We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$241
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Al Badia(Marrakech)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$104
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$108
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$162
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Al Assala Medina(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Riad Elsagaya(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$412
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
US$382
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
391
26
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
26
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowner jamesmolton brown toiletriesroof terracesunken tubroyal hammamatlas mountainsliving areaseparate showeran oasisrestaurant reservationslong weekendhis teamyour luggagetravel agenthustle and bustlevisited marrakechpeace and tranquility
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I have known my wife has wanted to visit Marrakesh since the day I met her, this was our first trip without children and I wanted it to be special. Riad Farnatchi was certainly that!
Situated in the heart of the Medina and the chaos that it brings - this Riad is calm and peaceful. Just what you need after a day exploring the old city. From the minute the hotel's driver collects you at the airport (complementary) the service is exemplary - the car can only go so far, so you are escorted on foot down the last couple of streets to the property. This is the perfect introduction to the fast paced city life, and then you find yourself within the serenity of the Riad with a mint tea in hand. Now breathe.
Upon arrival, once you have had a chance to gather yourself you are given a quick tour of the Riad, and told about its offerings - Restaurant, Haman etc. Meanwhile your bags are taken to your room.
When you get to your room you are given a folder of information (restaurant reviews,local wine guides, Haman options, taxi rules, money changing services and more) for the local area. If you do nothing else, read the restaurant reviews by the owner, written in a frank but humorous fashion - it really brought a smile to my face, and having put his wine suggestions - they were excellent. Ultimately - the information was valuable and insightful all earnt from a long period of residency rather than a travel guide written by someone who has made sporadic visits.
Our room was split over two floors with a living area below and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. We had windows overlooking the pool in the centre of the Riad, and a roof terrace over which we enjoyed wine and canapes on several occasions.
The complementary breakfast is fresh fruit, breads, yoghurt, jams, honey and a selection of eggs - order whenever you want and eat it wherever you like. We picked the floor in our living area most mornings and it was perfect. A great start to the day.
The real thing that makes this property though is the staff. They are on par with those you would expect to find at an ultra high end hotel in Asia. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they always had a smile as they went about their work.
Lunch and dinner are also options in the hotel, or in the 'partnered' hotel on the street opposite - where the food and staff again were fantastic.
We asked them to provide us with a guide so as to get a taster to the city - and help us find our way back! He was booked for 3 hours, we used him for 6, was incredibly informative, and did't take us to shops run by friends and family. All for 400MAD (£30) plus tip.
On another evening we had them book us a table at a restaurant out of the Medina for some food and entertainment. They arranged the table, suggested a time so as to see the entertainment, and sorted the transport - including the fare and ensuring an easy journey back to the property at the end of the night. Including being met and walked back when the taxi could go no further down the narrow streets.
All in all, if you want a small (9 rooms i think) property in the heart of this fantastic old city, then I couldn't recommend Riad Farnatchi high enough.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamStewart1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

This boutique hotel is interesting as it would be difficult to find without help as it is tucked away in a narrow side street. If you are out on the town, I highly recommend using a tuk tuk taxi to get there as it can drive you almost to the door stop. As you walk in you are greeted by what I thought was a fountain but is actually a pool that you can swim in. The hotel itself is a labirynth of hallways with secluded alcoves for relaxing. The staff are very courteous and will offer you the infamous Moroccan mint tea upon arrival. The suite that we stayed in was very spacious and clean, In our suite, there were stairs that led up to a private terrace on the roof but there was no view to speak of. The public terrace on top has the best views. The only issue we had was that the electricity kept going out on us which I am told is not that unusual. The staff were very quick to fix it each time. The breakfast they serve is really quite good. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: I recommend the tuk tuk taxis to get you back to hotel, They will take you through narrow alleyways to the hotel that a regular taxi can´t.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Situated inside the medina, Riad Farnatchi is a well-run operation with beautifully renovated facilities. Our room was expansive, a real suite with separate sleeping quarters and living room, two terraces - one overlooking the interior courtyard - and large bathroom area with separate shower and bath rooms and a private toilet accessed off the hallway leading to the bathroom. Truly luxurious and decorated tastefully in a distinctively Morrocan aesthetic but with a modern touch.

The dining room on the ground floor (we had a very nice dinner there the day we arrived) had walls with insanely intricate stonework - simply stunning. The staff couldn’t have been nicer or more welcoming and James Wix, the British owner and hands-on general manager, was a thoroughly engaging presence throughout our 4-day stay. James’s family operates several boutique hotels around the world, but he made it clear that Riad Farnatchi is his baby to which he dedicates all his time.

There is a Hammam next door, accessible from the hotel’s interior, and an excellent sister restaurant immediately across the narrow alleyway - the newly opened “Trou au Mur”. The fare is both traditional Moroccan (often with a creative twist) as well as some international menu items, and the space is bright and inviting - worth a visit.

Access to the hotel requires a five minute walk from a drop off point (inside the medina and as far as automobiles are permitted before the alleys become to narrow and congested) that immediately thrusts you into the frenetic hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Baggage handlers with carts are readily available to help you to the riad, and a staff member was on hand to guide greet and guide us to the hotel.

All in all a delightful, quiet stay where, with only ten rooms, tasteful public areas (including a peaceful roof terrace) and a highly attentive staff (including the owner) you feel like you are the only guests.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _klassendouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

After having read the super review on the travel section of the goop website, we booked Riad Farnatchi for our Marrakech trip, without even looking at other places. It surpassed every single one of our expectations!
The arrival is an experience in itself: we were dropped off by our driver in the middle of a bustling street in the old town, and escorted for the 2 min walk through the busy streets to our destination. A door and a plain wall in a little quiet alley do not give any indications of what lies behind... There were gaps of delight by our party when we saw the gorgeous Riad - beautiful Moroccan architecture, a gorgeous pool with flowing waters, orange trees in full bloom in the courtyards. Our suites were even more impressive! Massive by any standards, totally individual, traditional with all the modern amenities one needs. I especially loved the sunken marble bath in our little 'courtyard' within our room.
Breakfasts are sumptuous and served anytime, anywhere. We chose one of the booths in the courtyard by the pool, and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings, interrupted only by birdsong.
The proximity of Riad Farnatchi to the souks (literally 2 mins away) make it perfect for exploring, and one really gets a real feel of the old town. Despite the bustle surrounding it, the Riad itself is very quiet and makes for a perfect night's sleep.
I cannot thank James and his staff enough for everything they did to make our stay truly perfect. Their recommendations and the arrangements they made for our day trip to the nearby Agafay desert were spot on, and catered to our desire for non-touristic activities.
Having visited Marrakech previously and stayed at La Mamounia (which is undoubtedly a stunning property), I would choose Riad Farnatchi over it anytime!

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank EveGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Behind discreet entrance just off Rue bin Lafnadek the Riad Farnatchi delivers a stay of tranquility and understated luxury, moments away from the bustle of the Souk. From the entrance floor with the lounging and dining alcoves around the two central courtyards, one with a pool, the other with the traditional citrus trees, guests are led up tiles staircases to the guest suites. Each of the 3 suites we had was charming and completely individual although they all had in common extremely comfortable large beds with soft Egyptian cotton sheets and very comfortable pillows, large bathrooms with enormous baths and in one suite a huge separate shower. The suites themselves are huge by the standards of most hotels, with comfortable seating areas, fireplaces, and well equipped desks with plenty of electric sockets for the modern traveller with multiple electronic devices. Our suites also had at least one terrace either over looking the courtyard or over the rooftops. Each night when we retired to bed we were delighted to find a hot water bottle in the bed which just added a comfortable touch to the warmth of the suite.
Breakfast was delicious, and very plentiful, elegantly served in our suites with beautiful fine linen napkins and table cloths. We also dined in-house on the night of our arrival and cannot recommend this highly enough. Our meal of roasted vegetables, slow-roasted lamb, tangia and couscous was delicious and we enjoyed the local wines suggested on the wine list. In fact, this meal was the best of the 4 days even though we did enjoy dining in other restaurants.
I cannot say enough about how helpful and charming the staff are at Riad Farnatchi. No request was too much trouble, whether booking a car and driver or a restaurant, asking which was the best place to shop for specific goods, or how to get around the souk. Service was discrete and efficient, and someone was always on hand to change money for us, or to answer any questions.
The Spa experience was wonderful too. The Hammam attendant was a cheerful friendly lady who made us feel immediately at home. I also had a facial with was as good as any I might have in London or Monaco.
All in all, Riad Farnatchi is a must if you would like a stay in Marrakech from which the souk is easily accessible, but where you will feel as if you are at home but with the luxury of staff to see to your every need.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews