We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shell-Ease by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pedro's Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Seas Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Rio(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$242
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
27
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongwater toyswonderful hostsb bmainland tourwelcome drinklounge chairscave tubingevery morningbelize citya great vacationwater taxirum punchambergris cayefishgolf cartpablo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

John and Linda Shelley are amazing hosts of this wonderful B&B. They truly made us feel like they wanted to make this our best vacation ever. They really took care of us. They arranged our transportation from Belize City airport to the ferry dock. Then John and Pablo met us at the ferry dock on Ambergris Caye and took us in their boat to the island paradise at Shell-Ease by the Sea. After a welcome Rum Punch (in a coconut shell), they fixed us a welcome dinner of local fish and rice the first night. John and Linda joined us for that meal, so that we could all get to know each other better. Every morning we were served delicious breakfasts, complete with local fruits and always served with a smile. John is a fantastic cook! John and Linda made arrangements for any activity we wanted to participate in. They had a golf cart delivered to the property so we could take a drive around the island. They made our reservations for a mainland tour of Mayan Ruins and Cave Tubing. Linda drove us into San Pedro town to catch the flight for this tour, then picked us back up that evening when the tour was over. Albert, our mainland tour guide, was such a delight...he was extremely knowledgeable, and very funny! Our snorkel excursion with Linda and Noel was amazing. They both got into the water with us. Noel pointed out interesting fishes and told us what we were looking at. Our room rental included the use of kayaks and paddle boards, so that we could just hang out at the beach and play in the water. One night we chose to eat John's special "Lobsterfest Dinner". This was an extra charge, but so worth it! On our last day, Linda arranged for us to have massages on the beach. Then we went into San Pedro that evening to listen to John play music at the Palapa Bar & Grill. Linda joined us, and helped us get a water taxi back to the B&B when we were ready. Then they arranged our transportation all the way back to the airport in Belize City for our flight back home. It was sad leaving, because after a week with John and Linda, it really felt like we were leaving friends, not just hosts of a B&B. They really did go above and beyond to make this trip to Belize truly unforgettable. We hope to return there one day, and hope that our friends will also check out this amazing couple and exceptional B&B.

Room Tip: One room is on the ground floor and the other is upstairs in the main house. Both were comfortable. The one downstairs was quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

My wife and I stayed at Shell-Ease with another couple and we had a wonderful time! John and Linda we exceptional hosts! From delightful homemade breakfasts every morning, to helping us plan and schedule activities, the service they provided was outstanding. And you can't beat the views! Right on the beach, with hammocks, lounge chairs, and it's own dock the property is a peaceful oasis. The property only has two guest rooms which are pretty good size and have private bathrooms. So if you're looking for a small place to get away, this one is perfect!

We also spent 2 days snorkeling with their "Under da Sea" guide Noel and it was fantastic! It was very clear that Noel really knew his stuff! Not only did he take special care to ensure my wife was comfortable snorkeling (it was her first time), but he seemed to know every fish on the reef personally! From rays and sharks to turtles and tarpin, Noel took us on some great adventures.

We can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Birk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My wife and I enjoyed 5 of the BEST days at Shell-Ease by the Sea. What great hosts! What an amazing, relaxing environment. John and Linda were fantastic. Awesome breakfast to start each day, beautiful beaches, palms swaying in the breeze.... couldn't ask for a better place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of Ambergris Caye. Our snorkeling/boating excursion was top shelf. We have never had a guide actually get in the water with us to show us around the reef, identify fish, and just help us relax and enjoy the experience. If you're looking for a place to have a great vacation, stop right here. Shell-Ease by the Sea is superb.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ARTraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

From the time John Shelley pick myself and my fiancé up at the local Airport in Belize City I had a warm suspicion we were going to feel at ease and comfortable with our hosts at Shell Ease. It had only been a couple weeks before when I learned that I would be traveling to Belize with my lovely fiancé. John and Linda Shelley are superior hosts. It is obvious that they want their guests to have an exceptional experience at their B&B and they gracefully extend themselves with an obvious passion for serving their guests and their individual tastes. We enjoyed the accommodations, oceanside location, and John and Linda's cooking tremendously! We found ourselves choosing to stay for optional dinners prepared by the Shelleys instead of trekking out to restaurants. Yes, the food is THAT good. The bonus was hanging out with the Shelleys. They are quite wonderful people. In addition, Pablo and Betty, both of whom help maintain the property and keep the quarters clean, respectively, are genuinely helpful and warm themselves. I enjoyed the two dogs, cat, and chickens on the property as well. The Shelleys pointed us in the right direction with knowledgeable and friendly snorkel and mainland Belize guides. We ended the trip with a relaxing beachside massage, ahhh. In summary, this was a great place to celebrate my 50th birthday. It works especially well as a couples vacation destination. But it need not be a special occasion. We are talking about how we'd like to return some day, possibly with our children. Thanks to our wonderful hosts, and of course my fiancé, for arranging this sterling lifelong memory for me. This is one of the best carribean vacation experiences I have had and I fully recommend Shell Ease if you're planning a trip to experience Belize.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Just what we wanted for a vacation! John picked us up from the airport in his 4 wheel drive ATV/Golf Cart and off we went. It was dark when we arrived but there was a welcome drink and stir fry with snapper and coconut rice for dinner after a long day of travel. John and Linda were awesome hosts always making sure we were good or needed anything. Breakfast is no joke here - fresh fruit, eggs and juices every morning in the screened in sunroom with an ocean view. A different breakfast every day - we were here 7 days. Then to the end of the dock for a snorkeling trip or just down to one of the three hammocks to read by the ocean or a water taxi into town. There are all kinds of water toys we did not use - next time!! Plenty of hot water (great pressure), pillows and a comfortable bed. Linda even had iced coffee in the room for me. Our room was made up daily and Betty made us those cute towel animals. There was plenty of drawers, hangers and counter space in the bathroom. There are lights on both sides of the bed but only one side has a table. We enjoyed hanging out with the dogs, chickens, hermit crabs and Tigger when he would show himself. None of the animals were loud or woke us up at night. We came for the snorkeling and it did not disappoint but the hospitality at Shell-Ease by the Sea really made our trip something special.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimcooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews