We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This is an incredible resort to stay in Ambergris Caye. The individual Mayan huts were immaculate. It was more private than staying in a hotel yet you always will feel that the awesome staff is right there whenever you need ANYTHING. They provide very incredible service - they will make any plans for you, call water taxis, (you will never carry your luggage from the moment you get off the plane in Belize City until you return to Belize City!) arrange air transport or ferry transport to and from Ambergris anytime you need it! The grounds and pool are like living in an eternal post card. This place is beautiful! We really enjoyed the incredible food and drinks from the restaurant and bar.! kayaks, peddle boats, snorkeling equipment and stand-up boards are available right there for you and we used them anytime we wanted- there was always enough there. LOVED all the super friendly staff especially Archie there were others but I can't remember their names - however every single person we encountered was wonderful. The internet works great in the common area- just what I prefer to keep in touch at home and then forget about the rat race back home awhile! It's a bit (10 minute boat taxi ride) from downtown San Pedro but we loved that it was so peaceful and serene and we enjoyed the boat taxi rides over the turquoise waters as one of our highlights of our trip! You will love it, no worries.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paloma_Mariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Don't even waste your time researching where to stay in Belize, you MUST stay here! Cabana heaven on the beach, amazing bar/restaurant and 5 star service. We completely cancelled our plans after we left here to come right back. As a world traveler, I can't think of a place that comes close to the level of service and kindness from this beach resort. Every single staff member knew our name and were the most genuine team. Shout out to our bartender homies, Myra at the restaurant, our front desk host and the manager of the hotel who made my birthday week unforgettable. I can't thank you all enough, other then to bring all my friends back every year!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

My husband and I booked this resort for 5 days in August. This decision was based on such good reviews on TripAdvisor. We have to agree!!! One word to describe this - WOW!!! We were blown away from the moment we arrived at the airport. We were whisked away in a golf cart, onto a boat where we were asked what drink we would like, then straight to the pier of the resort. We were greeted by a wonderful and caring staff, handed our drinks and lead to our amazing room "The Strawberry!!!" This was a Postcard beautiful - bungalow!! One of the main reasons we picked this resort was due to the white sand beaches. The employees worked so hard 3-4 times per day raking up and hauling away the sea grass - so the sand could remain clean. We were so impressed by these hard working guys! The wait staff, the desk staff, the beach workers - ALL were so great!! We ate in the restaurant, which was a little pricey for dinner, but WELL worth the prices. Large portions of well-prepared food, great wine and service! We were treated so well, like royalty. We would absolutely go back!!!

Stayed: August 2017
6  Thank Teeth2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Our stay at Matachica was amazing! I highly recommend this resort and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if we come back to Belize. The staff, every single person you encounter, is genuinely nice and will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possiblle. For example, one of our snorkel tours ended after the kitchen closed for lunch and the staff took our order ahead of time and had it waiting for us when we arrived back hungry. They make you feel as though you are family. We stayed 6 nights in a hut that was in the row behind the ones directly on the beach. We still had a little view of beach and it was great. Each room has a hammock out front where you can lounge and just enjoy the quiet, beautiful place. The rooms themselves are all unique in design. We had the most comfortable king bed, a couch and coffee table and huge bathroom. The rooms were large, very private and clean. The cleaning staff swept and moped all the sand we brought in daily, did a new formation with our towels every day and did a turn down service nightly. The resort also booked all our excursions for us and we were picked up on their dock and dropped off there. The cost of activities booked through them were reasonable, convenient and done well. The resort also has kayaks, paddle boards, sunfish boat and snorkel gear available for free for their residents. We took out the kayak 15 mins straight from their dock, tied up to a buoy the resort placed and did some great snorkeling. The food at mambo was soo yummy and we thought reasonably priced for a high end resort. You must try their lobster!! We ate a lot of our meals there and only went into town a few times because there was no need to. We also ate a two good places nearby that were a close beach walk away. We are in our late 20s and were worried about being too far from town to be able to go out. If you want to party in town till past 10pm when the last water taxi runs (10 minute ride to matachica from San Pedro), then you can pay to schedule a private water taxi but this is expensive. Some people rent golf carts, this is about 25 mins and the roads are bumpy and not lit at night. We ended up going out at the beach bar and restaurant next door to matachica. They had a dj on sat night, a fun crowd and plenty of games. After going into town on Friday night and not loving the nightlife there we ended up being very happy about staying at or near our resort. We met great people at the hotel. There is a bar, pool table and a bunch of lounge areas to enjoy drinks. The pool is an infinite pool and feels luxurious. It does not overlook the ocean but there are very comfy daybeds all down the dock where you can lounge and drink the tasty drinks served. You can also dip in for a swim from the dock. Overall, matachica was amazing and if you are looking for great service, a relaxed vibe and good food stay there. Hope this helps!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank aushakova88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed here in June 2017 and the resort was exactly what I expected. We always felt very well taken care of as the staff was very attentive to everyone there. It's a smaller resort so one day into our trip the staff at the bar and restaurant knew us. We stayed in one of the beachfront cottages and they were clean and comfortable and again exactly what they advertised. It is about 5 miles from town but that was not a problem as they assisted in getting us a golf cart to the resort that we were able to use during our stay. If you want a quiet vacation away from the bars this is an excellent choice. There is bar about a 5 minute walk from the resort that advertises itself as the best bar on the island but it was closed on the day we tried to go. All in all it's a great place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjared77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
11.1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
8.6 km away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
236 reviews
8.0 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
860 reviews
3.0 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: R4 779 - R6 710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing