We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light lunch ”
Review of Wet Lizard

Wet Lizard
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Convenient location on the pier of the Belize cruise ship port. Downstairs offers great cocktails and light snacks, the upstairs is a full restaurant offering the best of Belizean cuisine. Conch, shrimp, fresh fish. Everything is made fresh daily. A great place to spend the day, to relax, or get up dance and party with us.
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

So we stopped In to have a light lunch after shopping. I ordered the jerk pork tacos my husband got a Belize food sampler. The food was good. The meat pies are okay (Jamaica has the best by far). The atmosphere was good and fun. The food wasn’t that bad in price for being right in the cruise terminal. Would love to go st night for s more party atmosphere lol

Thank cassie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llb1212, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

HI Cassie:
Thanks for stopping by and enjoying your time at The Wet Lizard.
If you make it back to Belize we hope you visit again.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Nice food and cold drinks -- good place to hang after doing your "cruise port shopping" and kicking back before returning to the ship!!

Thank AgentSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llb1212, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Glad you enjoyed hanging out with us. Kick back relax, have a cold drink and enjoy the music. Hope the shopping was successful and see you again.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We stopped here on our way back to the cruise ship. I wanted to have authentic Belizian food (red beans and rice and plantains). I was disappointed to discover that they had run out of plantains! The service was average but being on the waterfront was great. For a tourist-type restaurant I would recommend this. The pina colada was great, even better than what I got on board the cruise ship.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llb1212, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Hi Beth:
Sorry we ran out of plantains. They are very popular and some days hard to keep up with the demand. We definitely take pride in our pina coladas, made fresh, no mix. Hope you come back on your next trip to Belize. I will be sure they step up on the service.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I stopped here to grab a quick bite for lunch before returning to the cruise ship. Food was a bit overpriced for the quantity and quality. I had coconut shrimp. It was decent. Had to ask multiple times for different things...ketchup, Jezebel sauce, napkins, etc. nothing to write home about. But the decor is great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuscaloosapoliceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llb1212, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

So sorry you were disappointed. Your server should be on top of making sure you have everything you need. I will talk with them about that. We take pride in our food quality and our prices which are comparable to any restaurant in Belize. Hope you try us again if your back in Belize and will enjoy your next experience.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Stopped for a quick break after a DI employee gave us the recommendation. Local beer was good, and we splurged for conch fritters (though we thought they were a tad too pricey). They were very good even with the spicy dipping sauce. Sat by the water, pretty view, fun decor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cathyl546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wet Lizard also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Wet Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing