We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Fez-- An oasis in a busy medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Had a great few nights at Riad Fes .. a very special place over looking the medina-but still very close to walk . Really is an elegant oasis and the perfect place to relax after a busy day in medina . rooms were excellent and the roof top bar has special views back across Fes -- just perfect for the sunset
The spa and pool allow for the extra relaxation
The restaurant was excellent serving a great breakfast but we would have like a bit more variety in the dinner menu

Room Tip: a room over looking the medina is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lest42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

I saw the photos of Riad Fes and knew I wanted to stay here. I stayed for 3 nights in the mini-Suite (traditional style) and it was lovely. The main lobby area was beautifully restored; the pool and dining area was modern and chill; the Spa was nice; the rooftop terrace and view was wonderful and most importantly the Service staff were all great.

Our suite overlooks the garden with orange trees; very relaxing and peaceful with birds singing. Our bathroom had a claw bathtub as well as a large shower and a beautiful ceiling. Had everything that you'd need (aircon/heater, bathrobes, bedroom slippers, water) including Moroccan body and hair scrub. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The Riad has a mix of traditional and modern rooms but i would definitely recommend the traditional rooms for a true Riad experience.

There were many service staff to attend to your needs. They are all smiley and seem truly happy. My partner's shoes needed a little glue and the staff took it, glued it and returned it in half an hour. Great service!

We love the choice of freshly squeezed juices at breakfast; orange, beetroot, carrot, grapefruit etc…any combination you want. You can order hot food e.g. choice of eggs or pancakes. I love the Amlou too.
Nutritious and you won't tire of it even staying for 3-4 days. We also had dinner at the restaurant once. Good food (by Fes standards) and very good service. We also did the Hammam spa treatment. Got scrubbed down and never felt so "clean"!

A very well-run hotel, definitely Relais & Chateaux Int'l standards. Such fond memories, we hope to be back. Fes, when compared to Marrakech, is so much more charming and "real". People are nicer too.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My daughter and I had a very good experience at this hotel. The interior space is stunning with amazing tile work throughout and the scent of orange blossoms permeates the air. After we checked in we went to the roof to get some lunch. The views of the Fes Medina from the roof are outstanding. In addition, the hotel's location is excellent for touring the Medina which is an amazing maze of ancient streets (best to get a guide!). But what really stood out was the amazing food. As one would expect to find in a Relais & Chateaux hotel, breakfast, lunch and dinner were fantastic - the best food we had in our two week visit to Morocco. Since it is so difficult to find your way around in the alleyways of the Medina, it was wonderful that we didn't feel the need to go out for dinner. My only complaint was that the staff was a bit stiff and cold. We stayed in 5 other hotels in Morocco and the staff in all of these hotel were very welcoming. There staff at the Riad Fes lacked warmth and it did taint our visit somewhat.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank colorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

You know if this had not been a Relais Cheteau property, I would be writing a completely different review. But my experience and expectations for a Relais property colors this review. The hotel is absolutely interesting in that in has combined 5 homes into a unique property. The entrance/foyer is gorgeous. The pool looks very nice. They were very kind in upgrading us from a junior suite to a suite. However, not sure what made this a "suite" as the sitting area was at the top of 30 steps to the bedroom and the sitting area was basically in the landing. The room itself was very large and well appointed. Was disappointed that there was no soap in the shower and the coffee maker did not work. However, the most disappointing was our dinner at the hotel. The dining room is located in a new building that really has no definition. Walls are large bricks - room is very generic. Service was nothing I would expect from a Relais. Server never came back to the table to offer water, additional wine, or to ask if our dinner was okay. My fish was so full of lemon that I could not eat. When he finally presented the bill I told him that we were very disappointed. He nodded his head and said "very good". I told him no it was not good and he seemed very confused. As we were leaving we met wth the general manager and she was very sincere in her surprise that our dinner was such a disappointment. I explained our concerns about our room and our dinner and how this did not compare to our experience with a Relais in Rabot the night before. She explained that Relais was a lot more expensive. We did not feel that this was an adequate answer. She kindly sent a bottle of wine to our room. However, this was not the experience we had anticipated with a Relais. People were very nice - especially the bar staff on the top of the building. We definitely appreciated the uniqueness of the property - but doubt we would stay again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John123Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Walk through a garden through a small walkway and you enter a beautiful Riad. Feels like an old movie with luxurious feel. Our room was on the top floor with the rooftop bar at our disposal. Staff, service and accommodations are all excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Woodman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 km away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.6 km away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.2 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 100 in Fes
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Family Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: R2 813 - R14 765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing