We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 063)
Filter reviews
1 063 results
Traveller rating
363
418
193
68
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
418
193
68
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua adventures entertainment staff island tour henry morgan fish dive shop ocean view large deck transat rep west end oceanfront cabana sand fleas bring water shoes aqua gym bug spray bar closes watermelon
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1 063 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

First, I want to begin with thanking Air Transat for flying us safe on both legs of the trip. Since we began vacationing about 9 years back, in my opinion, Air Transat services are the best.
We travelled on April 17 and returned one week after.
Now, for the real stuff, I will begin with the staff, like all the reviews, you will be reading, these staff are amazing, go all out for you and not expecting anything in return.
I must give a "hats off" to all the bar staff, namely, Francee, Henessy, Alberto and Kenny, these are people will serve you up quickly and not looking forward for tips, but don't get me wrong, tips are highly appreciated and I recommend that you give generously, because these people does not have much to go on, you get my drift.
The ground, beach, pool and food are all good, just like other mentioned in reviews prior to mine.
What you really need to know:-
1: Take water bottle(s) with you, so you can fill up and drink and brush teeth, the water in the room is not drinkable, the water from the shower is salty, so you also need to bring skin cream to use after showering, otherwise you skin may felt kind of weird.
2: The airport is very small and only has a few gifts, no alcohol, so if you need to bring back alcohol, pre-order from your carrier (Air transat).
3: If you are going with mobility issues, ask for cabana 113,114,115 or 119, they are close to the lobby and buffett.
4: There are no local beer serving at the bar, they serve "Stroth" an american cheap can beer.(not sure of the spelling).
5:Because of the poverty line, I would recommend that you take clothing and any other stuff you can for give away.
6: The daily temperature ranges from 29 - 34 degrees C, so if you are a sun love, this is for you.
7: There are only one bar, it opens at 9:00 am and closes at 11:00 pm.
8: You are allowed to take the beer any where you go, so I guess, you can take to you room, fill you mini fridge for emergencies.
9: There is a new drink that was developed while we were there and only Kenny (the afternoon bar tender) can make. It derived from his name and is called "Kenny Mojito".
10: As guest, some of us would appreciate if other stop tasting food while in the line or next to the tray that has the food, take in your plate and go to your table. Come on people, you can't be that hungry. It shows you manners and appreciation for other people.
As for trips, we did not take any, so no use comments on that.
We met some guest, who are divers and they love it there, some say this resort has the best dive they ever went to and the most beautiful reef and fished they encountered.
Lastly, I must mentioned our chamber maid, Gladys is her name, she did an amazing jog with our room on a daily basis, thank you Gladys.
If I did not mentioned anything that you were looking for, you can e-mail me and I would get back to you within 24 hours of your question.

Room Tip: Rooms 113,114,115 or 119 are closest access to lobby, bar and buffett.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Timber53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

So we stayed here for 2weeks from March27th till April 10th.
The good:
This is a great resort if you want to relax on your vacation, Even when it is booked almost to capacity you never feel crowded. The staff are all friendly and smiling. The older guy that takes care of the beach in late morning early afternoon works so hard to keep the beach clean and even though he only speaks Spanish he is always trying to talk to people and smiling!
The check in was fast and efficient , they welcomed me you with a cocktail and a smile :). Zaira Teruel who works at the reception is always smiling and is SO friendly! They need more like her!
It is a lot of fun having your own little bungalow to yourself! And the way most of them are placed you don't see your neighbors. We had #126 witch has a beautiful view of the ocean and the sun rise every morning.
You only get one water bottle each when you arrive witch is fine because this makes a lot less waste and empty bottles all over the place. There are water coolers placed in the front lobby,the buffet,and in the dive building, as well as water at the bar. I suggest bringing a refillable water bottle from home to have a bigger quantity.
The food repeats itself and there is a lot of chicken and fish. There was only beef 3times during our 2weeks, but we found out why! The beef is imported and is very expensive on the island, so it is not offered as often as other meats,but they do a really good job seasoning the food, good taste and always fruit available though not always pineapple or bananas. The a la carte restaurant is set up on the deck outside the buffet, three choices on the menu, lasagne,fish and chicken. There are no small teaspoons anywhere that we saw, just big soup spoons. If you are like me and get up early in the morning(3:30 - 4:30) and like to have a coffee you are out of luck! The coffee house only opens at 6:30 and the buffet at 7:00. So if you really want coffee in the morning I suggest buying a small coffee machine and bringing it or a kettle and instant coffee! The coffee house uses pods for there coffee not fresh ground or anything, and it cost $1 for each one!
The entertainment staff works really hard to make your time fun! They have to eat there lunch at tables with guests, they work really hard to put on a show 6 nights a week, but there is never a lot of people watching them because it is done in time buffet after supper and most people have left because it is hot in there and I think they don't want to just sit and wait for the show!
If you like to go snorkeling you will love this place! The best place to go from is the dive dock, go out about 50 feet and you are near the coral wall and a little to the left and you are at the drop off. Lots of different kinds of small fish and squids. Go night snorkeling and you will see all kinds of life that you don't during the day.

The "needs improving"
There is no board that tells you what the activities are or what shows on what night like most of the other resorts that we have been to. You have to ask every time if you want any information because no one will tell you if you don't. The bungalows need a little love and care as far as the exterior goes! Roofs wiring and such. But nothing major. We had some small problems like a blocked drain in one of the sinks and the air conditioning that leaked a little int he closet, but nothing major. If you do have little problems just mention it to them before you leave because if you don't know they can't fix it :). The electricity cuts out twice a day witch they do mention in the flyer, I believe it is du to the fact that it is supplied by 2generators that are just outside the first gate, witch by the way you can hear all the time. Early in the mornings no at at night when the sun is setting there are sand flees so make sure either you stay off the beach or bring some bug spray if your really bothered by this. We brought it and didn't use it because it wasn't that bad!
The pools need to be up keep, there are tiles coming off and sometimes the water gets cloudy.
So over alll a great vacation with great diving and snorkeling, don't come here if you think you are going to party because you won't , a very small and quiet resort to relax and dive, with a friendly staff and always a place to sit and relax!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank KevinMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Just got back from a week at the Media Luna. Lovely setting. Nice staff. Loved the separate bungalows. Minuscule beach but enjoyable. The food is OK. I certainly have seen better but it is nowhere as bad as some people claimed. I was quite conscious of checking the temperature though and did not have anything that was either not hot or chilled enough. I made an exception for the lobster salad at the final evening meal and let me tell you, I'm still regretting it 2 days later.

We went to this resort to dive with Aqua Adventures. Not sure I would go back if it weren't for the diving.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auzzie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This is an average resort. It balances some nice points (private cabanas) with some areas that need improvement (food selection / variety and alcoholic beverages / bars). The atmosphere is low key, relaxing and generally quiet. If you are seeking company, hang out by a pool. If you want solitude or less noise, find a spot on one of the decks over by the dive shop. It is best suited to those who want to snorkel or dive, and is not appropriate for kids.

Rooms
Cabanas are individual bungalows with a large bedroom (ours had an oversize king bed) and a well organized bathroom. Of note however – all have a window in the toilet area that is frosted glass with a square cut out that is clear glass. Our window (cabana 150 – oceanfront) lined up perfectly with our neighbours on the second row. Careful manoeuvres were required to ensure avoiding inadvertent peep shows while using the shower or toilet area.

Each cabana has a very large deck with hammock and two chairs. It’s a nice place to hang out or dry gear.

Our bed was best described as “very firm”. Personal preference will determine its comfort.

Note that only salt water is available through taps. You cannot drink the water and must plan accordingly to have a container of drinking water.

Air conditioning worked very well and the cabana was cleaned thoroughly every day.


Resort
The resort is appropriate for adults and particularly those who want to snorkel and/or dive. It is not appropriate for kids and they will likely become bored quickly.

There are numerous terraced decks which make the most of the resort footprint.

Chairs always available on beach, poolside or on decks. Limited shade is available on the beach and these spaces are scooped first.

The main beach is rocky and the supplementary or second beach is very rocky with difficult entry. Water shoes will make entry more comfortable.

The walkways are stones set in concrete. Initially, they appear quaint. However, they provide uneven walking surfaces and one must be careful not to twist an ankle.

Extremely poor internet. It is only available in the main lobby and sometimes in the restaurant. It is very slow and spotty reception at best. Buy a roaming package with your own provider if keeping in contact is important to you.

The entire resort shuts down at about 11 pm.


Food and drink
Food – where to begin with this subject. This is an area for improvement. There is limited selection - fish and chicken (usually fried and sometimes baked) were the only meats served during our 7 days. Lettuce and basic salad fixings were available most days for lunch and dinner. Limited cooked vegetable options – enjoyed the beets which appeared to be fresh cut, carrots and beans. Pizza and breads were plentiful. Pasta is served for lunch and dinner. We lost weight.

Food is transported from the Henry Morgan resort in West Bay - it is about an hours' drive. Others have noted concerns about food serving temperatures and we would echo those observations. Be careful about your selection, understanding that food items are unlikely to have been stored and transported at "safe" temperatures. For example, avoid foods with mayo. Just sayin'.

Of note: on the last night of our vacation and the turnover day for most visitors, the buffet was excellent - several varieties of meats and vegetables. This is what should have been provided every night. The staff were friendlier and accommodating as they asked us to complete a survey. Frankly, it felt artificial and an attempt to mitigate a weeks' worth of poor food and average service.

Drink – another area for improvement. There is only one bar and it is centrally located beside the restaurant. Only having one bar is not convenient for accessing from all areas of the resort, particularly from the various decks over by the dive shop (far side of the resort). We drank the least amount on any vacation, ever.

Fresh water filling stations are available in the main lobby and restaurant. If you know about it, there is also one in the dive equipment storage area although it was sometimes empty. There are far too few provided and therefore, you need to plan transport and rationing of your drinking water. Suggest the resort add at least one other water cooler on the far side of the resort, perhaps near the dive shop / on a deck.


Snorkelling and diving
This is a strong point for the resort. The opportunities to snorkel or dive from shore are plentiful and the coral is in superb shape. There is an excellent dive shop on site and we recommend using it. Staff are very knowledgeable and professional. We did 9 boat dives over a 5 day period, and snorkelled several times from shore.

Perhaps it was the time of year when we visited the area, but the marine life was very limited. Also, the visibility during dives at 40 to 90 feet was no more than 60 feet. We were looking forward to Mary's Place but poor visibility diminished our enjoyment.

Rental dive equipment from the dive shop is in average repair. We and other divers experienced inadequate seals from reg to tank, leaking gauges, broken straps in BCDs, and weight belt buckles that didn't stay fastened. As with all things diving, check your equipment carefully.


Tips:
- Bring your own soap for showering - the small bars provided did not produce a lather
- Bring your own water bottle. The only fresh water filling stations are centrally located in the restaurant and lobby. Plan wisely.
- Shorts and t-shirts or golf shirts are fine for dinner – no need to dress up
- If diving, bring your own weight stops for belts - none are available

Room Tip: Suggest an ocean front cabana
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Durhamprophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This was our second trip to Medi Luna. For the price, it's hard to beat this location/resort.

However, if you go expecting a "Sandals" experience you will be disappointed. This resort makes the most out of its location and amenities.

There is no swim-up bar and the evenings shut down early after the nightly entertainment. Perfect for me but again, it depends on what you're looking for.

The food is good but basic. Tip: book as many a la cartes as possible, there is no limit but the resort doesn't overly promote this feature.

The general facilities could use some repairs i.e. we were collecting the tiny ceramic tiles that were floating in the main pool.

The rooms are the best feature, they are large, have a lovely deck with a hammock, big bathroom (with a brackish water shower), lots of closet space and they are super clean.

Your travel should include a trip or two off the resort. Routan is beautiful and so underdeveloped. The landscape is stunning, at certain points you can see both shores from the main two-lane road that runs from the east / west of the island.

Room Tip: Grab a room over by the dive shop.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank michneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews