We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Daniel Johnson's Monkey and Sloth Hang Out
Open today: 09:00 - 15:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Daniel Johnson's Monkey and Sloth Hang Out
from US$45,00
More Info
from US$100,00
More Info
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
792
78
16
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
78
16
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island tour capuchin monkeys facebook page well taken care booked directly bucket list once in a lifetime animal lovers amazing experience cool experience highlight of our trip chocolate factory take pictures cruise ship rescued animals small group iguana farm
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

A must see while on the island. All ages will enjoy holding the animals and getting up close and personal. The sloth was the best!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank CCBuescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Before coming to the Sloth hang out I was pretty sceptical, but after hearing the backstories of all the animals (Basically they are exotic pets which are no longer wanted or abandoned by their owners but have lived too long in captivity to be returned to the wild) and seeing how caring the staff were I really enjoyed my visit. It was great that the staff never made the animals "perform" they just offered treats and if the animals were interested and wanted to be held then we were able to interact with them. You could see they all had great relationships and new each animal well by both name and nature. And Finally - The Sloths! Holding a sloth absolutely made my day! These peaceful creatures are not caged at all, they just hang out in the trees nearby. When visitors come, they find one of the animals who is awake and active and bring them down for a hold. Awesome experience!
Daniel also runs snorkeling trips from the center which provides a great opportunity to see the reefs and sea life on the other side of the island. We were lucky enough to go out with the man himself, and he was just a really nice, friendly and laid back guy. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HB20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday, not very busy. Perfect time to go because you don’t have to compete with the guest from the cruise ships that past through during the week. The cost was $10 USD, due their banking system they can not accept torn bills. The tour only lasted about 30 minutes. We had a brief wait; they had a small concession and free wi-fi. My friend and I had our own personal tour guide. He was very knowledgeable about the animals, and comical. We interacted with the sloth and we allowed in the money and bird cages. The guide was very hands on and have specific instructions before we interacted with the animals. The slot was the sweetest. It was like holding a newborn baby. The monkeys were active. The guide would place treats on our heads and the monkeys would pounce on you to retrieve the treats and check you out for a few seconds and climb up on their car walks. Such a amazing experience!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank LaTanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Spent the day with our tour guide; Alvin. We easily found him exactly where the instructions indicated just outside of gate at the port. Alvin was great! He customized our private tour throughout the day as he got to know what we wanted to see and do. We toured a small chocolate factory, visited some local shops and an iguana sanctuary and then the highlight of the day was the Monkey and Sloth hangout. We all loved this-- adults and 7 year old alike. You will never want to let go of the sloth! From here, we went snorkeling and continued a tour of the area with Alvin. The van was air conditioned and comfortable and Alvin had us back to the ship in plenty of time. This tour was called Monkey Snorkeling. Very reasonably priced and got us away from the hoards of people we would have been stuck with from the cruise ship in cattle-like style. So glad we arranged this day! A+

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank sharonhS4694MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Visited here during a Island Marketings Wild on Roatan tour. The place is awesome. You can hold a sloth, and hang out with monkeys and Macaws. Highly recommended for all ages!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank kmmh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews