We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lori K
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We rented this house and the one next door. We had a wonderful time, the staff was so friendly and helpful! Beautiful homes and view. Set aside from all the touristy areas, but close enough to get to where we wanted.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool and outside kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty E
Henrietta, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful Haven”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our first stay at the Groovy and it exceeded our expectations beyond measure. I, personally, didn't leave the house and all the luxurious amenities there, however, my family ventured out to the waterfalls, the Bacawana zip-lining course, and deep-sea fishing expedition and had a blast. It was the slow season for most of the restaurants, so we had no problem finding several restaurants with no waiting or the need for reservations on nights Domingo did not FEED us until we popped! Housekeeping kept up with our party of 10 with no problem - so kudos to Mabel & Brenda! Can't wait for our return trip - it's already booked for 2016!!!! P.S. - for anyone allergic to sand flies, the pharmacy in Placencia had a native remedy and a natural repellent that worked better than OFF w/ DEET, Benadryl ointment, or Calagel. I was the only one who got bit the whole time, hence I stayed in the pool instead of opting for the jungle!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daktex200...
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most relaxing vacation ever!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed at the Groovy Gecko in August and it was amazing. The staff is so accommodating, the food is the best and Placencia has so much to offer. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Belize!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Groovy Gecko is a very cool spot for a very relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our party stayed here for two nights last week and we were blown away by the attention to detail and quality of this magnificent villa. The caretaker couple are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The kitchen is obviously used by a real chef because the cookware and serveware is really good, commercial quality and there's everything you could possibly need and then some. We cooked on the Green Egg one night which was fun. There is air conditioning in all the rooms with doors (all bedrooms, bathrooms and the upper living area) and it is ICY cold and very, very quiet. The mattresses are firm and super comfy. Security is top notch with a keypad for entry. The pool is perfect and we used the kayaks briefly. Only surprise was when a small but cheeky dog slipped through the wrought iron back door and decided to rummage through the trash bin in the middle of the night. We chased him off. Would stay in this property or one on either side again in a heartbeat. Very, very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The icy cold air conditioned bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N N
Griswold, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Groovy, Grand, Great and Gorgeous”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a perfect week we had at the Gecko. We had a party of 8 Adults and this property was a perfect fit for us. We had plenty of room to gather for fun and with separate bedrooms, each with TV and showers we could also have privacy. The pool, beach and all the amenities that go along with the property were exactly what we needed for a week of relaxation. The staff was superb and went above and beyond to make everything a pleasant stay. From the Rum punch that greeted us to the wonderful meals that they prepared for us, we did not lack in food and fun. The golf cart was a great addition for our trips to town. We loved our place so much that we didn’t do any outside excursions but for sure we will be visiting again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing