We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I would definitely go back.”
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
private beach beach area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Front of the house
private beach
beach area
ocean view
front of home
view from the side
bedroom 1
Beach
view to the beach
ocean view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hereyag0
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would definitely go back.”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First, let me say I gave it 4 stars because if someone has never been to Ambergris Caye, Belize, I wanted them to know the island itself prevents anything from being a true 5 star resort as for as I'm concerned. I loved our experience at Wolfgang's home. I would say the house is more like a "bed and breakfast" without the breakfast, and this is exactly what we wanted. I actually had been in the house before I ever rented it so I knew what we were getting and was not disappointed. There is just nothing like this lovely island which is changing quickly. If you happen to read about all the new places on the north end of the island, I'll just say I still prefer the south end for the traditional island experience. Thanks for a wonderful 5 days.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn O
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Escape the Crowds to Enjoy Paradise”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Casa Buena Vista is the perfect place to leave the hustle and bustle of the busy world behind and relax. My husband and I have been to Ambergris Caye eight times and really love this little island. So picking the perfect place to stay on a budget is crucial. I researched many different options but am thrilled with our choice to stay with Wolfgang, Merta, and Eldin. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had found exactly what we wanted. The beautiful beach was the perfect place to spend our days snorkeling, reading, and taking naps under the swaying palms. Cookie, the beach dog, lead us on many walks and kept us company as we enjoyed the view. The dock just a few yards from the beach was a great place to snorkel, and the short trip to town made it easy to take the golf cart in for lunch or dinner. The accommodations we very clean and comfortable and with the ocean breeze keeping us cool, we only used the air conditioning a few nights. If you really want to get away from the crowds and condos, this is the perfect place for you! I know we’ll be coming back again soon to enjoy a little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach front views.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccrazyon...
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Casa Buena Vista Again And Again”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our second return to Ambergris Caye and Casa Buena Vista. We first stayed here in 2010 and rented the Casita in the rear of the property, but really wished we had rented the Casa due to it's view of the water and its terrace in the front. The Casita was without all we could have asked for, we just wanted a little more.

Booking with Wolfgang is easy! For first timers, he gives you all the information you need well in advance of your arrival. For those who have visited before he catches you up to speed on changes to the property and the Island. He helps arrange golf cart rentals, which you will need and transfers from the Belize City Airport to San Pedro if you like.

We flew United, Southwest starts later this year with daily flights. Upon arrival, you have a few choices for getting to San Pedro. You can take one of the smaller planes ($80.00) like Tropic or Mayan Air. It takes about 20 minutes I think. We always take the Belize express water taxi. Its a quick 25 minute cab ride ($25.00 US) from the airport. Round trip is about $35.00 US and takes about 90 minutes or so. Its a fun ride with other travelers and locals plus your on the water.

Arriving at the water taxi dock is easy. Your in San Pedro. Your luggage is unloaded and you can take a cab, get a cart, or you may have a pick up from your destination. We had had a cart delivered to the Casa, but picked up another one in town and drove ourselves out to Casa Buena Vista.

We stopped along the way at Marias Fruit and Vegetables for some fruit and fresh squeezed juice to go with our rum. The little market Marinis is a quick stop for other supplies such as rum.

Once at Casa Buena Vista Wolfgang and Eldon are waiting to greet you as you pull in to the drive. A real treat. Your luggage is handled by Eldon and taken to either the Casa or Casita. A tub of fresh water is at the door to dip you feet in before entering to keep the sand out. Wolfgang will give you a tour of your accommodations and of the property. First time visitors should take him up on his tour of San Pedro. It is well worth it. He is also a reliable source of dining information.

The accommodations are first class and very comfortable. The kitchen is equipped with more than you need if you decide to cook anytime. The bathroom is very large (Casa) and well equipped as well. The living area is more than adequate although we spent very little time there. We lived on the Terrace or in one of the lounge chairs on the beach. An outside shower is convenient for cooling down with or a quick rinse before going back inside.
You are well taken care of by Wolfgang and his staff of Eldon and Mirta. Eldon is at your disposal for anything you might need no matter what. He helped us book two tours through their tour operator they work with. He can grill lobster for you or get you a fresh coconut from one of the trees outside. Mirta takes care of the cleaning twice weekly and will wash your clothes as well. Mirta and Eldon were both with Wolfgang on our first visit and 5 years later are still with him. That says a lot if you ask me.

Tours will pick you up at the dock out front and return to it when finished, Restaurants and town are just minutes away on your cart if you decide to leave the property.

Besides the great staff, you have two very cool dogs to hang out with. Cookie who has been with Wolfgang since our first visit is a pure treat to get to know and Tiger too! Take Cookie on a walk down the beach with you or let him hop on your cart and go to town with you.

San Pedro has ome really good places to eat such as Elvi's Kitchen, Papusseria, Island Treasures, Ahi Tapas, Casa Picasso, and the Black Orchid to name just a few. You can't go wrong.

Enjoy your stay at Casa Buena Vista and live a local! Our next trip to San Pedro, we're booking with Wolfgang again without any hesitation. First class property and first class owner and staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott F
Conifer, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Villa Casa Buena Vista from June 2nd to the 16th 2015 and had a great time. Even though rain was forecast each day we still had sun most of the time and calm conditions. Wolfgang and his staff went above what was required to ensure we had a great vacation. Our 8 year old daughter spent every day swimming in the safe waters in front of the home or the dock. Perfect views and very relaxing to say the least. If you need anything Eldon is the man who knows the man. We had him pick up 4 pounds of snapper for us at a very reasonable price and Merta was a great housekeeper who did our laundry three times. lastly we fell in love with the resident dogs Cookie and his buddy Tiger. We felt like home away from home and are looking forward to a return trip.

Scott and Ania Fowle
Conifer, Colorado

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
862DareDe...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place In Belize”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was our third time to Ambergris Caye and our first stay at the Villa Casa Buena Vista. We hae already reserved a spot for the future; it is simply that great of the place. The Villa Casa Buena Vista is located south of San Pedro and that allows for less noise, far fewer crowds, cleaner beach front, and pure relaxation. Wolfgang Wind and his staff are fabulous; you can't ask for more personal and responsive service. If you need something, they will get it for you. And Cookie, the resident tour dog, is the most kind-mannered, gentle, and entertaining dog in all of Belize. He alone is reason enough for a return stay.

The condo was perfect for four, reasonably priced, very clean, finely appointted, and had excellent internet service. Eldon was available to arrange tours, snorkeling, and fishing. Merta was available to do laundery, if needed, and made our condo as comfortable as if we were staying in a 5-start hotel in New York.

Seriously folks, Villa Casa Beuna Vista is the best value on the beach in Ambergris Caye by far. It is no wonder that Wolfgang has a full house most of the year and there is no douibt that we will return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing