We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely in the rainforest! ”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and the views are great! The river flows right next to the lodge and they offer a bunch of activities for guests to do! We did the jungle survival quest and built a hammock from vines and a shelter hut out of trees.
The staff are super sweet and enjoy talking to the guests which makes the stay pleasant.
If you're looking for an actual jungle experience this is the place for you, there is no AC only fans to keep you cool and bugs everywhere! Do not keep your outside light on at night because bugs will swarm your room. Bug nets surround your bed to help you from getting eaten alive but bugs still manage to get in. Taking a cold shower and going to sleep fast makes the bugs crawling on you at night a little more bearable.
The food is traditional Mayan dishes and if you're a picky eater, bring snacks!! The taste is definitely an acquired one. The water in your room is hot so make sure you give your drinks you buy to the front desk people and they will put them in their fridge for you.
There is so much wildlife here! You will see howler monkeys and rare prettt birds and flowers.
Also if you decide to ever go back you get a discount your next trip!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

The food was delicious, the staff were fantastic, the tours were perfect. I got to go on one-on-one tours, and had a truly rewarding experience. I can't stop raving about this beautiful lodge and the fantastic people I met. The lodge also offers daily yoga and massage, and it's fantastic. I can't wait to come back, and I'll be bringing my friends and family this time around.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bomsibsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Just got home last night. The Cotton Tree Lodge is a nice property. It's built next to the river and is beautiful. There is no air conditioning on the property, so a breeze is very important. We had fans, so we didn't melt. The food was good, the beds were adequate. I don't think I would go there again, because I don't typically repeat vacations. There is a lot to do in the area and the Mayan people are very nice. Everyone speaks English.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bej6332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This was a nice oasis by the Mojo River and in the jungle. The lodge itself was a nice place for our group of 12 to gather at night. The local guides taught us a lot about Mayan culture and we went on an excellent jungle survival hike. The howler monkeys woke me at 4 am each morning. Very cool sounds to hear at night. I missed the sound after we left.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Five wonderful days were spent virtually off the grid. We were treated like family by the staff. The food was great. The accommodations were interestingly wonderful. Interesting excursions available. Valerie and the group were very personable. What was booked as a questionable trip to an Eco Village in the Rain Forest turned out to be a vacation of a life time.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
14.6 km away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
35.9 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
270 reviews
10.2 km away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
7.9 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
12.8 km away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: R3 156 - R4 796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing