We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
254
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet divingpigeon cayhot tubdive resortevery mealboat captainlocal communitynurse sharksjungle busnon diversthe reefsdive masterfishowners and staffthe entire staffpigeon keyfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Utopia Village is literally my favorite place on the planet. I have stayed there twice now and will most certainly be back again. This small dive resort is a family and they welcome you into their home. The accommodations are wonderful, the diving is fantastic (we had a 15 minute experience with a Whale Shark!) but it's truly the people that make this place exceptional. I highly recommend Utopia to anyone who loves to dive and/or just escape to a beautiful paradise resort and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank carlislecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Utopia Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you so much for the review. It is also our favorite place in the world :-) and that whale shark encounter was something special. We genuinely love having you here. We are going to miss you until you come again. Thank you also for your amazing kindness and generosity towards our staff and their local community - it really means a lot to them and us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Every so often you are lucky to travel some place small, remote and very special. So is the case with Utopia on the island of Utila, Honduras, where we recently travelled for a a week long scuba adventure.

Utopia is built on 3 cardinal principles: fantastic diving, superb service and a philanthropic mission. You know things are different when you are met at the airport by the owner, Paul, who arranges your transport to the Utila town dock onto one of the Utopia boats for a brief trip along the coast to Utopia, a small resort along a pretty stretch of isolated beachfront.

You disembark at the Utopia dock, where you are met by all the staff, and co-owner Chrisna (Paul’s wife), who escorts you to your room where your bags are already waiting. We had the upstairs panorama room – which I would recommend highly – a large room with a king bed, a soaring ceiling and a window the size of a garage door that overlooks the ocean 50 feet away. The décor is tasteful, comfortable and modern, the bed invites sleep after a long day diving. Paul and Chrisna, renovated everything back to the studs when they purchased Utopia only 2 years ago.

One hour after your arrival, the staff will know you by name and you will know theirs. They are helpful and attentive, and incredibly friendly. You will joke around with them throughout your stay. (Thank you to Diandre, Evelyn, Lonnie, Anke and Chris!)

The facilities are beautiful with an expansive dining room/ gathering room, media room, billiard room and even a cozy gym. Because you will eat every meal here, it’s important that it be good – it’s not good – it is superb, using fresh fish and meats. With all the delicious deserts, you may have to change your dive weighting by mid week!

The outdoor grounds are beautiful, with a lovely lap pool and expansive hot tub that could hold 20-30 people, amazing considering the hotel only has about 20 rooms. The resort is small and cozy, so you can walk easily from your room to the dining room for lunch, to the dock for your dive, to the hot tub for apres-dive where Lonnie will bring drinks from the bar.

The diving on Utila is superb. The reef is very healthy. Right off the Utopia dock you can see squid, barracuda, tarpon and so on. Scuba leaders Anke and Chris know the dive sites thoroughly, and run a very safe operation. All your equipment is carted on and off the boat by the crew. They even rig the gear for you!

The facilities, food, staff and location of Utopia are superb, which make it a very special place. What makes it unique, however, is that Paul and Chrisna decided that their ownership of Utopia should also improve the lives of the islanders around them. Unlike his predecessor, Paul hired his staff almost entirely from the adjacent fishing island of Pigeon Key population 400, (which you can tour during your stay). There he and Chrisna have opened a preschool for staff’s children and worked closely with island residents, to build an English program in the school, as well as a recycling initiative. Their goal is to create opportunity for the islanders and their children who currently have little alternative to fishing.

Utopia is aptly named—staying here allows you to do well AND do good.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank SamB02481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Utopia Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of your stay with us. We really appreciate the time you took to cover every major aspect of your experience: the rooms, the food/dining, the resort grounds/facilities, the diving and our local staff. We especially appreciated that you mentioned several of our staff by name. We are truly thankful for the kindness and generosity you showed them and know that they really appreciate it. We feel we are fortunate to be located in a beautiful location, with great diving, but in the end, we believe our staff are the secret sauce that helps to make the overall experience special. We had a great time hosting you and the group you were with, and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We have been fortunate to travel to some amazing places around the world over the years, but nowhere else has provided an overall experience to equal Utopia Village. Plenty has already been written in previous reviews about the amazing small resort that owners Paul and Crisna have created, and we wholeheartedly echo all of those positive comments. The diving here is absolutely fantastic as well, with the underwater experience and service matching the incredibly high standard set on dry land. We are already looking forward to visiting again at some point in the future, as long as all of these 5 star reviews haven't resulted in a 5 year waiting list!

Room Tip: The two panoramic rooms have amazing sea views
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Utopia Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

We are honored by your praise of Utopia Village. Given how extensively you have traveled, it means a lot to us. We had a great time meeting you and diving with you (and swimming with whales sharks), and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us too. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind a review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are sure there will be a room available .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We were looking for a quiet, high-end resort, with excellent diving and a chance to see whale sharks. I should also add, I am a marine biologist and have dove all over the world. So, the bar to impress me was going to be high.

Utopia Village exceeded my expectations!! Prior to departure I requested a quiet room since I tend to be a light sleeper and very early riser. I was told that the only noise I was likely to hear was the occasional almond hitting the roof. They were right!!! The rooms are spread out and the resort has a limit of about 30 people. I slept better than I do at home.

The accommodations were high-end and extremely comfortable. Fresh flowers were in abundance and as the staff became acquainted with our tastes and preferences…the meals and contents of our refrigerator were adjusted accordingly. Moreover, we had meal choices every day and we were able to make special off-menu requests. They had no issues with repeating a dish or dessert that we found particularly tasteful. In fact, they make it clear that they wanted us to tell them what we liked and they really did make every effort to accommodate us. One morning at breakfast the owner presented us with a choice of 3 fish that had just been caught by a local fisher and she needed to decide which one(s) she would purchase for our dinner.

When you arrive at Utopia Village they will pick up all your dive gear and that is the last time you will haul it until you clear customs on your way home. The boats are safe and seaworthy with adequate food and drink between dives. We visited 15 different dive sites during the week and there was enough variety that even a seasoned marine biologist found interesting things to see on all the dives. While seeing whale sharks was the priority, you quickly realize that this is diver’s paradise even if you never see a whale shark. The species diversity is high, large fishes are still abundant, and there is very little algae on the reefs. It is reminiscent of what the reefs looked like in the Bahamas in the 1970’s. There is very little human impact on the reefs. Finally, I really appreciated the care and attention to detail with our dive gear. On morning I noticed a dust cap was missing from my regulator. That afternoon it has been replaced.

One of the best aspects of the diving at Utopia Village is the shore dive in front of the village. From the dive shop to the water entry is about 30 meters along a trail (shorter as the crab crawls). A 40-50 meter swim puts you on top of a small wall in 20-feet of water. The wall drops at least 100 feet and more in places. Big fish, sharks and rays were in abundance. We were able to dive this site any time of the day. Since dinner was scheduled around us guests could put in an extra dive following the afternoon boat dive or even do an early morning dive. Some of our best pictures came from this site.

Finally, perhaps the best thing about this trip was the staff. They truly were friendly and warm and they really wanted to make sure you were having a special trip. We were told at the briefing on the first night that we should consider ourselves to be welcome guests in their home. Many resort operators will say that to the guests. In this case, you realize during the first 48 hours that this really is the case.

When we go back to Utopia Village we will not be going back to visit a resort. We will be going back to see our friends who happen to live in a little corner of paradise.

Room Tip: We are glad we paid for a suite.....it was amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bonefish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Utopia Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

We cannot express enough our thanks for your detailed and kind review. What a pleasure it was hosting you and your wife and having the opportunity to dive with you. We enjoyed it very much and also learned a lot during the week (it is amazing what a marine biologist can teach you about marine life ). Thank you also for providing a summary of the diving and the reef around Utila, as well as our house reef. It will mean a lot to other divers. There are many reasons we love diving here, but the health and diversity of the reef is very high on the list. We really appreciate all the kindness and generosity (including the Fish Guides) you showed us and our staff, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Where to start? Quite simply one of the most amazing destinations my wife and I have had the chance to experience. The owners of Utopia Village started our introduction to the resort with a wonderful presentation. They set out what they hoped to achieve and share with us during the one week all inclusive honeymoon diving trip. In short, they surpassed all our expectations. Their team are a wonderful group of local Hondurans ready to share and help with a genuine smile. The location, sunrises, sunsets and views are breathtaking. The diving is epic, we got to experience swimming with whale sharks on two separate days and saw an incredible array of sea life on each dive. One of other pleasures for us was the quality of the food; beautiful presentation and simply delicious. We upgraded to the largest of the rooms (duplex), the bed was very comfortable, the space generous and the views serene. The resort itself is very well kept and there are teams cleaning and working every morning bright and early. The details in the communal areas are the result of clear thought, good taste and an understanding of creating comfort. In short, this place is quite literally amazing and both my wife and I look forward to visiting our friends in Utopia Village again in the near future.

Room Tip: Delux rooms are really quite beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Utopia Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

What a week it was! It was an honor for us to host you and your wife on your honeymoon. It was even more special because she was born in Honduras and this was your first trip here together and your first time diving together. And of course, the whale sharks were a big bonus .

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure meeting you and spending the week with you. We enjoyed it very much and we are delighted that you had such a great time too. We truly appreciate the kindness and generosity that you showed to our local staff and us. We cannot wait to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews