We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
266
37
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
37
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool enclosed terrace french touch relaxing garden week visit to morocco the owner black soap dipping pool antique furniture french couple breakfast and dinner an oasis perfect place to relax would highly recommend this hotel genuine interest comfortable place to stay freshly squeezed orange juice
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Very nice Riad in the Medina. Easy parking and easy access once you find the right parking lot. We had a great dinner there one night and breakfast in the garden was lovely. Terrace had a great view of that part of the Medina.

Room Tip: wi fi did not work in our room on the third floor. Worked well just outside the room however.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Marie R, Co-owner manager at Ryad Mabrouka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much from all the staff, especially Saïda, our cook !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This will be the first review as I have a huge amount of praise for this hotel. So it will be quite short this time!
What a brilliant, brilliant place. Great location, great food, fantastic staff - wonderful holiday.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Marie R, Co-owner manager at Ryad Mabrouka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Everyone here at Ryad Mabrouka has been so happy to read you comment ! Thanks a lot from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We expected a lot, judging from our travel agent's descriptions, and we pretty much got it. Room was comfortable, bathroom nice, two sinks! but towels were in short supply apparently--got one very large and one good-sized handtowel. We put the handtowels on the floor the next morning to be replaced but the maid just picked them up and put them on the wall hangar again! How about 1 medium sized towel, per person, per day. Nothing dries very well in those riads, we know. We were close to the Old Medina but in order to get to any other place in Fez we would have had to work a bit. On arrival, a Riad employee met us out at the parking lot, 10 minutes from the riad door. The guys waiting there with boxes on wheels tossed our suitcases into these boxes and wheeled them to the riad behind us and the riad employee. However, when we reached the riad door, the riad employee told us to up our tip (shouldn't the riad guy have paid it?) and, on unloading from the guy's wheeled box, I noticed the exterior of our suitcases looked like they'd been in a box previously used on a farm-they were exceedingly dusty. I would rather have dragged my suitcase myself down the path to the riad. The riad garden was exceedingly nice! Too bad the wx was too cool to enjoy eating out there. The riad owner capably answered our questions about the riad's renovations and the history of the Fez area.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank transientm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Marie R, Co-owner manager at Ryad Mabrouka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thanks for taking time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you liked the room and garden, we regret that the weather was a bit chilly to eat outside which is very unusual at that period and want to reply to some of your remarks concerning the car park, the porters. The nearest parking lot is maximum 3 minutes walking from the riad door. It happens that some drivers stop at the wrong car park, Therefore we recommend to print the access map available on our web site to make sure you reach the nearest car park. There is often dust on suitcases when clients come from the desert or from the Atlas where they have been driving off-road but the street from the car park to the riad is paved and there is no reason to get dust on the way. Porters (here they call the "boxes on wheels" carossas) are available at the car park at 20dhs/cart. We had our own porter free service but the porters were complaining that we took their jobs and we decided to stop. It is a kind of social contribution towards people who have a hard time to make a living.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

I highly recommend Ryad Mabrouka. My sisters, niece and I stayed there for three nights. It's a beautifully restored riad owned by the French couple, Caroline and Pierre. They both know how to give their guests space after the initial greeting and orientation for all things Fes. The true gems are their staff, especially Fatina who is the sweetest women and is there to greet you with a smile all the time.

The rooms: We stayed in the family suite. It was perfect. It's large enough to accommodate three adults and an eleven year old child. The family suite has a queen size bed, and two twin beds (one of which is in a separate mini-bedroom which my other sister claimed for herself for some quiet me time). Everything was clean and tastefully decorated in a Moroccan-Andalusian style.

Location: The riad is part of the medina but it's in the outside walls (much like Riad Maison Bleue which is close by) which is perfect so it's away from the noise and bustle of the medina while still being accessible to the main shopping area. The gate that leads to the main shopping area itself is a 3-minute walk away.

Dining: We had dinner there on our first and last night and food was good. Ryad Mabrouka also has a good wine list (reminder: alcoholic beverages are not served in public restaurants and cafes). The riad has two dining areas -- the garden (see pics) and the terrace on the second floor (where meals are served when it's too cold or it's raining outside which was the case on our second night).

Bonus: The riad has a rooftop terrace with a view of Fes. Great place to enjoy a glass of wine while watching the sun set over the medina.

What travelers need to know ahead of time: breakfast is the same every day

Room Tip: The family suite which is on the second floor (US standard)/first floor (French standard) is perfect for groups of 4 pax.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aftnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Marie R, Co-owner manager at Ryad Mabrouka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

We were very happy to receive you in Fez with your sisters and niece and we all -especially Fatima!- thank you warmly for your detailled and very kind review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Could not recommend this riad more. Gorgeous Moroccan aesthetic. Very thoughtful and generous hosts. Feels intimate and a unique experience. Beautiful courtyard with fountain and garden with birds chirping.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 623alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Marie R, Co-owner manager at Ryad Mabrouka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed our riad so much. We hope you had a nice time in Essaouira after Fez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews