We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Our new 30 foot swim pool and palapa was completed in Nov 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our new 30 foot swim pool and palapa was completed in Nov 2016
See the Caribbean Sea and reef from the pool deck. Ms. Turtle and her family await your arrival!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Our new 30 foot swim pool and palapa was completed in Nov 2016
See the Caribbean Sea and reef from the pool deck.
Ms. Turtle and her family await your arrival!
Lush Tropical Surroundings with the sea at your door.
Comfortable Furniture and Space to Relax
Living area - clean and comfortable
The well equipped kitchen and dining area
Kayak to Nearby Restaurants and Tunnels
Awesome views from the pool and pool deck.
Dream of the Coral Reefs!
Lots of Drawers and Closet Space
The Caribbean is at Your Door!
One of the awesome views from inside the famous mangrove tunnels!
Castaways Cove Boathouse - Your Private Retreat Sits Over the Water
This Sign Says It All!
Two minutes from your house is Calvin's Crack, a unique swim-through
Awesome Sunset Taken From Castaways Cove Veranda
A Guest Saw This Moray While Snorkeling Our Reef
Caribe Pointe Bight
Guest Edward Snapped This While Snorkeling Near the House
Islander Diving Picks Up at Your Dock!
Explore Nearby Mangrove Tunnels By Boat or Kayak
Iguanas - No trip is complete without a visit to the Iguana Farm!
Guests love jumping off the roof of our trawler boat!
Grand-daughter Lia plays with the monkey at McNabbs Restaurant.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iowadiver...
Centerville, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed 6 weeks and enjoyed a fun, relaxing vacation. We stayed in the boat house so our backyard was the Ocean. We did a lot of cooking and appreciated having everything we needed. The pool is beautiful. I swam almost every day and while it is not a lap pool I was able to circle swim and get a lot of exercise.
The weather was rainy but we still kayaked almost every day. We loved kayaking to other bights through the mangrove tunnels. We did rent a car but returned it because the roads were so bad due to the rain. We really needed a four wheel drive. Our host and friends were gracious to let us ride with them when they were going to town for supplies.
We enjoyed having the fishermen arrive at our doorstep to sell us lobster and fish. What a treat! My husband also scuba dived and the boat would pick him up right outside our door. There were also water taxis and land taxis that would take you wherever you needed or wanted to go.
It was a very relaxing, enjoyable vacation even though we could have used more sunshine. It was very quiet so if you want the night life, this is not the place for you. We did miss having a beach that we could walk to, but we could kayak to small beaches and snorkel right off our deck.
Marcia and Dennis were great hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. We are missing it already!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Tricia, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so happy you both got out and about, even with the rainy weather. It was nice to see you swimming each morning, getting exercise. We enjoyed having you as guests and appreciate how very clean you left the house. Take care, enjoy your travels and please come back and visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt K
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place. Great View. Awesome Pool. Delightful hosts.”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My wife and I traveled to Roatan for three weeks in January. Each week, we stayed in a different location, with Castaway Cove being our final stop. Several weeks before our trip Marcia sent us a note that the boathouse (what we originally reserved) had a conflicting reservation, so they graciously moved us into this villa.

Marcia was prepared for us and gave us a couple sheets of sites and contacts for restaurants, dive shops, and water taxis. She checked on on periodically, but not too often to be an interruption. Thanks Marcia!!

The pool.... Oh, the pool. They did a GREAT job with the pool. Lovely patio area with a great view of the cove and on into the open water.

The villa was nice and cozy. Nothing terribly fancy but perfect for what we needed and, most of all, very relaxing.

Being on the east-ish end of the island made it much more quiet and not so touristy.

Restaurants: We visited Hole in the Wall (loved it!), Cal's near Parrot Tree (Loved it!), Blue Parrot (not so much).

We dove with Reef House Divers and yes, they picked up right at the dock. All good.

Highly recommend Castaway Cove. Thanks Marcia & Dennis!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Hi Kurt - Thank you for your lovely review - appreciate you taking the time to write it. Dennis and I are so glad you enjoyed your east end stay and the diving with Reef House. I loved the fact that you got out and about to see and do things. You were perfect guests - so quiet and low maintenance. Please come back and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
believein...
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
“Better than we dreamed it would be!”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My partner and I were looking for someplace clean, quiet and secluded, with easy access to the water for snorkeling, diving, kayaking and relaxing. Marcia and Dennis's boathouse exceeded our expectations. It was peaceful and inviting, only steps away from the water and it was easy to arrange transportation to restaurants, attractions, diving spots, etc. Before our arrival, Marcia had sent us detailed information about everything! I really appreciated knowing about the local restaurants, snorkeling spots and some do's and don'ts so that we could respect this beautiful location. We were in the water every day and saw many amazing creatures. Marcia and Dennis were gracious hosts and we really enjoyed their company. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peacefulness of this location was amazing.
Liked least: The local teenage boys would occasionally race their boats in the Bay. Although it was fun to watch, they were very noisy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for the awesome review. You were perfect guests - - we love people who enjoy exploring and get out to actually see the beauty of the water and everything below it. Thank you for being so low maintenance. We hope you will come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
713sunsee...
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at this property in July of 2016. It is a very beautiful property right over the water, We enjoyed kayaking in the mangrove tunnels over to hole in the wall bar and snorkeling right under the house, we saw lion fish and jelly fish right under the dock! There is also a Barracuda that visited us each day in front of the house. The only downfall to this property is that it is quite far from west end and west bay were most of the activities are.. If you are looking for a quite relaxing place this is a great option. Beware it's quite a hike up and down the hill! We ran into a bit of a problem while staying and Marcia put us in touch with Lenny who was our savior staying with us and helping us sort out our problem until the very end! A huge thank you for that and one for him as well!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and your nice comments. Glad you enjoyed the kayaking and snorkeling. It's good that Lenny was able to help you get around that day you left (especially on short notice). I knew you would be comfortable with his driving until things were sorted out. Thank you for leaving the house so clean - appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruita, Colorado
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy reef and water access
Liked least: no AC during the day and over 100 steps up/down just to get to the car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing