We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Everlasting Tanzania Travels!!”
Review of Mount Kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$420,00*
and up
Mount Kilimanjaro Short Trek from Arusha
More Info
US$330,00*
and up
Day Trip to Amboseli National Park from Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Melbourne Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank you Everlasting Tanzania Travels!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were a group of five (myself and my friend) together with our sons and a friend's son - from Melbourne, Australia. Through a very good recommendation, we booked our trip with Everlasting Tanzania Travels. I contacted Rob Chekwaze who organised the whole trip, climb, our stay at Ilboru Lodge in Arusha, our four days of sightseeing, visiting banks and the markets before we climbed, our amazing adventure to the Serengeti.

Everlasting Tanzania ticked all the boxes with us - especially that we were travelling with boys aged 15, 17 and 18 years. We wanted to make sure all the aspects of safety and health were covered, as well as ensuring that it would be enjoyable. Rob was fantastic - he was always on hand for us in Arusha before we climbed, taking us for a fantastic walk through villages under Mt. Meru, making sure we had everything we needed before the climb and organising the return of lost bags!!!

The climb was memorable. We climbed the Machame route leaving on 12th December, 2013. We had seven days of rain, hail and snow - and even under these conditions, the guides - Said, William and George, our cook Lulu and all the porters provided us with the necessary motivation, positivity and really great food throughout these seven days. We hired poles, sleeping bags and mats and gaiters from Rob and because of the weather we spent quite a bit of time in our tents - very comfortable!!!!!! On summit night and in the early hours of the morning, two of our boys were suffering from altitude sickness (we had all taken Diamox) and Said, William and George were wonderful in assisting and caring for the boys, guiding them to Stella Point, and then safely decending to Mweka Camp. This will be a journed that none of us will ever foget.

Everlasting Tanzania Travels is a very professional group who made sure that our journey was a safe and memorable one. Our trip that Rob organised to the Serengti was awesome……. camping at Naseru Rock was indeed the highlight - seeing part of the wildebeest migration running full steam and being led by a giraffe and ostrich !!!!!

Asante sans Rob and everyone at Everlasting Tanzania Travels for our journey!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank daelmelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2 975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,705
    203
    27
    20
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ahsante Tours - good people - BAD tents.”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Climbed Kili with Ahsante Tours, since they gave a good price and seemed to be okay.
The info they sent included pictures of brand new tents. - But the ones the gave us for both Kilimanjaro and Safari were of VERY bad quality. The zippers were broken and the tents were very old. The mess tent was awfull and it rained on our food.

The guides, porters and staff were kind and very good. - Nothing bad to say about them!
But we were not happy to see porters sleeping in very thin / poor quality sleeping bags. The tour operator should provide proper equipment for them!

Kilimanjaro and the safari was wonderful experiences - but having to get up at night to fix broken tents (water entering the tent) and watching porters with bad gear, is no good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank ghhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Climbed machame route”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Group of 9 members from different parts of the world. We climbed the 6day machame route with karibu adventures during the full moon week in september. All 9 members succesfully summited to the roof of Africa. the guide and their entire team were extremely friendly and supportive. All in all an unforgettable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hamzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BobbyCamping Safari's”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We just got back from our Kilimanjaro climb, 7 days Machame Route, (Dec. 17-Dec. 24 2013). This was an experience of a lifetime! We booked our tour with Bobby Camping Safari's out of Arusha (for 1/2 the price of what other US based companies were quoting!). They did an outstanding job organizing our climb and safari. They did everything they said they would from punctual airport pick up to hotel accomadations at the Impala Hotel, Arusha. Our Kilimanjaro guide Mohammad along with the driver picked us up at the airport and briefed us and checked our gear the day before. The day of the climb we were picked up at 7am and taken to the Machame Gate where we registered for the climb. The Machame Route is a challenging route with amazing views. We had 2 guides, 1 cook, 1 waiter and 12 porters with us. All of them did a fantastic job. Our guide Mohammed along with our assistant guide Michael were absolutely amazing! Without them we could not have done it. Mohammed would check and assess us daily for any altitude sickness symptoms to make sure it was safe to proceed with the climb. Luckily we did not have any major issues. Key thing was to drink plenty of water, eat and go slow. On summit day, my son made it to the top, while my husband and I had to come down earlier. My husband had breathing problems and I had leg pain from a pinched nerve. The last 2 days my leg was bothering me more and more, so Mohammed and Michael just picked me up and walked down. Something they really did not have to do. The entire team really cared for us and have sent us home with an experience of a lifetime. I highly recommend Bobby Camping Safaris for your Kilimanjaro Climb and Safari.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nayna256nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuskar Trails Lemosho Route”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Recently was part of a Tuskar Trails climb via the Lemosho Route. The Tuskar staff from main office to ground personnel, guides and porters were phenomenal. Having used several other companies for trekking in various parts of the world, I can say without a doubt Tuskar's management of the trek was superb. We were well informed prior to the climb and prior to our departure home (including return flight confirmations). On the mountain safety was hugely important. Each of our three guides was thoroughly trained in mountain safety. Appropriate safety gear was portered the entire trip and their knowledge and skill assured a 100% summit rate with our group. I will definitely use Tuskar again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 35rscoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Kilimanjaro also viewed

Kilimanjaro National Park, Kilimanjaro Region
 
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
 

Been to Mount Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing