We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Experience of a Lifetime!

We cannot speak highly enough about Mundo Maya tours. Jose was incredibly knowledgeable and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Debra B
,
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Everything is awesome!

You can’t go wrong with Mundo Maya! We were recommended by a friend and we are so thankful! We... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
448britnid
via mobile
Read all 99 reviews
  
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
96
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart zip lining belize city cave tubing sailboat tour memorable tour personal tour guide met jose snorkeling options belizean breakfast coming down ambergris caye these guys sailing snorkeling feel like family minute flight excellent care
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

My two companions and I decided on Mundo Maya after speaking with Jose Quiroz at the company's stall on Front Street in San Pedro. We had really wanted to go Cave Tubing but the weather would not cooperate. So, after he drove twice to our rental to speak with us about a trip, we decided to hire Jose and Mundo Maya to travel to Xunantanich and the Belize Zoo. (We did not have a phone to arrange the trip, so Jose drove to us). Jose worked hard for us to put together our trip. On the day of the trip, he picked us up at 6 a.m., provided breakfast for us, and drove us to the boat to get to Belize City, where we met our incredible guide, Joel. We opted for the Ferry back to BC rather than pay $40 more each to fly back to BC. (We are retired with limited incomes).

With just the three of us, we had our own private tour. From BC we traveled west to Xunantanich with this very knowledgeable man. Along the way, he spoke with us about the area we were traveling through, the history of Belize, the history of the Maya Civilization and so much more, always answering all our questions. Joel is very well spoken and speaks English fluently. He was very kind and patient with us, three older women, (67, 70, 80). He went over and above, providing a service which is unparalleled in my experience. Had it not been for his kindness, patience and the confidence he exuded, we three know that we would not have made it to the top of El Castillo, and back down again. He offered a helping hand to get us through the rough spots and intuitively knew when we needed help. Because of high water, he could not drive to the parking lot, so we walked to the site with Joel taking caution with us all the way. He then devised a very unusual way of getting us back to the river ferry, much fun. From Xunantanich, we travelled to the Belize Zoo, where we saw many indigenous animals.

We would highly recommend Mundo Maya, Jose Quiroz and Joel Moh, for any Belize adventure. In the very affordable and more than fair price for the trip; a hot, delicious lunch was provided. From our rental and back home again, it was an all-inclusive trip including taxi service, so unless we purchased gifts, there were no other out-of-pocket expenses.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank carol404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

After reviewing multiple tour options and emailing a few people, we decided on Mundo Maya.

The response time on the emails and the kindness in the emails were fantastic. I can't tell you enough that the service you will get here is genuine and kind. Not to mention, this as literally a Private Tour... just the two of us in our group with our own personal tour guide and transportation.

This may not be the cheapest tour you can get, but it's because it's truly all-inclusive and you will not have any other out of pocket expense.

Lets start with Gerson... we ended up getting a bit of a discount to rent a golf cart, and they came and met us at our location to take us back into town. During the trip, Gerson showed us the street signs and the lay of San Pedro...while it's not the most complicated, it's definitely a little intimidating and he was so kind to show us around...the price on the cart was unbeatable and we were happy to have it for a couple of days.

The day of the trip, we met back at Mundo Maya in San Pedro, early... where Gerson took us to get breakfast and then dropped us off at the airport to fly back into Belize mainland where we met Joel. You have the option to fly or ferry which will give you flexibility on cost. I'm terrible when it comes to flights, and I can tell you that the little island hopper is not that bad.

Joel is the nicest, most informative, hard working guy that we have ever met. He genuinely knows his stuff.

It was a bit of a drive to get out to the cave tubing... when you get there, you pick up your equipment and carry it to the mouth of the cave. Along the tour, Joel stopped to teach us everything he could about the local plants, animals, infected (thank Goodness the spider was not home) and even carried all three of our tubes at one point.

The cave was really cool, but be prepared to basically go really slow while your guide pulls you along. I felt really bad about that part. The caves themselves were cool, but I think I would have opted for the other site. You have a vest, head lamp and the water was relatively cool so we kept our clothes on. Afterwards, you keep going for a little bit further into the jungle for more amazing views.

After that, we still weren't hungry, so we opted to go ahead and go to Xunantanich. We went during a time that the water was high, so we could not drive across the river. We ended up riding the ferry and hiking up the hill to the site. It was really cool and there were not a lot of people there... probably because the hike was fairly strenuous, so I'm sure that kept a lot of people out.

Joel knew everything that there was to know about the Mayans and just continued to keep us engaged and informed. The views were absolutely stunning and it made me really want to know more about the people.

Anytime there was a good photo opportunity, Joel would let us get together and take the pictures for us. He really just knew everything about everything... pointed out the country flower, showed us a 'dentist tree', FOUND MONKEYS!

After we were done with the tour, we went to a local restaurant, had a local fare and even tried some interesting drinks. The lunch place was amazing.

Don't forget your tips... these guys deserve them.

I cannot imagine how our trip would have turned out if we had chosen any other tour company. Huge thank you to Mundo Maya for just being honest, hard working, caring, friendly, knowledgable, safe and all of the other good things.

We'll be back in touch on our return to Belize.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank CharleeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We were staying on Ambergris Caye and decided to take a day trip to the mainland. We did the Xuantunich, cave tubing and Belize zoo. This is a lot for one day but we wanted to do it all. If you have time, do several of the stops so you can have adequate time to enjoy each site, however, you will have to pay for several days of round trip airline tickets if you add additional day trips. They pick you up from your resort, feed you breakfast, put you on your flight to Belize City where you are met by your guide for the day. We had a small group of 6 which I love. We were fed lunch and off to our next adventure, cave tubing. Since we were under time constraints we did the 2 hour tour but you can opt for Cave 4 which starts a lot further in the jungle. Our final stop was the Belize Zoo where you do have to pay the $15 entrance fee yourself. We were put back on our return home plane and then met at the San Pedro airport for a ride back to our resort.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Beanctr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Mundo Maya was great to work with throughout, from chatting on-line to the final drop off. We did the Triple Jungle: Hotel pickup, local breakfast, plane flight, and guided day to the Mayan ruins, lunch, zip lines, and cave tubing.
Gerson made our start on Ambergris smooth and easy. Our guide, Joel, was incredible. Friendly, incredibly knowledgeable, professional and really fun. It's a long day and totally worth it.
Joel taught us about the history, culture, geography, rainforest, flora, fauna, geology - anything you could think of, all with a smile and enthusiasm.
Xunantunich was incredible. Zip lining was fun and beautiful. Cave tubing WAY exceeded our expectations.

Date of experience: December 2017
5  Thank spopdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

If you’ve ever wanted to explore the jungle then Mundo Maya is the tour company for you!
Joel was super knowledgeable and shared interesting facts about the terrain as well as the region’s history. He painted a vivid picture of life at the ruins and in the jungle that allowed us to immerse ourselves in the experience!
We were encouraged to ask questions during the ride which made for a fun and engaging road trip.
The zip lining was my favorite, it’s perfect for adrenaline junkies, and the guide even did tandem rides with nervous kiddies.
Cave tubing was surreal and relaxing...
Bring a waterproof flashlight for awesome pics!
Lunch and Rum punch were equally amazing...
Overall, our experience was door to door Service from San Pedro at an affordable price!
We plan to book another excursion before we leave...

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Santiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews