We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best spot on the Island”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Our updated deck having added additional sunbathing wings and a
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chris a
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best spot on the Island”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Can't say enough about this place, it's clean and has a great location. The staff is wonderful, especially Don who does maintenance, he helped us have a great vacation answering any questions we had and helping us any way he could. The highlight of my trip was having Don teach me how to use a cast net off the dock, in a short while I was catching fish and sting rays. I left my net there and Don said he would take care of it and store it for me until I come back next year. If you would like to learn how to use a cast net just ask Don, and tell him Chris said it's ok to use it. Also Michael the Manager was very accommodating and always had a smile on his face. This is my 3rd time back to this place and it gets better every year! I highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babs0859
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 9 nights at Sandy's Secret along with my sister and brother-in-law. We were so impressed when we first walked it - it looked exactly like the pictures we had been watching for months. From the time we landed in Belize City and were picked up and delivered by Luis from San Pedro Ferry to the docks to being met by a local taxi driver at Caye Caulker we were treated like royalty. Cici met us at the office and led us down the sandy path to our home away from home. Everything we asked for was waiting for us - beer, fruit and snacks. Michael and Cici are the perfect caretakers - very attentive and helpful. Never did we get the sense we were interrupting or being a bother. One of the maintenance workers - Victor - checked in with us once in a while and even did a beer run for us. No problem!! Anytime.
We loved the dock for morning coffee and the pier for suntanning and our own personal snorkelling site. What a great way to become accustomed to the water for those of us that are not strong swimmers. The bedrooms were very comfortable with lovely bedding and A/C in each room with controls. The pool on the back side was a bit chilly but it was nice for a quick dip at the end of a hot day. We Canadians are used to warm water showers and were a bit dismayed at the beginning with the cold showers but once we mentioned it to Michael he adjusted the water heaters and it was much better after that. We were at the end of the line and understood perfectly that it takes a long time for the water to get there. One suggestion for the bathrooms would be to add some towel holders or hooks for hand towels and face cloths. The towels were very soft and fluffy and there were more than enough for the four of us. The kitchen was more than adequate for our needs - one suggestion we had was to have extra tea towels and dish clothes on hand as well as a few more containers with lids for storing left overs. All we had to do was ask for more garbage bags or toilet paper and it was delivered promptly. The chairs scrape quite loudly on the tile floors and they did put some felt on the bottoms but something more permanent and adequate might be in order. Awesome customer service.
We loved the location being right on the ocean front. Yes it was quite a stroll to the split but we were able to rent a golf cart. I have some hip / flexibility issues and it was very much appreciated to be able to ride when needed. The property is located close to the airstrip and for some the noise may be troublesome but we found it rather unique to sit on the pier and watch the planes coming an going.
We went on an afternoon snorkelling excursion with Carlos Tours and it was fantastic. A very cool windy day but we sure had fun. Michael and Cici helped us with reservations for a trip to the Lamanai ruins with Major Tom. Their help was very much appreciated and we had an awesome day.
We would definitely recommend Sandy's Secret to our family and friends. We will return one day!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and close proximity to the water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I couldn't think of a better way to experience Caye Caulker”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of spending a week at Sandy's Secret, and it was as close to perfect as you can get. Michael, the property manager met us at the airstrip for the short ride over to the property. Michael, Vic and the entire staff were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to ensure we had the best experience. The property was clean, comfortable and spacious, with a fantastic porch with hammocks and just steps away from the long dock into the clear waters.

We found the location to be perfect, with just a short bike ride into town for meals and shopping. Fishing and swimming off the private dock were great, and we were able to catch meals and grill them up right on the property. AC functioned perfectly, and on cool nights, the windows were in a great position to open up the house and catch the ocean breeze. Beds and furniture were comfortable, and water pressure was adequate for the stay. Kitchen had adequate supplies to cook our own meals, although we would have liked to see a filet knife in the supplies.

Overall, the stay was flawless. A great property and great people. I can't wait to get back and visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly staff, amazing views, super comfortable
Liked least: I had to return home. Seriously, can't think of anything that could have been better.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia353
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Spot on Caye Caulker”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful rental for Caye Caulker vacation! The porch was perfect for morning coffee and evening drinks. The dock was perfect for star glazing at night with both shade and sun for day visits. A nice walk on the beach path put us in the middle of town for dinner. The bar across the street was perfect for music, bird watching, and amazing mango margaritas. A great vacation rental!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: porch view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky802
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing, a holiday of a lifetime - highly recommended!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I chose to get married on Caye Caulker and rented these three properties: Laura's Lookout, Sandy's Secret and Barbara's Beach House for ourselves and our family (14 of us) for the week of the wedding. We couldn't have been happier with our decision! This place is amazing!! We all shared the pool, beach area and beautiful pier and loved every minute of it. We also rented bikes and a golf cart through the property and used these to explore the island at our leisure. Everything was clean, built to a high modern standard and well stocked within the house. Plus we were lucky enough to have our wedding ceremony on the peaceful and well maintained beach area in front of the houses and organise a wedding BBQ around the pool. We would love to say a massive thank you to Tim, Michael Victor and the rest of the team for making our stay so wonderful. We would recommend a family holiday here to anyone who wants to escape from everything, visit unspoilt and relaxing Caye Caulker, enjoy great Belizean food, snorkel and generally soak in the sun and relax. Plus if you want somewhere for a small relaxed wedding location, where nothing is too much trouble, this is the place! Our wedding was planned with Signature Marketing and Events: http://www.signaturebelize.com/ where Rachael Roe made all of our wedding dreams come true.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. This place was a true gem.
Liked least: The only thing that could perhaps make it even better is if daily cleaning was included or organised on check-in as required. We paid for this separately and were very pleased we did as the ladies always did a great job.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing