We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice stay at cozy Riad”
other travellers have booked this property
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool) La fontaine et le bassin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
La fontaine et le bassin
Dar Essoaoude - La Maison du Bonheur
La beauté du cèdre sculpté
Terrace
Terrace
Un accueil chaleureux avec un thé de bienvenue et patisseries marocaines
Tradition du chant, pour vous sur la terrasse !
Le Salon et sa bibliothèque
Le salon confortable en hiver (chauffage par le sol et cheminée)
Le salon
Le salon
Le Patio, la fontaine et son bassin, l'entrée de la chambre 1 (Triple)
le Patio et l'entrée de la chambre 1 (triple)
La chambre 1 (triple)
La chambre 1 (Triple)
La chambre 1 (Triple)
La chambre 1 (Triple)
The Bedroom 3
La mezzanine de la chambre 1 avec un lit simple
La salle de bains de la chambre 1 (triple)
La Salle de bain en mezzanine de la chambre chambre 1 (triple)
La salle de bains de la chambre 1 (triple)
La salle de bain chambre 1
La chambre 2 (double)
Chambre 2 (double - lit 160cm)
Chambre 2 (double avec salle de bains en suite)
Salle de bains de la chambre 2 (double)
La salle de bains 'en suite' de la chambre 2 (double)
La chambre 3 (Twin)
La salle de Bain de la chambre 3 (twin)
Salle de bains de la chambre 3 (Twin)
Salle de bains de la chambre 3 (Twin)
Tradition de la danse, à domicile pour une occasion spéciale !
Au milieu du patio, un magnifique travail de zellige
The Bedroom 1
La beauté du cèdre sculpté, sur la terrasse
Zellige sculpte et citation à l'origine du nom de la maison
Le plafond du salon : réalisation unique, en cèdre
Les traditions du cuivre et du plâtre en harmonie
Le jardin privatif, devant la maison
Patio
La tradition d'accueil, à l'eau de fleur d'oranger
La cuisine
Tajine de poulets aux coings
Tajine de viande aux pruneaux et amandes
Entrées chaudes aux fruits de mer et légumes de saison.
Tajine de viande de veau aux petits pois et artichauts.
La soupe marocaine ''Harira'' .
Couscous aux légumes
Salades marocaines, une spécialité de notre maison.
Tajine de légumes ''Végétarien''
Briouates aux amandes et miel
La Pastilla au lait 'Knafa'
Dessert au Pommes.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ka-reon
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice stay at cozy Riad”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our main goal in Fes was to see Chouara tanneries, and I have found this riad by its covenient location. Medina of Fes is not the place where easy to find road, but this riad built not very far from Bab Rcif, and we can find our way without problems. And you can see this old gates directly from balcony!
Also, we were completely charmed with duty manager of riad, Fatima! She was very kind, always told as much as possible for any questions. It was real feel that we are not in hotel, but family guests in old Moroccan house! On arrival she prepares for us very tasty traditional Moroccan tea with cookies.
All rooms of riad are very cozy and beautifully decorated, Especially hall of ground floor with little pool, it is true masterpiece! Room where we had stayed also fine, we slept very well. Breakfast with big variety of Moroccan food.
Distance to tanneries is really short, we spent only 10-15 minutes of walking to reach it.
We are glad with our choice, thanks Fatima for your nice work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrase on the roof
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you at home and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzzSharif...
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Hospitality by Fatima and Ayoub! 5 star service !”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We reached Fes bus station and we call Fatima how to go to the Riad by Taxi. Fatima is a very nice lady, she get someone (Ayoub) to fetch us at the bus station and help us to carry our luggage.
Fatima even upgraded our room to the best room in their property. :)
We have cash issue while in Fes, we thought that we can pay by credit card for the excursions to Sahara Desert Merzouga. We tell Fatima about our problem, and she help us a lot to ensure we can proceed with the excursion.
Loving the stay while we are here. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yusuf N
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“2 brother in laws and there 2 kids (each)”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first visit to Morocco, we arrived at Fes airport approximately 8.30 pm we were greeted by a friendly driver (Hameed) organised by the manager (Fatima) of the Riyad where we stayed.

Our group consisted off Myself, my brother inlaw, my 2 children and his 2 children.

Upon arrival at bab Rcif our bags were taken by Ameen and Ayoub (2 workers at the Riyad) we were led through a small market and up a load of steps in to a very narrow alleyway and once we were in Wow well what can I say it was a different world then one would imagine, after walking through the hustle and bustle of a very busy area. Fatima had prepared some lovely mint tea for us followed by a lovely meal.


The Riyad is located very conveniently near shops, markets, taxi ranks, Hamam etc.
The local market was literally a stones throw away and you could purchase almost anything you want from fresh fruit and produce to household goods.

Fatima made our stay as comfortable as possible she offered us a few ideas in terms of places to visit and also gave us a hint of what to expect etc.
We had breakfast and dinner at the Riyad every day the breakfast was light and delicious and the dinners were just amazing home cooked Morrocon dishes prepared to perfection by Amina every meal we had was absolutely delicious and prepared with so much care. I think my favourite meals were the lamb Tagine followed by the pigeon pie.

The Riyad also benefited from a very small pool which the kids and bro inlaw made the most of during the hot afternoons.

During our stay we went on a few trips the most memorable was the trip to the atlas mountain through the country side followed by feeding the monkeys in the forest the kids really enjoyed the trip.

We also made a day trip to Rabat beach which was around 130 miles away it was well worth it, we went to a posh sea food restaurant followed by a few hours at the beach.

Fatima, Amina, Ameen and Ayoub treated us with care and respect and went over and beyond to make our stay comfortable, she really knows how to take care off people, Amina is one great cook and Ameen is a very friendly and caring housekeeper not forgetting Ayoub's fantastic service and wonderful smile.

If I ever went to Fes again I know where I would be staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you Yusuf … please, do come back. Dar Essoaoude and the team would be very glad to see you again.
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim A
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like a dream from beginning to end”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having visited Morocco many years ago, I had a rough idea what to expect, but I had not been to Fes nor stayed in a Riyad before.
I was with my brother in law, and our 4 children aged 6,10,11 & 12
The property is located right in the centre of the action, with a view over Place Rcif, which appears to be busy pretty much all day and night !
Local amenities were great, with a fruit/vegetable/meat/fish/you name it market within a minute's walk of the house.
We were greeted at the airport by a friendly driver, arranged by Fatima, the lady who can arrange almost anything for you during your stay.
On arriving at the Place Rcif, it was a short walk up busy footpaths with the help of Fatima's son Amine, to find the house, which is at the end of a vanishingly small alleyway.
Inside, it is like a tardis - you would never expect this level of size and quality of house in such a location.
On the ground floor, there is a central tiled courtyard, open to the sky, with access to master double bedroom, which has a mezzanine floor containing a single bed and an en suite. Also off the couryard is the kitchen, which has its own secret mezzanine level where the staff can stay overnight. The ground floor plunge pool was very popular with the kids (and dads) for cooling off after a hot day out. From the lounge there are stairs up to the top floor terrace level, where meals were taken, and which leads on to two further en-suite bedrooms. All the rooms were air conditioned.
So the food was superb, prepared in house by Amina, and very reasonably priced, served whenever we wanted it. Highlights included lamb tajine, turkey kebabs (brochettes), and local dishes that stretched the imagination.
Trips out were available, courtesy of the ever helpful Fatima, we went to see the monkeys in the Mid Atlas mountains, to the beach at Rabat (2.5 hrs by autoroute), and on an official guided tour of the Medina so we didn't get lost.
We ate at the Ruined Garden Restaurant for lunch a couple of times and that was great too.
Pricing of goods in local shops seemed a little variable - beware of the numerous "family cooperatives" offering standard products at crazy prices - walk away and spend your money somewhere else instead.
Our favourite trip out was a taxi to Bab Boujloud, then walk down through the shopping all the way round the Nejjarine mosque until we popped out back at Place Rcif. The maps were almost useless, and we frequently had to pay small boys 50 dirhams to show us the way back.
We did make it to Jardin Jnin Sbil and it was lovely, got send home at 7.00 when it closes.
We also found the McDonalds and Pizza Hut and Carrefour to be interesting, in the Ville Nouvelle. Taxi rides were relatively good value, ranging from 15 to 50 dirhams - metered was definitely better value !
To conclude, we were superbly looked after, everyone had a great time, it was good value for money, and I would recommend you to take the plunge !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service
Liked least: We did get tummy troubles from eating local ice creams unfortunately
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you Tim. I am happy when I read this, happy that your kids and their dads had a good time at Dar Essoaoude.
You were the first to enjoy the pool, and this too is great as I think that your kids loved it and the air temperature was getting hot.
Hope you had a safe return and wish you the best,
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene D
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our choice to stay at Dar Essoaoude for 4 nights in order to really have a deeper Fes experience was perfect. The owner has created a true oasis of tranquility amidst an absolutely authentic restoration of this centuries old home. The location is very convenient and our inn keeper was in tune at all times with our needs. She prepares delicious suppers and breakfasts are generous in choices. She provided for us a wonderful well seasoned guide and made sure we were perfectly on our way to catch a 6 am flight. Dar Essoaoude hopefully will always have a place for our return!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Eugene, Dar Essoaoude will remember you for years, will always have a place for you in its heart, and will live in hope of your return.
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing