We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Time”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casa Caracol

Let's start with the view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Let's start with the view
Casa Caracol Downstairs Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Let's start with the view
Casa Caracol
Downstairs Living
Downstairs Dining/Kitchen
Downstairs Bedroom 1
Downstairs Bedroom 2
Downstairs Bedroom 3
Downstairs Bathroom (1 of 2)
Upstairs Living
Upstairs Kitchen/Dining
Upstairs Kitchen
Upsairs Bedroom 1
Upstairs Bedroom 2
Upstairs Bathroom (1 of 2)
Upstairs Balcony
Downstairs Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hlbrnmom
Shakopee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 7 couples that stayed at Casa Caracol end of Feb 2014! We rented the entire house! What a fabulous time! Phil arranged the flights for us from the main airport to san pedro & personally met both groups as we arrived. Yes the house has 5 bedrooms (2 of our couples brought air mattresses). It was spacious & clean, very nice. Quick walk to main area of town or rent carts as we did.
The housekeeper was FABULOUS! so friendly & kind! We had a great time in the evening sitting on the front porch watching the people, and feeling the breeze! If you rent the house- know that wi-fi in the lower level is only available in the back bathroom most of the time. The upper level of the house you can get it more readily as it's router is up there. All rooms were nice & had what we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: wi-fi is sketchy at best...Dont make that a decision point
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schyler M
Bennington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect house and location!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Caracol the second week in March and it was absolutely perfect. There were 9 of us so we rented both floors of the house, and spent most of our time admiring the view and relaxing on the front porch. Casa Caracol has one of the best views on the island! It is unobstructed by boats or docks and consists of pure white sand, blue water, and beautiful palm trees. You can walk straight out into the water and find all sorts of cool shells, starfish, and colorful fish. The house looked just like the photos and was very roomy, comfortable, and clean. Laurie, the cleaning woman, was very kind and did an excellent job. The house is in a perfect, safe location and is in walking distance to a lot of fabulous restaurants, shops, and places to get homemade, Belizean takeout food. The house came equipped with AC (which you rarely need because of the amazing breeze through the windows all day and night), snorkeling gear, sea kayaks, lounge chairs, etc.
Phil, the owner, was extremely helpful and planned our flights to and from the island as well as all of our activities such as snorkeling, a lamanai mayan ruin jungle tour, golf carts, and more. We paid for everything with a credit card at the end which made things so easy. Phil was always available if we needed him for anything throughout our stay.

Best vacation ever thanks to Phil and Casa Caracol!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerm...
Highland Village, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great San Pedro Location - Comfortable Home wih Great Owner”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First, you must understand San Pedro before you go there. It's mainly two bedroom condos near the town and most product is older and not super luxury. But, it works. Phil was great, the house was perfectly fine, and the location couldn't be beat. We rented the downstairs and found it to be simply delightful. If you are a five star Ritz Carlton traveler, not only is Casa Caracol not for you but probably San Pedro isn't either. If you are good with the San Pedro vibe, you'll be good with Casa Caracol.

It's a bit rustic but our family found that by the end of our six day stay, we felt like the place was our home. AC works great, there are sea kayaks, and Phil can set up anything you need to do at no extra charge. Golf cart is a must and Phil can arrange. Wireless signal on bottom floor is a little weak so you have to position yourself correctly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Location, Good base of operation, good golf cart parking
Liked least: Beach is not great but that's San Pedro
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanaAlex...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for a group!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I live in California and we got married in San Pedro in January. We planned on having a pretty small wedding, and wanted to rent a house where we could stay with our wedding party and have the wedding ceremony/party. We found Casa Caracol, and the owners Phil & Marie were open to our plans and very helpful answering our questions. We rented the house, but our wedding guest list pretty quickly outgrew our plans to have the wedding at Casa Caracol. Phil was a huge help to us to find another venue that ended up great. He also helped us find a group snorkeling trip that was great for our large group.
We rented out both floors of Casa Caracol and it was just perfect. Phil continued to be a huge help to us with booking local flights and answering our questions. The house is beautiful, clean and comfortable. I highly recommend it if traveling with a group of friends or a family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable and clean space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilleth78...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbeliezeable!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The property was beautiful, right on the water, walking distance (or golf cart if you choose) to anything you could possibly need. Phil and Marie were wonderful. They were very accommodating and easy to communicate with. They offered to help us with booking "excursions" and tours and even book them for us with their personal recommendations and advice as well. There was very affordable laundry service, which was great since we had spent the 5 days before arriving there in the jungle (inland Belize & Guatemala).

The rental was very spacious and clean and had air conditioning in every room. There was really nothing to complain about. It was a very nice part of the vacation with excitement and tours if you are interested - so many amazing things to do and see in Belize! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms & air conditioning
Liked least: Wi-Fi was slow but you're not going to have good internet access anywhere in Belize, and we were there to experience the country and culture, so it was nice to be disconnected from home for a little while.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing