We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickatee Cottages(Punta Gorda)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beya Suites(Punta Gorda)
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Piece of Ground(Punta Gorda)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral House(Punta Gorda)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Front Inn(Punta Gorda)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahogany Villas(Forest Home)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort(Punta Gorda)
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiskadee Lodge(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
224
45
16
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
45
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope swingmoho riverblue creek cavecacao farmmayan ruinshowler monkeysorganic gardenmosquito nettingcocoa beansjungle experiencejungle housejungle survivalserved family stylelearned howthere is no air conditioningmassage therapyfood restrictions
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We came to the lodge at the end of April into the beginning of May. The resort is a very secluded and tucked next to a beautiful, lazy river. The staff was very friendly, and they were easily accessible if we needed something such as a fresh coconut during an early morning walk. We loved the fact that there was an organic farm with fresh vegetables on the resort along with animal farm with horses. Most of the popular excursions, such as the Blue Cave, are physically demanding but those that venture on them are assured to come away with great photos/videos and awesome stories. The food is good, but it would have been nicer to have a selection, even if there was only two or three choices. The chef makes a one meal for everyone, and there is no menu. We got a massage from Parama, and we highly recommend her. It was nice to come back from the daily excursions and take a dip in the river to cap off a good day with a little relaxation. Overall, it was a great getaway and highly recommended for those active travelers looking for some jungle adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

I'm giving this resort the highest rating 5/5 you can on here. This is without a doubt the best place to stay in Belize to have access to the natural beauty this county has to offer. Access to offshore fishing, fresh water fishing, sightseeing the Mayan ruins, caving, great food, and an incredibly peaceful and beautiful setting...this is the best choice for vacationers in Belize.
The main lodge building where you enjoy chef-prepared meals is built in the Mayan style with a 30 ft high ceiling and thatched bay leaf roof. There is also an accredited and awesome massage therapist and yoga teacher on site. The staff is friendly and inviting and you meet the most interesting people here. Recommended very highly.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was great from office manager Valerie to the cooks, housekeeping and tour guides Nate & Pop. We were there with two other couples in 5 days.The grounds were pretty. Hearing the howler monkeys roar for the first time was a little unsettling but we got use to it. Keep in mind this is an eco lodge. Wildlife we saw were iguanas, geckos, birds, monkeys, some bugs. There's even a lodge cat and dog, who are both super freindly. You will be surrounded by many sounds of nature. Sunrise is about 4:30am, sunset is about 6:00pm. For a fee WiFi is available in the main lodge for checking/sending emails only. The 11 cabanas are screened in and have shutters on most sides. The cabanas and main lodge both have electricity. There is no air conditioning, only fans. Ice melts in 10 seconds. Very warm, in the 90s everyday of our stay. Occasional power outages lasted no more than 15 minutes. It is pitch black outside at night, only solar lights along the walkway. Bring flashlight, snacks, insect repellent with deet, sunscreen, aloe vera in case of sunburn. I had about 6 mosquito bites in 5 days on the grounds, not bad. There is a river to cool off. All meals are prepared onsite and no other places to eat within miles. The food was good and they work hard to accomadate dietary restrictions. Meals are served during set times each day. Our favorite desserts were the carrot cake and banana cake. Very relaxing atmosphere. Do not hesitate to contact the lodge with any questions or concerns. They are extremely helpful in addressing your needs. All in all we enjoyed our stay. I'm so happy for the experience.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lakisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We had a great experience at Cotton Tree. The staff were all very friendly and we felt very well taken care of here. It is so relaxing right on the river and we felt like we were really getting to experience Belize by being at this location. Our only disappointment was staying just 3 nights. We did two tours while we were here: Nim Li Punit - Mayan Ruins adventure and Blue Creek Wet Cave adventure. Our guide was fantastic for Nim Li Punit and had even worked on some of the excavations that were done there! The tube ride after lunch was very refreshing after sweating a lot at the ruins. Blue Creek was a lot of fun, but a little more difficult for a couple of the older travellers who joined us for this tour as there was a bit of a hike to get up there (in your bathing suit and watershoes).

Room Tip: Jungle Cabana would be a challenging walk in the dark
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nadamson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We stayed overnight at the Cotton Tree. To get a good experience from the lodge, I think the traveler should spend at least three, or more, days. It strikes me as a place you stay and enjoy the amenities and activities, and there are many to choose from. All of the activities cost extra so if you just want an overnight stay, like us, it can be done with little frills.

The lodge is located quite a distance from the main road off a typical dirt road and isn't the kind of place you will want to come and go from daily. Once you are there, you will want to say put until you leave. The lodge is self-contained and power is provided by an onsite generator.

There are individual thatched casitas scattered around the property and one unit with four units. We stayed in one of these four units as we were only staying overnight. Our room was open-air with full screens and mosquito netting for each bed. THERE WAS NO AIR-CONDITIONING. A ceiling fan has been provided over each bed. Unfortunately, the fan does little good with the nets drawn. I moved my net aside and got some benefit from the fan. An air-conditioned room would have been nice as it was a hot and sticky night...not very comfortable for us even following a shower.

The main lodge is a large, thatched structure and this is where the meals are served. The meals were good and the staff friendly and accommodating. We watched birds shortly after daybreak from the boat dock. Howler monkeys sounded off in several directions in the morning. Orchids abound on the grounds and the surrounding area.

We enjoyed our stay and the staff but the lack of air-conditioning was a killer. The wifi cost extra and only worked in the main lodge. A hound dog is resident on the property and seems to bark for long periods of time during the night for little to no reason. The massive, onsite cotton tree that the lodge is named after is
impressive!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chriscrowell, Owner at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thanks for your comments and feedback! Cotton Tree Lodge has much to offer and most people do opt for a 3-5 night stay so they can enjoy the beauty and seclusion of the Jungle along the river. We do offer a wide rang of tours offsite both adventurous and cultural. Sometimes the heat of the tropics is a bit uncomfortable and although air conditioning would be nice we have opted to keep with our low impact policy as an eco lodge . The ceiling and stand up fans usually are more than sufficient to keep guests cool during the hottest times of the year. We are working to upgrade our wyfi system but to date have been limited by the location of the lodge , poor reception and high cost of service. Tucker our resident watch dog was most likely doing his job, he usually only barks when an jungle animal has wondered onto the property.
Yes the Cotton Tree is an impressive sight ...hence why we named the lodge after this mighty Giant. Hope to see you here again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews