We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
456
261
113
57
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
261
113
57
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san pedro golf cart swim up bar water taxi bedroom villa main pool secret beach sea grass nice resort convenience store ceviche resort restaurant palm trees just returned from a week rum punch fish recommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Walked down (up?) from Grand Caribe and had bloody Mary's. It was early, ok. Drinks were way too spicy. Requested virgin Mary to tone down the heat. Bartender obliged without hesitation and with apology. Then brought extra vodka and lime juice. Workers on the palm trees brought a coconut and cut it open for fresh coconut juice. $2.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for stopping by Captain Morgan's Retreat. We are glad to hear our bartender took care of you, as we always desire to offer our visitors the best experience possible. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

For starters the sunrises are goregous!!! The staff is so incredible to work with, they keep the grounds well kept daily and they are friendly and will help out with anything you need. There are a lot of excusions offered by the resort, golf carts to rent, paddle boards, kayaks and snorkeling equipment to check out at the store. We are so glad we picked this resort.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank tamcam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor – it’s appreciated! We have a great team and it’s nice to hear that their service and attitude made a difference. We think Captain’s offers everything a guest could be looking for in a beachfront resort: an excellent location, restaurant, and many incredible activities and excursions. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We stayed at Captain Morgan's Retreat and were very happy! The amenities were great and the entire staff was so helpful and friendly! We stayed in a casita on the beach, which i highly recommend! We woke up and sat on our deck almost every morning to watch the sunrise. The beds were comfortable, clean and had a safe, mini fridge and nice size bathroom. The beach is very walkable and the staff work really hard to keep the grounds looking spectacular (including removing the washed up turtle grass)!
There are three pools on site, two with swim up bars!
As noted above, the staff was so helpful! They were able to answer any questions we had and were able to provide wonderful recommendations.
Mama Caribe is the restaurant on site and it was delicious! The pricing was as expected for the wonderful quality and presentation of the food. So good!
We were very satisfied with our stay and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The casitas (cabanas) on the beach had an amazing ocean view!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetters06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your Captain Morgan's experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly love our rustic Beach Cabanas. They provide a romantic getaway where you can walk out your front door and step foot right on the beach. Our team has worked very hard to upkeep our grounds, so thank you for noticing. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our new restaurant Mama Caribe as well! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We stayed in Dec 2017. The resort itself it nice and peaceful but as noted in other reviews they are doing a lot of updating. The back pool was open but the bar was not. The people were the best... very friendly and personable. The only issues that I had was the cleaning service. We didn't have them come in every day as we really didn't spend much time in the rooms......way to much to see and do !! The day we did have them come in they folded my clothes but didn't take out the trash or replace some of the towels that were dirty. While it was nice that my clothes were folded not something that I really needed to be done...Also wifi is not readily available throughout the resort best in the main bar/restaurant area. All in all we loved it there and will hopefully be back. Ronald was amazing and made the best drinks ......the staff really were amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennicabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for choosing Captain Morgan's for your recent family holiday. We have a team that really enjoys what they do and we are glad that it shows. Your comments have been passed along to management and we are happy to report many of the updates you mention have already been completed. There is certainly so much to see and do, so we hope you will come back for some more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We are in Belize to celebrate our 5th anniversary and have had a wonderful time! I can’t say enough about how courteous and attentive the staff at Captain Morgan’s has been! We love how the resort has a Rustic feel on the outside and is filled with beautiful woodwork and local art on the inside! The grounds are very pretty, and the restaurant is delicious, but the staff is what makes really makes Captain Morgan’s a place we can’t wait to visit again!! We are already planning to return with our children!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for choosing Captain Morgan's to celebrate your anniversary - we are honored! There are a lot of different teams that make Captain Morgan’s run so smoothly, and we know they’ll be happy to hear you appreciated their hard work. We take pride in our Belizean style rooms and we are so glad you loved them too. We look forward to greeting you again on your next family adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews