We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
261
86
33
20
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
86
33
20
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand flies coconut grove wheel drive west end off the beaten path quiet vacation insect repellent night life water activities scuba diving cruise ship villa island resort maritza reef shore
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My family stayed here over Christmas and we had a lovely week. The staff was more than happy to help us and took care of any concerns that might have arose. The staff and residents welcome us with open arms and made up feel like apart of their family. We stayed at the Coconut Grove Cottage and it had all the comforts needed...the ocean view was pretty great too. The food at the restaurant was delicious and fresh. Make sure to take advantage of the local experience when you stay here. Recommendations: do not rent a car, allow the resort to arrange pick ups and drop offs...worth the money. Bring bug spray (strong stuff) just incase you are prone to getting bug bites...it still was manageable and did not stop me from enjoying the pool and beach. Thanks for a beautiful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

My daughters and I rented Coconut Grove Cottage for Christmas week. The villa was gorgeous- had a real island flare to it right on the beach. The resort at Palmetto Bay was extremely helpful in organizing local trips snorkeling and exploring the island. The staff arranged trips with local guides that were knowledgeable and entertaining. The restaurant food was exceptional and staff made the experience fun. We really felt we learned about and experienced the people and culture of Roatan. The resort was relaxing and quiet- far from the hustle and bustle of West End. Really no need to leave the resort but if you do, the dirt roads can be a challenge. Leave the driving to the locals!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Went on a family vacation to Palmetto Bay and had a wonderful time. The people were wonderful and the food was great and our cottage was nice. I would Highly recommend this to others. Thanks for everything!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Our Villa was modern well decorated and comfortable. Located less than 100 yards from beach and pool. Large decks well equipped kitchen made our stay very enjoyable.

Host were helpful and arranged fishing trips or shopping trip.
This gated community has 24 hour security. We never locked our doors.

I would recommend Palmetto Bay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wimpey1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Our family rented Casa Luz for a week. The house was very nice. There were very view people staying at the Palmetto Bay that week. We had the beach and pool area pretty much to ourselves. Very relaxing. Our hosts, Peter and Lisa were very nice. Eric, the waiter at the restaurant, was exceptional. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. HIs brother, Henry, also was a great man to help us with snorkeling and shopping. Yes, the mosquitos and sand flies were plentiful, but we just used extra bug repellant. After all, we are at the beach in the jungle! the house faced the ocean and 2 of the bedrooms were ocean view.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews