We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

My husband and I did a lot of research on hotels in Belize so that we could relax and enjoy our honeymoon once we arrived. What really attracted us to Matachica was not just the beautiful beachfront bungalows, but the adults-only label...so worth it!

Communication was very smooth in the months leading up to our trip. Thank you to all of the booking staff - very helpful! We were picked up from the airport in San Pedro and quickly ushered onto their private boat for the 15 minute ride to the resort. The best part: they pre-ordered drinks so that when we arrived, cold cocktails were waiting for us. Highly recommend the coconut mojito!

We booked the deluxe beachfront casita, which was actually nicer in person than the pictures. The room was large, the bed comfortable, and the shower had the best water pressure of any of the three hotels we stayed at during our two weeks in Belize. My favorite part was the hammock on the front porch - perfect for early mornings and late evenings watching the ocean.

Our other two favorite parts of this hotel: the pier and staff. I have to mention the pier because it has these large, round couches that are perfect for lounging all day. When we got too hot, we just went to the end and jumped off! You can't really walk into the ocean from the beach due to the sea grass, but the pier totally made up for it. As for the staff, they were an absolute delight. We want to give a shout-out to Gilly, Godwin, Archy, Adam, JC, Robin, and all of the others who made sure we always had a drink in hand throughout our four days with them. Oh, and the food is good, too :)

The only reason we're giving this hotel a 4-star rather than a 5-star review is because we had to move rooms one night due to a broken AC unit. While management did fix it the next day, it was a little frustrating to return at 9 pm to a hot room - especially because this is not a cheap resort.

Other than that small annoyance, our experience was pretty near perfect!

Room Tip: The deluxe beachfront casitas are totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Savanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 978 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

When scouting places to stay in San Pedro, I happened upon the Matachica resort. For me, even the cheapest room here is out of our price range, however, after reading all the the reviews we booked it anyway, and I'm glad we did. The staff that work here are simply amazing, not enough can be said about their efforts to accommodate and really make you feel welcome. Eric is wonderful and so helpful with any activity you want to do, the front desk is super helpful and really so nice. The resort itself is so peaceful and relaxing whether you are sitting on the water or by the pool, it's always an experience of serenity. Our rooms were always tidied and made ready for evening or day time. We just left, and are already looking forward to an opportunity to return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Well, it has been just over a week since we stayed at Matachica in celebration of pit 20th anniversary. There are no words to describe our amazing stay. We booked the short Caribbean getaway package (and added on a day). It was absolutely perfect! They provided everything from boat transportation to the resort to nightly turndown service. We relaxed and played and made wonderful memories. The resort is exactly as described on the website - absolutely perfect.

Everyone took such good care of us and attended to our every need and the crazy thing is we never felt intruded upon. Our room was perfect. And yes, upgrade to the beachfront. You won't regret it. We awoke to the sun rising over beautiful turquoise waters every day. We relaxed on our loungers and in the hammock. The constant breeze was refreshing. We took kayaks out and snorkeled at the reef. It was absolutely beautiful. We also took the Hol Chan snorkel trip and snorkeled at shark ray alley. It was so awesome! You must make time to do that. My husband went on a reef fishing trip and even though he didn't catch a ton, it was a lot of fun and the Chef cooked his catch! Speaking of the chef - so gifted. Every meal we had that their on site restaurant, Mambo, was delicious. There were many choices and we always left stuffed. Mambo must be well known on the island because there were always people dining that were not staying on the property. We ate lobster almost everyday! Another must do - visit the Jade Spa. By far the best massage and facial I have ever had! Really!!

Matachica is an intimate place offering amazing service and amenities. Many times we felt as though we were the only ones there as there was such seclusion. I cannot wait to return. When you need a getaway, I highly recommend Matachica. You won't regret it and you won't even miss the TVs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Like many of you, we spent a lot of long nights trying to decide where to spend our week. Decided on one, then 2nd guessed ourselves...then on another, then back. We couldn't find that traditional Mexico style boutique we always enjoy in many other beach destinations. All of the other hotels (highly ranked) just seemed dated and stale. We finally located Matachica and thought it looked exactly what we were wanting, and the reviews confirmed it. Done.

Stayed a week and could've stayed another...easily. Staff does become family. From boat operators to housekeeping to bartenders to wait staff. They're all on the same page.

Room was perfect. Food was outstanding. Pool was quiet. Pier lounging was quiet.

We took our own speaker and the pier and pool had access to wifi which was nice for our own music.

Not sure what else to say that hasn't been said already. This place gets it and we will be back.

Feel free to ping me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travisodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Had a fantastic time at Matachica, the place is so peaceful, food is excellent, staff are attentive and the hotel is beautiful. My favourite place was sitting on the round loungers attached to the dock, was my perfect idea of relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam_flynnuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8,1 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1 001 reviews
4,8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
11,1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
366 reviews
2,3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
882 reviews
1,3 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 55 in San Pedro
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: R5 593 - R6 647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing