We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon on the Reef and Rainforest Honeymoon package. We were completely satisfied with every part of our stay. We stayed in a beachfront casita, which was beautiful, spacious, and very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean and we got service twice a day. The resort and restaurant had incredible food, delicious drinks, and the best staff service I have ever experienced. The staff is kind, thorough, friendly, and incredibly helpful. This resort is excellent for couples on vacation or honeymoon. From the moment we arrived until we were taken to the airport on our last day, we were treated so well and had a beautiful honeymoon. I absolutely intend to come back to Matachica!

Room Tip: Beachfront Casitas have a private beach, hammock, and ocean view from almost every window. Absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank katequeue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We had an extraordinary stay at Matachica. The place is just stunningly beautiful, super big and clean rooms, awesome ocean sunbeds and a fantastic cuisine. Many details that made it even more spectacular: limewater everywhere, welcome drinks, perfect service. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful and made our trip wonderful. We even extend our stay even though the next hotel was already booked.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eveline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This place checks all the boxes and makes your stay really easy. We booked excursions through the hotel without any issue and got massages onsite, that were great! Food is a bit pricey, but I didn't mind paying since it was incredible. Just book it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krisbhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Matachica Resort is an absolutely fantastic place for a quiet beach vacation. The accommodations are elegant but still give you a private/rustic Caribbean “feel”, the grounds are maintained meticulously, and the restaurant is excellent. Those three things are probably not the most notable elements if you can believe it. The front desk makes your stay almost maintenance free. They manage your transfers, pick you up at the airport, etc. All the various excursions/trips are listed with water taxi schedules, prices, etc. right up front and the front desk will book everything for you. Next, and this is a sensitive thing to point out to some, but if you’re looking for a true adult style “recharge” then we would like to mention that kids aren’t allowed. Don’t get me wrong, we love our kids and some may find the following “harsh” but sometimes you just need a few days of peace and quiet after years of non-stop family administration. Matachica underwrites this in spades. Finally, and I think an often underappreciated point, is their tipping policy. They add 15% at the end and you can dial it up a bit at your discretion (we sure did). Not once did I feel as if the staff were constantly “in my pocket”. This is nice and removes an expensive and awkward element that usually comes with most "resort" vacations in my experience.
Having a quiet coffee on the pier while watching the sting rays below, or walking the beach listening to the waves is a great way to wake up. Spend your day snorkeling, touring Mayan ruins, take a jungle tour, or just lounge by the beach/water and maybe start cocktails earlier than you’d ever practically consider in “real life”. Quiet dinner overlooking the ocean in the evening, go on another walk, read a book, whatever. If this is what you’re looking for, we would highly recommend Matachica.
Bottom line, we fully expect to go back and go back for longer than the 4 days we had this go around. Top notch views, facilities, and service.

Room Tip: The WI-fi extends to the rooms close to the main building (Lime has full internet access).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank major16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Matachica exceeded our expectations! The boutique resort is intimate, private, and stunning with the private villas, infinity pool, and stretch of beach and docks you have access to. Our villa was always immaculate (thanks for the bug spray, you'll need it) and they provide turn down service every night. It's a really quiet resort (no kids) and it's five miles north of the island hustle and bustle. It's very romantic and the kind of place you should go to unplug and relax. There is no internet, clocks, or televisions in your villa which is a plus (but worth noting). They help you escape from it all!

The restaurant, Mambo, is delicious and I love how breakfast is included with your stay. Although we wanted to venture out to try other local food in our week long stay (and I recommend you do) it was nice that the restaurant was onsite. One of our favorite days was a Matachica excursion of reef fishing and snorkeling. The snapper we caught with our Matachica guide was then prepared by the Matachica chef! I also recommend their coconut mojito.

Perhaps the most impressive part of Matachica is the gracious, thoughtful staff. Every single person seeks to know you by name, provide personalized service, and will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable. From the bar, to the restaurant, to the captains, to the front desk, to the spa - everyone was incredible. We hugged them all good bye because they made our stay so wonderful. I couldn't recommend the resort more. It is well worth the price. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Splurge for the oceanfront villas, order seafood (what's most local) at Mambo, try the daily exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gracekboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8,1 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1 001 reviews
4,8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
11,1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
365 reviews
2,3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
881 reviews
1,3 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 55 in San Pedro
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: R5 649 - R6 714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing