We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grounds are beautiful....beware of the rest”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Room smelled of sewer gas during our stay. There was a dead roach on the bathroom floor. The A/C unit blew cool but very damp air. Our clothing felt like we stayed in a rain forest. The pool needs major work. Don't trust the online menus as they can arbitrarily present a "limited menu" in which a la carte items were more than we budgeted. Mattresses were very firm in our room so take this into consideration if your used to a little comfort. We would have been more comfortable if we would have stayed in a nearby hotel and just visited the park during the day.

Room Tip: Stay off grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PokyPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I am sincerely sorry that we fell short during your visit! I would welcome a time to discuss your review. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it right!
Please feel free to call me at (260) 833-1077 (440).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This is a fantastic place for the whole family. Lots of indoor and outdoor activities for children and adults alike. My personal favorite is hiking for nature trails and the toboggan slide, but playing board games and video games inside is what the kids like. And don't forget the pool sauna and hot tub whenever you're in the mood.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Loud3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Your feedback on your recent stay is so very much appreciated! After reading your review it sounds like you were able to enjoy many activities that are offered on site. Keep in mind toboggan season, right around the corner! So excited to welcome your family back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We spent just one night in one of the rooms in the historic section of the inn. We had a small room with one double bed. The room was clean and tidy; the bathroom was very clean with a nice shower. The room overlooked the lake, but the position and size of the windows are such that you really don't have much of a view. The bed was overly firm for my taste, but otherwise it was a nice stay and a reasonable value. The AC worked well as did the wifi and it was very quiet. The park and the lovely lawn and balcony makes up for the small room. When one stays at an historic facility one must reset their expectations - times have changed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

We are so happy that you chose to be our guest at the Potawatomi Inn! During your next stay, If you would desire to have a larger room, I would like to suggest staying in one of our rooms located on the other side of our inn. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The location at Pokagon is impressive set in beautiful woodland and countryside. Arrival at the Inn is to a with a well maintained lobby with friendly and efficient staff, our visit was for a family reunion to meet a large number of relatives from across the USA (who meet here every year).
The rooms we booked were 'historic rooms', the original accommodation at the the Inn. These are cosy rooms with en-suite facilities. Being English we missed our Tea, the facilities being more for coffee drinkers. There are coffee making facilities which were not refilled after day 1.
The rooms were cleaned daily, but the cleaning staff could probably do with smile training.
The restaurant menu was a little dull and was never particularly busy (as result of the lack luster menu), the breakfast buffet was also disappointing. At the weekend however, the breakfast buffet had some sudden rejuvenation and the food served was of a much higher standard in taste and appearance, by Monday though it was back to not very interesting.
We tried the swimming pool at the Inn, once you get past the intense eye watering chlorine the pool is a good size, there is a sauna and a large hot tub. The grounds are fabulous and the lake access is very picturesque.
Conclusion:-
A fantastic location, all the staff (except the cleaner of our rooms) were simply brilliant and a credit to the establishment.
Good food is is only a stones throw away in the surrounding area - everyone raved about breakfast at 'The village Kitchen' Off N.Superior St Angola and meals and Beer were impressive at Mad Anthony's at Lake James. Nearby Angola has everything else you could want for including supermarkets.
The Pokagon state park is a credit to the country and Indiana - would I visit again...Yes

Room Tip: Book a room in the newer side of the Inn, and ensure it has a good view - patio rooms are more famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Your feedback on your stay is very much appreciated! I am sorry to read that our dining room did not meet your expectations! I would welcome a call to discuss more specifics on how we can meet your needs for your next visit. We sincerely appreciate your business! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Located just off I-69 near the IN / MI line, the Inn is a refreshing change from a roadside motel. In the Angola State Park, it offers families, businesses, or just solo travelers a respite and pleasant stay.

Hoosier hospitality meant I got seated in the main dining room three minutes before closing time. No eye-rolling or sigh, just a smile and a view of the Lake.

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Everyone hear is having a good time so you don't deal with grouchy, pushy, harried guests. Plenty to occupy kids and adults. And quiet nooks to just unwind.

Summer and winter activities abound. Major stores nearby and lovely small town Angola only a few miles away.

If you're on the road, pull off and stay here. You'll find lots of reasons to come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dwwantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback and kind words! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Here at the Potawatomi Inn we strive to exceed our guest expectations and provide excellent customer service. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angola
1,9 km away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
3,5 km away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
3,5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34,2 km away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
26,7 km away
Hampton Inn Coldwater
Hampton Inn Coldwater
#1 of 6 in Coldwater
306 reviews
3,5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Fremont
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center

Address: 6 Lane 100a Lake James, Angola, IN 46703-9591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Angola
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Price Range: R788 - R1 989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center is located in beautiful Pokagon State Park, on the shores of pristine Lake James, one of Indiana's largest lakes. Visitors will enjoy acres of outdoor recreational opportunities and all modern amenities. A historic structure, the Inn opened to the public in 1927. Many renovations and additions have added the modern conveniences that today's guests expect while preserving the historic importance of the Inn. The Inn features two restaurants. The Historic Dining Room is housed in the original historic section of the Inn and features a full menu and buffet service certain nights along with a bountiful Sunday Brunch. The Courtyard Cafe is a seasonal outlet that features quick service foods, our fresh baked pizza and ice cream. Guests can enjoy any one of the Inns many amenities including our craft room, where kids of all ages can create souvenirs to take home with them. Or if you are looking for a quiet place to read or do a puzzle in front of the fireplace, you can try the library or the Lonidow Lounge. Of course, the most popular amenity is the 1,600 acre Pokagon State Park with its miles of hiking and biking trails and not one, but two beaches. And don't think that we go dormant in the winter, from Thanksgiving weekend through the end of February the weekends come alive with the opening of the Toboggan Run which features two quarter mile refrigerated toboggan tracks that can reach speeds of 35 to 40 miles per hour! Come enjoy the Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, Indiana's year round playground! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Potawatomi Inn Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Resort Angola
Potawatomi Inn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing