We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time ever.”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I had a great time at the Cotton tree Lodge. All the personal and guides were excellent. Agapito went out of his way to make all my tours so much fun. My friend was sick for 2 days and the staff went out of there way to help her.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 406val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016

Cotton Tree Lodge is truly a wonderfully unique experience that offers the opportunity explore the nearby exotic jungles, swim and kayak in the pristine Moho River, eat tasty cuisine from their sustainable organic garden, enjoy the peacefulness of disconnecting from busy atmospheres, and so much more. The staff at this eco-resort (Valerie - manager, Armando - gardener, etc) will strive towards providing the best venue for their guests to have an amazing experience. In addition, Cotton Tree Lodge provides training, jobs and careers for individuals in the nearby villages which allows enhanced leadership in these communities and the ability to further develop their skills and talents. Cotton Tree Lodge is a premiere example of an eco-friendly resort that specializes in sustainability in terms of food, employment, and community growth! Hands down, I would recommended this location to anyone looking for an adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my couple for one week at the Cotton Tree Lodge and the place is great. As it is a sustainable business they are keen on accepting woofers(volunteers) to work helping out with the farming and the gardens. The staff and management were very helpful at every moment and they made me feel like a family. We learned a lot while working in the gardens and it has been a lovely experience to do. The lodges are beautiful and well equipped too. Management organises routes in the joungle guided by local experts and they offer adventure trips and excursions. There are also kayaks and bicycles for the guests available so you can go for a ride to the local villages or have a paddle in the beautiful Moho river. moreover is nice to have a walk in the organic garden that supplies the kitchen and restaurant and learn about local plants.On the top of that there is a service of massage therapy and spa and the Lodge offer yoga lessons in the morning. Food has been outstanding and I have enjoyed a lot the stay. I wish all the team of the Cotton Tree Lodge great success in the future and thank you for making of this experience an unforgettable one.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Loreto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Cotton Tree Lodge is a quite pricey location that promises 'jungle luxury', but definitely doesn't deliver. We got the all inclusive package, only to find out it didn't include much at all. To reach the Lodge requires a 45 minute drive over the worst roads known to man. And all excursions have this travel or longer. The free wifi is checking of email only! Limited bandwidth prevents any work or contact back home. The food was mediocre at best--with no local options or seafood. After dinner there is NOTHING to do--and you feel like the staff is waiting for you to go to bed. We left after doing an excursion to "working" chocolate farm. It turned out to be a 2 hour hike while receiving the farmer's born again testimony and being told a lot of inaccuracies about cacao trees. The staff was sweet and helpful but we all agree with Caitrin C (see earlier review) that Valerie was unpleasant and passive aggressive. I had a very good massage with Parama. I needed it after those roads!!!! We bought a 5 day package and left after 2 days. Before you go---be VERY aware of the experience that awaits you.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chriscrowell, Owner at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016


As 98% of the testimonials say, Cotton Tree Lodge is a great experience! In response to this review... Cotton Tree Lodge is a unique experience that provides a Eco Adventure. The remoteness of the lodge (yes its a trek over a bumpy road to get here ) is part of the charm in experiencing the rain forest. Our All inclusive rate includes (accommodations, 3 meals daily, local transportation, off site tours daily and all on the grounds activities such as garden tours, hiking trails, and kayaking), For most of our guests what we offer usually exceeds their expectations.The wyfi is available for checking email. Evenings are quiet and allow guests the chance to experience the nocturnal beauty of nature in the jungle. Our restaurant strives to provide the best quality "Farm to Table" meals daily. Fresh local options are the usual fare.
Eladio Pops Cacoa farm tour is one of the favorites excursions of our guests and provides a real life cultural experience and insight into a local farmers life.
Our Manager Ms Valerie is professional and works hard to provide the best possible experience for our guests...most say they are delighted with her and feel very cared for.
We offer a variety of wellness yoga/massage options at our on site spa. Luxury is not our hallmark, but certainly comfort is provided for all our guests in all that we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

If your an adventurous person then this is the place for you! My wife and I had are wedding here and it was PERFECT! Mainly because we didn't want the usual church or beach wedding, and wanted something more of our character. This blew all of my expectations! First off you this wedding was about the quarter of the price of what it would have cost in the states. The staff was exellent and by the end of the trip I considered them all friends. Marcel, the chef, makes a lot of very good meals from there organic garden and local meats that reflect the local culture. The yoga instructor/ masseuse, Parama, does such a great job every morning in her yoga class and completely sets the mood for the setting. I'm am also convinced she may be a little psychic, even though she doesn't claim to be, and I wasn't the only one. There was several times in yoga she would say things that corresponded with what I was thinking exactly when I thought it along with giving me a slight lower back massage right when I was thinking it was getting tight, among other things. Valerie does such a good job managing and making sure your taken care of all of the time, Algapito and Domingo do a fantastic job on all the tours (and they're real adventures!), Alfredo and Sandy will make sure you always have your drinks and food, Maria does all the great baking. I was here for 4 days and know all these people by name only because they're all so fantastic. Not only do I think this highly of this place, but since it is in the middle of no where there isn't many jobs and they will appreciate your business more then any place you've ever been. If you have any concerns about this place take the risk, you won't forget it!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank codyy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
14,6 km away
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
36 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
37,2 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34,8 km away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
128 reviews
10,2 km away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
381 reviews
7,9 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: R673 - R2 594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing