were there. Our guide Ebenezer was so informative and knowledgable with clear passion for all wildlife. We could not have asked for more. We saw the big five in action and loved every minute being in the spectacular Serengeti. Thank you Olakira Camp!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank kenpla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We truly appreciate all your comments and you taking the time to post them. We are thrilled to be part of the beautiful memories made in the Serengeti.

It is our hope that those highlights will be recalled regularly and with great fondness. We also hope they have you longing to return for more spectacular views, incredible wildlife, and warm hospitality. Come back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019

When we were planning our trip we wanted camping experiences with close animal viewing and Olakira delivered in spades. The tents are spacious and well appointed - and we really enjoyed the sleeping under the stars. We had animals surrounding the camp most times of the day and evening - the highlight being when a mother Elephant and her baby joined us for dinner.

We had two game drives per day with our guide Emmanual. He was fabulous and showed us everything we wanted to see plus more - it was almost as if he had them in queue! His skill in getting us very close to animals was more than we ever expected.

The highest marks for the camp has to go to the staff - Dickson, Reddy (sp?), Jackson, John, Samson and Elijah, just to call out a few - made every moment at the camp memorable. Fabulous food ( seriously fabulous ), Elijah pouring drinks as often as you wish, turn down service with hot water bottles, coffee delivered with your wake up call
( and they had to wake us up!). Every member of the staff welcome you with smiles and laughs and a genuine interest in your experience at Olakira.

I really can't say enough about Olakira - we missed them the moment we drove away and can't wait to find our way back!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JDanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Hello,

We can't wait for you to find your way back too! We are so pleased you had such special moments during your stay and are certain that dinners will never be quite the same again.

Thank you for this fantastic review. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you again soon. That fabulous food, the incredible wildlife, and the big smiles will all be waiting for you.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

I stayed at Olakira Camp ("star" in Kiswahili) during my recent travel to northern Serengeti, and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my stay there at the camp and during the drives. The team at the camp led by Dickson was superbly professional, extremely accommodating, prompt in meeting our needs and made us all feel so welcomed and warm. Food prepared by Chef John was never a disappointment (in the middle of nowhere in northern Serengeti!), and the team's sense of humor had us laughing a lot as we all came together around the fire in the evening.

The mobile tent (it is one of the migration camps) was very comfortable, and we enjoyed being in the presence of wildlife. In fact, the first night there - we were woken up (in the middle of the night!) by an elephant and possibly her baby having their meal just outside of the screened segment of our tent!

The game drive by our fabulous guide Ebenezer was spectacular, and we saw Big 5 and much more in 3 days! He and Gerald were so resourceful and knowledgeable, we learned a lot.

The image and the ever changing colors of the sky of Serengeti will stay with me forever.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chiho S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Hello Chiho,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your weekend with us. We truly appreciate your comments and you taking the time to post them.

We are so pleased you were able to experience the magnificence of the Serengeti with us and that you have some incredible highlights to remind you of this special place. We do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards from the Serengeti,
The Olakira Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

We loved our time at this camp. Especially sleeping under the starts!! We were given the family tent that accommodated 4 of us and the tent next door for
the other two kids. Internet worked so we were able to text each other or just talk to each other through the tent screens at night. The staff is truly amazing at what they do. Abel and Dickson are fantastic. We had fun conversations about the language and culture of Tanzania and they really made the kids feel welcome. We came with kids ages 12,12,14,15 and they had such a wonderful time. The staff made sure to buy Marshmallows for the second night we were there so the kids could roast them over the camp fire. It was really a teen/tween dream vacation with camp fires and safari drives, yummy food and so much fun family time. Our guide Emanuel was top notch. He worked so hard to make sure we saw all the animals we wanted. It was a truly wonderful camp and it was hard to leave. Can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Travelingfamily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hello

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for sharing your Olakira Camp experience, what a wonderful family safari you had with us. Thank you for your compliments to the team, it was our pleasure hosting you and your family.

We were sad to see you leave and look forward to that return stay, our friendly team will be waiting!

Until then, hold on to the fond memories.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews