We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Independent Living at it's best !”
other travellers have booked this property
Central courtyard or patio on the ground floor. This area can be covered or open.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Central courtyard or patio on the ground floor. This area can be covered or open.
Central courtyard or patio dining area. The roof terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Central courtyard or patio on the ground floor. This area can be covered or open.
Central courtyard or patio dining area.
The roof terrace.
The central patio on the ground floor at night.
Looking up from the ground floor patio.
The roof terrace at night.
Looking into the patio from the Red Salon on the ground floor.
Window in the big bedroom on 1st floor looking into the central area.
The big bedroom with ensuite facilities.
The second bedroom from the internal balcony.
The twin room at the top which looks out onto the back of the terrace.
The 1st floor balcony looking up from the ground floor patio.
The Red Salon on the ground floor.
The ground floor kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
deltos
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Independent Living at it's best !”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Dar Mystere was more than I could have hoped for. The home is beautiful what you see in the pictures is what get. Alami, the housekeeper was excellent and patient. If you love to cook, the kitchen facilities are adequate enough to do that - there is a fridge and enough utensils to prepare anything you wish. Shopping for food was just a few steps on the main path less than 5 minute walk - many vendors to choose from and a butcher. You must have Mint Tea with Fresh Mint !!

The two-level roof top of Dar Mystere has a magical view especially in the evenings. House is a 3 story facade with winding stairs to the roof and the bedrooms in between. After walking the Medina daily the stairs become a non issue. There are several mosques in the area so you will hear the calls to prayer six times a day- at some points you hear 5 different calls at the same time - very melodious and rich! It is a sound that motivates you to stop and listen. Another very cool thing about Dar Mystere was the sliding roof which allowed heat to escape and gave a very court-yard feel to the main floor. It did rain a couple of times but the roof cover was very easy to slide closed to keep the rain out of the house.

Dar Mystere is located in the old Medina so the paths are narrow and winding I learned there are two hills to the souks and shops; the High Hill and the Low Hill... both lead deep into the Medina and if you keep walking you will end up back where you started. The return trip is steep - at some points extremely steep - so no cute shoes !!! Sneakers or hiking shoes are strongly recommended especially if you are a shopper - for it is a bit like carrying shopping bags on a stair-master - walking the old Medina is not for the faint of heart or non walkers; of course I spent more than I intended, and had to buy another suitcase !

Unless you are an extreme heat lover - I would recommend not going to Fez in August. The daily temperature was between 95 - 100 F daily. The evenings/and nights were cooler just below 70 F. The house stayed relatively cool on the main floor and the fans in the rooms were sufficient for the evenings. Most Moroccans stay on the lower level of their homes during the day anyway.

The special treat was the Wifi connection which worked perfectly ! There is not a TV - but who needs one ? Go get lost in Fes the best reality show you can not only watch, but also have the lived experience.

This was not my first trip to Morocco, but my first to Fes. For me, Dar Mystere was the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the Medina, Wifi, Ambience of the House, Cooking facilities,
Liked least: The steps, but you get used to them - they don't build ranch-styled Riads ( smile )
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your extended stay at Dar Mystere. Regarding the layout of some of the facilities, we are currently planning to alter the ground floor arrangement to allow a bigger, brighter kitchen area and to use a different space for the ground floor bathroom. We always welcome feedback from visitors and we hope you will consider Dar Mystere if you find yourself in Fez in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KerryD92
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay at Dar Mystere”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I rented Dar Mystere for one week in September. I had been in Morocco doing work experience for the summer and my 80 year old grandmother was coming over to bring me home :( As the medina is quite hilly I needed somewhere with great location, close to taxi ranks, shops, restaurants etc so it wouldn't be too much for my Gran. Somebody told me about Dar Mystere so I emailed the british owners who were very friendly and allowed me to rent their property for one week.

Alami, who is the house manager was very helpful, I went to view the property and told him about my Gran. All bedrooms are upstairs which I was a bit worried about so Alami kindly made up a bed downstairs in one of the salons for my Gran if she couldn't manage the stairs.

Our stay at Dar Mystere was fantastic. My gran was overwhelmed at how beautiful the property was for the price! Everything was clean, there were heaps of towels and extra bedding. The kitchen was fully equipped and again clean. The house has wifi and a landline phone which was great, we could skype my mum in England.

There is also a kitchen up on the terrace which is great for making breakfast or if you are having some evening drinks and nibbles overlooking the amazing view! There was even ipod speakers in the house too which was a bonus. A washing machine too. You couldn't want for anything in this place it was so comfortable and homey.

Having spent my year abroad in Fes a few years ago, I really wish I knew this place existed, it is by far the best place I have stayed in in the medina. The location was great, only a 3-5 min walk to the taxis at Batha or Boujloud and very close to the famous cafe clock where my gran loved to go and have her coffee at.

I will definitely be returning, a great place to stay with family or friends. The house made my grans week in Fes. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness of house, decoration, terrace view
Liked least: There is nothing about this house I didn't like.
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We try our best to make our guests feel at home, and we have had excellent feedback from many guests about the attentiveness of our manager Alami. We hope that you will consider another stay Dar Mystere if you are in Fez in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the lovely tiled, wood and carved plaster interior. The shower as well.
Liked least: The last step up into the bedroom which is about two inches too deep!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;