We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Palms Oceanfront Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mata Rocks Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pedro's Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel del Rio(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
US$2 350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
154
26
5
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
26
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssapphire villawater taxiinteresting islandscreened in porchesambergris cayegolf cartromantic beachbelize cityfun weekgrocery storesea grassburritoexcellent propertyorder groceriesfew issuesrojo barfish
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My husband and I booked a last minute getaway to Belize for our anniversary and this place could not have been better. The location was very romantic on the beach, with screen through the entire house to hear the ocean and feel the breeze. The full kitchen was awesome, although we did not cook much. However, it was great to make ice cold drinks and have chilled wine pool side/beach side during the day without hassle. The added surprises were the fresh tamales and breakfast burritos offered each morning by two brothers who stop by on a bike. The other perk was the AMAZING golf cart lunch delivery. Each day at noon and again at 1 pm a golf cart would stop by selling a variety of lunch options that was the best food of the trip. Beans and rice, smoked ribs, BBQ chicken, soups, etc all around $5 US...unreal!! You really do not need to leave during the day if you do not wish. There are a few places to visit close by, however I suggest renting a golf cart for exploration and to visit various diner spots. I seriously loved this place!! Although it is 25 minutes (golf cart) from town, we preferred that, as it was quite and relaxing by day, then we could visit town for some excitement and music ect. We circled the island and found this area the best positioned for our needs. I do suggest purchasing all liquor/wine at duty free IN BELIZE on arrival, as it is more expensive on the island. I also suggest doing grocery snack shopping in town as the grocery close by is convenient, yet super expensive ( $12 US for lays). I am so thankful for all the friendly staff who made our stay even more incredible. The quite, romantic beach setting, the flawless beach home with all amenities ( even a beach bag and flash light), the friendly staff, and the dock which made excursion pick up easy, all made this vacation PERFECT!! In addition the island is awesome, and everyone is unbelievably friendly. I feel in love with this place. People said it was a party island, I found it to be the perfect balance of quiet romantic beach days, diving and water adventures, and a little night life. Happy Travels!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaVanderHeagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Wonderful place to stay! Quiet, well kept, clean, outstanding customer service. Talk about the lap of luxury! We stayed in the Amber Villa, which had an outstanding view of the ocean and just a few steps away! The pool was awesome and very refreshing! There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We rented a golf cart for our stay which made the trip even more fun. Driving around the island is easy! We picked up some groceries so that we could prepare a few meals at our Villa. It was great to eat on our porch! The hammock was an awesome touch! If you need a restful vacation, La Perla del Caribe is the perfect getaway! If you want to explore and have an action packed vacation, you can do that, too! We did a bit of both and the best resort on the Ambergris Caye!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed at Opal house, which is a 4 bedroom with enough room for 11 people. Would come back again. Close enough to San Pedro but far enough away for privacy. Would recommend a golf cart for getting around

Room Tip: Great for families
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

If you want stunning views this is amazing, and the staff are incredibly helpful, but the Villa I stayed in is serious need of repair, no air conditioning in the main living/dining area, just ceiling fans, 2 bedrooms have air con, one from the 1980's, one from this century, for what i paid for this I feel seriously ripped off, my front door lock is so rusted it takes 5-10 attempts to lock it, the screen door fell off it's hinges, and the deck on the balcony is rotting wood. These are privately owned Villa's, and the one I've rented from should be ashamed, apparently a fellow Brit, taking the piss mate, you need to up your game!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millers2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience in one of the villas at La Perla del Caribe. We take your feedback seriously. The necessary repairs and maintenance have been made, replacing air conditioning units, door locks and deck repairs. We have hired a new management company and a new front desk manager on-site who work daily to provide excellent service to our guests and maintain La Perla del Caribe to meet guest expectations of this beautiful island retreat.
- La Perla del Caribe Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We stayed in the 2-bedroom Emerald Villa at La Perla - right on the beach with its sugar-white sand and turquoise, sparkling water. Even though we were next to the pool and facing the beach in a fully occupied resort, the direction the the villa faces for the view provides a feeling of being secluded and having the island to ourselves. The villa has two large bedrooms, each with large bathrooms, separate screened-in porches, and ample closet space.

The villa was fully loaded with cable TV, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and all the western appliances, US-compatible outlets, dishwasher, 6-burner gas stove, oven/broiler, microwave, full-sized refrigerator, blender, toaster, coffee maker, and a gas BBQ for our use. The resort is on a fresh water well for the kitchen and shower, but provides purified drinking water in a water cooler-style dispenser in the kitchen.

We ate breakfast out on the spacious veranda every morning, which included fresh coconuts cut open for us by the very attentive support staff. The staff keep the place very clean, with cleared grounds, gardens, and beach and a very nice pool (Anna, Toshiva, Rosa, Walter, David, and Nelson are just a few who made our stay so special, though everyone was very helpful and simply delightful).

We primarily ate in, having bought groceries in San Pedro on the way in, but did try several nearby restaurants that we had spotted on morning runs. Our favorite by far was the Jambel Jerk Pit for the best local food at reasonable prices and for their beachside bonfire.

We went kayaking with the resort's boats every day to nice swimming or snorkeling spots. The reef is teaming with colorful life and easily reached. Inside the reef, it is easy to stay out of danger. Under most conditions there is no real surf or rip tides, no super dangerous animals and everything is near enough to shallow water or small-craft boating traffic to get help quickly if you are in trouble. The resort also has wind-surfers and a Hobie Cat to use.

We were there at the end of February 2016. The trade winds were warm and welcome, keeping the humidity and insects down such that we didn't notice either. Runs are best taken in the morning, before the sun reaches its potential. It rained at night twice during our stay - but not during the day and it did not affect our stay at all.

Trips into San Pedro for the day are easy by water taxi. Getting to and from the resort was an exceptionally smooth operation. Coming from California, we flew through Houston to Belize City and caught the Tropical Air flight to San Pedro and from there, the resort sent us a driver who took us to the grocery store before bringing us up the tiny access road to the back side of the resort. We took a charter boat back on our way out.

La Perla met and exceeded all of our expectations. The best advice I have for you it that it will take at least 3-4 days to really shed your worries from home - so leave yourself as much time as you can for the soul-restoring relaxation that Ambergris Caye and especially La Perla have to offer.

Room Tip: Emerald Villa had a fantastic view and secluded feeling
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cherie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews