We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
319
366
71
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
366
71
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens business hotel friendly hotel comfortable room hotel restaurant business trip business district home away from home decent hotel the general manager stayed one night internet connection short stay city centre dar tanzania safari
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 6 weeks while on business in Dar Es Salaam. The hotel did not only check all facility and comfort boxes but impressed me most with their levels of service and professionalism. The people are warm and approachable who go beyond expectations to ensure your happiness and satisfaction.

Truly fantastic staff make this hotel the best place to stay in Dar Es Salaam.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Boerazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Dear Boerazza

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Your very kind comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The Southern Sun hotel has very friendly staff, well real love the rooms, dependable WIFI, a nice pool to freshen up and a restaurant serving delicious food. It is well located in a quiet area where the Embassies are located. Much to our surprise the hotel management invited us for a cocktail on Wednesday night to mingle with the other guests. its was very fun .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experience Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Dear Eperience Z

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comments, much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The three days that I spent in southern sun hotel was the outstanding moments I ever had
Everything was perfect ✨form the room services,the delicious
breakfast&lunch&dinners
Above all the swming site was superb
Plus the caring and loving waiters&supervisors with their excellent jop.
The love i feel for you southern sun hotel is an explainable thanks for everything and hopefully gonna come back ❤️#Afolabi Lawal F/B manager your the best over all

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Moonah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Moonah M

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel - much appreciated. We have shared your very kind comments with Afolabi, thank you very much indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I stayed at this hotel a couple months ago, so as this is quite a late review I'm not sure if the construction is still going on. But from 7 am you can hear the hammers and banging like it's right above you. This goes on for the whole day into the evening. As I stay here regularly for work, I'm looking forward to the construction ending.

The staff are friendly, the breakfast is good, and it's not too far away from everything (but not close either).

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Ken P

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay. We are delighted to inform you that the refurbishment of our bedrooms has now been completed and our new rooms look fantastic.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The Southern Sun hotel has very friendly staff, well equipped rooms, dependable WIFI, a nice pool to freshen up and a restaurant serving delicious food. It is well located in a quiet area where the Embassies are located. Much to our surprise the hotel management invited us for a cocktail on Wednesday night to mingle with the other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert_Keesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Albert_Keesman

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Phillipson
General Manager
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews