We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved my stay here! The grounds are gorgeous with a great swimming pool, although I didn't use it much because hanging by the ocean was even better. The pier with lounge chairs is the perfect spot to relax all day and was the highlight of my stay. The staff will bring you drinks and snacks and were really good about always checking to make sure I had what I needed.

The food was delicious as well, and the bar area is a fun spot to hang out after a day in the sun.

Matachica is a little outside of town, but was worth it to me as it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle, but with the option to go into town when you'd like.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank AustinRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is without doubt the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed at- it is worth every penny so you must go! We spent 5 nights here at the beginning of August and I'm still dreaming of being there. They clearly know what they're doing here and know how to make guests feel pampered. The location is the quintessential Caribbean get away- we had a beach front cabana and so were just a few metres away from the Caribbean Sea. The hotel is a 10 minute boat ride from San Pedro as the north part of the island doesn't have a proper road or would take a long time- I forget which. We ended up eating at the hotel every day as it was a bit more remote than I realised. This was fine as the food was top quality! It is expensive however as 27.5% is added to all drinks and food! 15% service charge and 12.5% tax. But, it is all very high quality so worth every penny in my opinion. The coconut mojito is unbelievable!
The hotel was also very peaceful. It was hard to gauge how many guests were there as it never felt crowded anywhere. The pool is beautiful and there are these gorgeous pods on decks for you to lie on out on the sea. If you're looking for an exotic, luxurious, relaxing stay away from it all, then you just stay here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful trip at the beginning of September at Matachica. The most outstanding characteristic is the wait staff. Edwin, Archie, Adam, Jose, Gilbert, and Alfrid all made our trip great. The facilities are very nice with great air conditioning in the rooms. The staff continually works to make sure that the beach is clear of any seagrass that may float up. The food in Mambo is great. There best choices are the fresh items that are harvested locally. I would think twice about the pasta choice unless it featured fresh seafood. Before settling on Matachica, you should understand that this is a very laid back environment. You are wasting your suitcase space if you pack lots of dress up shoes and clothes. There are not any televisions. I was surprised how much I missed that but it left a surprising amount of time to read and relax. The resort has kayaks, paddleboats and snokel equipment which are complimentary.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an oceanfront hut. The walk to the huts away from the water is innundated with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kew77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

You can't go wrong with Matachica. We did not stay overnight but used their resort ALL DAY on multiple days. The restaurant and pool areas are amazing. The pier and loungers provide you with some of the best views on the Caye.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameswA8401AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This is an incredible resort to stay in Ambergris Caye. The individual Mayan huts were immaculate. It was more private than staying in a hotel yet you always will feel that the awesome staff is right there whenever you need ANYTHING. They provide very incredible service - they will make any plans for you, call water taxis, (you will never carry your luggage from the moment you get off the plane in Belize City until you return to Belize City!) arrange air transport or ferry transport to and from Ambergris anytime you need it! The grounds and pool are like living in an eternal post card. This place is beautiful! We really enjoyed the incredible food and drinks from the restaurant and bar.! kayaks, peddle boats, snorkeling equipment and stand-up boards are available right there for you and we used them anytime we wanted- there was always enough there. LOVED all the super friendly staff especially Archie there were others but I can't remember their names - however every single person we encountered was wonderful. The internet works great in the common area- just what I prefer to keep in touch at home and then forget about the rat race back home awhile! It's a bit (10 minute boat taxi ride) from downtown San Pedro but we loved that it was so peaceful and serene and we enjoyed the boat taxi rides over the turquoise waters as one of our highlights of our trip! You will love it, no worries.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paloma_Mariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
11.1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
8.6 km away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
8.0 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
3.0 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: R4 675 - R6 256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing