We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved our "home" at La Perla.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This was my first time to Belize and I would say it's was my best vacation ever! The La Perla was a great location. Very Belizean with decorative tile and beautiful dark wood. The service was superb. We lucked out and were the only people staying during the time, so we had it all to our selves. Beds are hard, but other than that we thoroughly enjoyed this property.

Room Tip: All the units have a beautiful view of the Caribbean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank betsyb328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We were super excited to arrive at la Perla. We had been in email contact with a lady at the resort who then met us at the jetty. She failed to welcome us in any way... she simply marched us to our villa, pointed at the info book inside and left... no warmth, no chat.... nothing. Very underwhelming.
The villa itself (amber) was ok. Spacious. The kitchen equipment was old and a lot of it, unusable. There was no oven ware at all. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the bedding old and scruffy. The bathrooms were ok but the curtains did not cover the windows properly and we were overlooked by another villa which was not ideal! The villa was however clean. On our last day the cleaners left the villa unlocked which is highly unprofessional.
The resort itself was tidy and clean . The pool area was tired and uninviting.
We hired a golf buggy for the week. Agreed in advance a charge of 300 dollars. Upon arrival we were told it would be 600... they only agreed our price upon showing the email proof of quote. The buggy itself was old and broke down 3 times. Very frustrating.
We were looking forward to long walks along the beaches which are described so beautifully in the resort info. In reality the beaches were disgusting. Vile. Every stretch was deep in litter.... no exaggeration .... even piles of bin bags that have been dumped. Our bit of beach in front of the villa was clean but one metre along the rubbish begins and it does not stop. No chance of a pleasant meander along the coast.
This is not a luxury resort. The people working there have lost interest and don't seem to want people there.
Avoid.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at La Perla del Caribe in Belize. We apologize for any negative experience you had during your stay and have worked to correct the issues. La Perla del Caribe hired a new manager on property with many years of Belize resort experience. We have gone through each villa to make sure they have all the amenities, linens and kitchenware necessary for guests and made any needed maintenance repairs. Our professional reservation service offers reservations for local tours, local flights and golf cart rental from reputable San Pedro companies. La Perla del Caribe takes our guest experience and feedback seriously and will continue to provide an amazing Belize vacation for our guests.
- La Perla del Caribe Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We rented 2 villas. A 2 bed and a 5 bed. Both were very nice. Staff was wonderful. Provided bottled water and ice whenever needed. Location was perfect. Pool was nice. Walking distance to several great restaurants.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Settingsllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The houses at La Perla are about a 20 minute golf cart or water taxi ride from San Pedro. Far enough so that there's no traffic around the complex, it's only guests.
Last Perla is about 7 individually owned castitas of different sizes, grouped around a common shared Pool, with one management company and an office on site. There is no restaurant or gift shop, but most days Toshiba the maintenance supervisor is on site to help out and answer questions. The pool area was always well maintained and never crowded. There is also beach frontage and a pier, but some sea grass that requires raking. The beach is OK.
We rented the Sapphire, 3 bedroom unit (5 day minimum), and it was huge! Probably 4k sq ft! It was plenty of space for a group of 8. Beach level was Grandpa's suite, with a bedroom, TV room and 2 bathrooms.
The Main level had a full kitchen, great room and table that sat 10. Also office, full bedroom and bathroom as well as 3 verandas. Top level was the master suite with full bath and room top access. The house was nicely decorated and felt comfortable. Staff came by most days to tidy up and freshen the linens.
We arranged for groceries to be stocked through Mata Grocery, a 5 minute cart ride away. Convenient, but not the best prices (everything is a bit pricey since it's an island) they carry cinnamon bread from a local bakery that's out of this world!
We really enjoyed La Perla. Town was too busy for us, we liked being farther away. And there are a bunch of markets and restaurants along the way. We went back and forth most days, depending on activities.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank DuncanDonutAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Ambergris Caye Belize was everything we thought it would be and much, much more. Beautiful and well furnished villa directly on the white sand. The Belizean people are warm and friendly. Did not have one bad meal as the food was amazing. Will definitely return. A+ all the way.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank susie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
6.5 km away
Playa Del Sol Free Snorkeling & Fishing
3.9 km away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
236 reviews
2.4 km away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
647 reviews
4.9 km away
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
#3 of 32 in San Pedro
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Address: 6 Miles North of San Pedro | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#30 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: R5 314 - R14 613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing