We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Unplug and Enjoy the Jungle of Belize”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We visited in early June 2016 during the slow season. We were upgraded to the cabana right along the river. The cabanas were rustic, maya insprired huts with thatched roofs. Being Belize, it rained almost every night, a beautiful sound to sleep to. They are spacious inside and out, even chairs and 2 hammock on the front porch for lazy days. No A/C in the well screened huts, but plenty of fans to keep you cool all night. We enjoyed the fresh cooked breakfast every morning, and the watermelon juice (which was so good). We hiked and explored southern Belize most days, but we did get back early one day to enjoy supper. It was a awesome 4 course meal prepared by the onsite chef. The 5.7 mile road into CTL is quite bumpy, it is definately a Jeep road. We also did the Blue Creek Cave swim with Pop, that was a unique and fun adventure. Val is a ray of sunshine at the front desk and fulfilled our every need.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2016

We came to the lodge at the end of April into the beginning of May. The resort is a very secluded and tucked next to a beautiful, lazy river. The staff was very friendly, and they were easily accessible if we needed something such as a fresh coconut during an early morning walk. We loved the fact that there was an organic farm with fresh vegetables on the resort along with animal farm with horses. Most of the popular excursions, such as the Blue Cave, are physically demanding but those that venture on them are assured to come away with great photos/videos and awesome stories. The food is good, but it would have been nicer to have a selection, even if there was only two or three choices. The chef makes a one meal for everyone, and there is no menu. We got a massage from Parama, and we highly recommend her. It was nice to come back from the daily excursions and take a dip in the river to cap off a good day with a little relaxation. Overall, it was a great getaway and highly recommended for those active travelers looking for some jungle adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

I'm giving this resort the highest rating 5/5 you can on here. This is without a doubt the best place to stay in Belize to have access to the natural beauty this county has to offer. Access to offshore fishing, fresh water fishing, sightseeing the Mayan ruins, caving, great food, and an incredibly peaceful and beautiful setting...this is the best choice for vacationers in Belize.
The main lodge building where you enjoy chef-prepared meals is built in the Mayan style with a 30 ft high ceiling and thatched bay leaf roof. There is also an accredited and awesome massage therapist and yoga teacher on site. The staff is friendly and inviting and you meet the most interesting people here. Recommended very highly.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was great from office manager Valerie to the cooks, housekeeping and tour guides Nate & Pop. We were there with two other couples in 5 days.The grounds were pretty. Hearing the howler monkeys roar for the first time was a little unsettling but we got use to it. Keep in mind this is an eco lodge. Wildlife we saw were iguanas, geckos, birds, monkeys, some bugs. There's even a lodge cat and dog, who are both super freindly. You will be surrounded by many sounds of nature. Sunrise is about 4:30am, sunset is about 6:00pm. For a fee WiFi is available in the main lodge for checking/sending emails only. The 11 cabanas are screened in and have shutters on most sides. The cabanas and main lodge both have electricity. There is no air conditioning, only fans. Ice melts in 10 seconds. Very warm, in the 90s everyday of our stay. Occasional power outages lasted no more than 15 minutes. It is pitch black outside at night, only solar lights along the walkway. Bring flashlight, snacks, insect repellent with deet, sunscreen, aloe vera in case of sunburn. I had about 6 mosquito bites in 5 days on the grounds, not bad. There is a river to cool off. All meals are prepared onsite and no other places to eat within miles. The food was good and they work hard to accomadate dietary restrictions. Meals are served during set times each day. Our favorite desserts were the carrot cake and banana cake. Very relaxing atmosphere. Do not hesitate to contact the lodge with any questions or concerns. They are extremely helpful in addressing your needs. All in all we enjoyed our stay. I'm so happy for the experience.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lakisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We had a great experience at Cotton Tree. The staff were all very friendly and we felt very well taken care of here. It is so relaxing right on the river and we felt like we were really getting to experience Belize by being at this location. Our only disappointment was staying just 3 nights. We did two tours while we were here: Nim Li Punit - Mayan Ruins adventure and Blue Creek Wet Cave adventure. Our guide was fantastic for Nim Li Punit and had even worked on some of the excavations that were done there! The tube ride after lunch was very refreshing after sweating a lot at the ruins. Blue Creek was a lot of fun, but a little more difficult for a couple of the older travellers who joined us for this tour as there was a bit of a hike to get up there (in your bathing suit and watershoes).

Room Tip: Jungle Cabana would be a challenging walk in the dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nadamson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
37,2 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
14,6 km away
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
34,8 km away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
35,9 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
7,9 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: R665 - R2 563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing