We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, quiet, safe riad with amazing food!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Soulahfa

Colourful roof garden with Berber tent.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Colourful roof garden with Berber tent.
Terrace Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Colourful roof garden with Berber tent.
Terrace
Terrace
Plunge pool in open courtyard
The Pool
The Building
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Traditional decoration creates fantastic rooms.
Traditional arches to one of the sitting areas.
Plenty of room for private sunbathing
Living Room
Living Room
Open courtyard at the centre of the house
Traditional seating in the salon
The Connecting Two Bedrooms with Shared Bathroom
A relaxing corner of the roof terrace
The Connecting Two Bedrooms with Shared Bathroom
The Connecting Two Bedrooms with Shared Bathroom
Romantic bedrooms
The Connecting Two Bedrooms with Shared Bathroom
The Bedroom
The Pool
The Bedroom
Traditional decoration
The Bedroom
The Pool
Welcome to Dar Soulahfa
The Connecting Two Bedrooms with Shared Bathroom
The Bedroom
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CarlyPen5
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quiet, safe riad with amazing food!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, cosy, quiet and comfortable Riad. We all enjoyed our time here very much and it was very spacious for our family of 5. The kids (12,10 and 8)loved the roof terrace and tortoises. We all loved the location, in the centre but so quiet (apart from the 5.30 Muezzin chorus but that was part of the experience and after a couple of days we were sleeping through it!)and at the end of a very quiet, clean and safe alleyway off a lovely street with some great (non hassle shops). The driver pick up from and to the airport was easy and pleasant but what made the trip was the wonderful housekeepers. So kind, friendly and the most amazing cooks! We ate in 3 out of 4 nights as the food was so good and after busy days the kids just needed to chill at home for supper. Breakfast too was lovely and relaxing. This is the first holiday in 12 years in which I haven't had to cook or food shop and it was so relaxing as a result. Stuart was so helpful beforehand via email answering all my questions and queries very thoroughly and honestly. Marrakech seems much calmer and less hassle than we remember from 15 years ago and our kids loved it all. We stayed 4 nights and feel that was long enough for us. We did an amazing day trip into the mountains one day with 4x4 camels (on trip advisor) which I would highly recommend too.
All in all excellent and the reviews really are true! Thank you everyone at Dar Soulahfa .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: authentic and peaceful but in the centre of the medina
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gates2015
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely riad, amazing staff, thoughtful owner.”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dar Soulahfa is an exotic, beautiful riad, comfortable, and amazingly quiet. The staff prepared two meals and breakfast, all delicious. The owner, Stuart, helped organize transportation, meals, and a surprise party for our teenage daughter. My younger children enjoyed the balcony tortoises. Dar Soulahfa exceeded my expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthiecav
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The riad was beautiful, the location was excellent, the staff were lovely and Stuart the owner was extremely helpful via email prior to our trip. We will definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This Riad is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main thoroughfares. You will enjoy peace and tranquility in this accommodation away from the busy life that Marrakesh is all about. The staff are very friendly and will see to your needs, such as an evening meal should you wish. You decide want you would like, pay cash up front and the meal will arrive at the time that you asked; alcoholic drinks will need to purchased from a supermarket. The driver, who speaks good English, can arrange for excursions away from the Medina, check and confirm prices with him first. We visited the waterfalls in the Oukrika Valley and the very informative Berber Ecomuseum. Also, a camel ride in outskirts of Marrakesh. Minutes from the Riad are two well worth visiting museums: Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace. The Riad is well maintained with plenty of space to relax; the plunge pool was very welcoming from the heat of the day as was the air conditioning in the rooms.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0zzaH
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful, traditional riad in the medina”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed as part of a group of six girls for new year 2013/14. The riad is beautiful and Stuart very helpful in the booking process and ensuring the journey from the airport (we paid 150 dirhams - about £11.50 - for a taxi that had been organised for us) was easy.

The riad is close to the main square (10 minute slow walk) on a side street so is central but quite quiet. You can hear the calls to prayer from a nearby mosque. There are nice shops and restaurants nearby. We all enjoyed Pepe Nero in particular (Italian with a short morrocan menu).

The three double rooms are of a similar size and all nice. Two have an interlocking bathroom, with another bathroom and toilet a floor below. The roof terrace is great in the sun and a lovely spot to sit, chat, eat, relax.

The power went off in the riad for two evenings we were there - both times from 8pm to 11pm - not sure why but luckily the broken gas heater was fixed otherwise we would have been freezing! Definitely take warm clothes for the evenings.

On our third evening we enjoyed a dinner and musicians at the riad for our friend's 30th birthday, which was a lot of fun and easy to arrange.

Our next day was spent on a trip to the atlas mountains which are quite scenic and which the staff at the riad organised. We paid 1000 dirhams for the driver for the day. The trip was fun but we were essentially forced to eat at a restaurant full of tourists with rubbish food just so the driver could get his 120 dirhams commission, this left a sour taste in the mouth literally and otherwise! Probably to be expected, though.

Overall this is a nice place to stay where any meals and trips you want will be organised for you. The lunch and dinner we had - 100 and 150 dirhams each respectively - were both delicious and the ladies that cooked them very sweet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Many thanks for the review, it's great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at Dar Soulahfa and had a New Year and Special Birthday to remember, I knew you would. I am glad you appreciated the traditional charm of the house, we think it's quite a special place very much helped by it's fantastic location. It is also nice to hear that the staff remain popular, they are lovely people who always do their very best to ensure our guests are made welcome.
It is unfortunate about the break in the electricity supply, it was a problem throughout the local area and actually quite unusual but not unheard of.
I am pleased to hear the staff responded quickly concerning the heater to ensure you were comfortable in what can be quite chilly evenings during the winter months. I take care to provide as much information as possible before a stay which does include advice on what weather to expect so guests are prepared.
Many thanks for the comments concerning your trip out of town, I believe this was to the Ourika Valley, a lovely drive over the Haoura Plain following the river to a number of waterfalls and very easily completed within a day, it provides a great contrast to the city and is very popular with many visitors to Marrakech. I will speak with Najeem and ask if he can find a more interesting place for lunch, I'm sure he will be happy to do so.
I hope you will return to Marrakech again in the future where you can all be sure of a very warm welcome at Dar Soulahfa.
Kindest regards.
Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing