We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not for everybody, but we loved it”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This a fabulous jungle lodge on the Moho River. Beautiful trees and plantings and a beautiful river that you can swim in. We are birders and went primarily for that . Birding is fabulous on the property, and of course you can hire guides and go elsewhere. Their primary birding guide, Agapieto Pop is EXTRAORDINARILY good, in addition to being a guy that it's fun to spend the day with. The lodging is funky and well done--everything hand made and the place is quite beautiful. All the people at the place are friendly, competent and fun. We stayed a week and had a great time.

Why do I say "Maybe not for everybody"? The place isn't slick. No golf course, swimming pool etc. And you are pretty cut off electronically, even if you buy into there wifi--it's a minimal connection. We didn't miss the electronics

Room Tip: There are 3 or 4 cottages with balconies that look out on the river. We think that is a big plus an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Capnbob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

My husband and I visited 3 different resorts during our one week trip to Belize and staying at Cotton Tree was by far our favorite experience. Beautiful, peaceful, serene. Loved every minute of it.....from yoga to start the day to falling asleep listening to the howler monkeys. We had two sleeping experiences on the cabana boat (very romantic) and in one of the private cabanas. Was very comfortable in both....no bugs, cool enough that we didn't need any fans. Food was unbelievably good.....this is where you want to experience organic, authentic Belizean cusine. Not only did we get to experience the ecological aspects of the jungle, we got to learn so much about the Garafino and Mayan cultures. The lodge staff had a Garfino drumming and dancing demonstration that all of the guests participated in learning. You can also learn about natural medicine, the process of making chocolate from cacao beans, survival skills, organic farming and much more. Cotton Tree is the place to experience all different types of tours - waterfalls, cave tubing, zip lining, mayan ruins and much more. We were only there a short time and did the Blue Creek Cave tour which is a must do for the adventurous souls. Hiking, rock and waterfall climbing and swimming through a long cave was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I had a great time at the Cotton tree Lodge. All the personal and guides were excellent. Agapito went out of his way to make all my tours so much fun. My friend was sick for 2 days and the staff went out of there way to help her.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 406val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Cotton Tree Lodge is truly a wonderfully unique experience that offers the opportunity explore the nearby exotic jungles, swim and kayak in the pristine Moho River, eat tasty cuisine from their sustainable organic garden, enjoy the peacefulness of disconnecting from busy atmospheres, and so much more. The staff at this eco-resort (Valerie - manager, Armando - gardener, etc) will strive towards providing the best venue for their guests to have an amazing experience. In addition, Cotton Tree Lodge provides training, jobs and careers for individuals in the nearby villages which allows enhanced leadership in these communities and the ability to further develop their skills and talents. Cotton Tree Lodge is a premiere example of an eco-friendly resort that specializes in sustainability in terms of food, employment, and community growth! Hands down, I would recommended this location to anyone looking for an adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my couple for one week at the Cotton Tree Lodge and the place is great. As it is a sustainable business they are keen on accepting woofers(volunteers) to work helping out with the farming and the gardens. The staff and management were very helpful at every moment and they made me feel like a family. We learned a lot while working in the gardens and it has been a lovely experience to do. The lodges are beautiful and well equipped too. Management organises routes in the joungle guided by local experts and they offer adventure trips and excursions. There are also kayaks and bicycles for the guests available so you can go for a ride to the local villages or have a paddle in the beautiful Moho river. moreover is nice to have a walk in the organic garden that supplies the kitchen and restaurant and learn about local plants.On the top of that there is a service of massage therapy and spa and the Lodge offer yoga lessons in the morning. Food has been outstanding and I have enjoyed a lot the stay. I wish all the team of the Cotton Tree Lodge great success in the future and thank you for making of this experience an unforgettable one.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Loreto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
14.6 km away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
35.9 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
270 reviews
10.2 km away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
7.9 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
12.8 km away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: R3 066 - R4 753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing