We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spring Vacation”
Main Building, dining on the left, 2 room suite on the right, upstairs two more ocean view rooms.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Building, dining on the left, 2 room suite on the right, upstairs two more ocean view rooms.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Main Building, dining on the left, 2 room suite on the right, upstairs two more ocean view rooms.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

laurenaB1...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring Vacation”
Reviewed 22 March 2020 for a stay in March 2020
1
person found this review helpful

We had the best time at North Beach Retreat. We had four couples stay there. We got the privacy of our own living quarters with beautiful views in each spot. Manny was an amazing resource who stayed at the retreat and taught us a lot about the Belizean culture. He showed us a great hidden spot to snorkel, climbed palm trees to have us try fresh coconut/coconut water, helped the guys catch sardines and fish and gave us resources to great places to visit on the island. He not only was a great guide and hard worker but we became friends with him as well. We played card games together almost every night and he made an amazing bonfire for us on the beach. We enjoyed his company. The place would not be the same without Manny. We definitely want to come back and stay here, not only for the beautiful resort but to see Manny again as well! A beautiful retreat with amazing Belizean breakfasts from Carla!

Date of stay: March 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinbO5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place, amazing view, and incredible hosts!”
Reviewed 8 March 2020 for a stay in February 2020
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 5 days at North Beach Retreat for our honeymoon. We're two novices when it comes to international travel, so needless to say we felt a little stressed out. However, when we arrived to North Beach, Sam and Kristin literally made us feel right at home. Between them and their caretaker Manny we had a worry-free vacation. They gave us any info or guidance we needed, booked multiple tours and dinners for us, and even went out of their way to loan us some money when we had a problem with our bank account. Couldn't recommend them more as hosts or as people!

Date of stay: February 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damwright
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Oasis with Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed 27 February 2020 for a stay in February 2020
1
person found this review helpful

We recently went to Ambergris Caye with a group of friends to celebrate a friends birthday and had an amazing time. North Beach Retreat, the owners, and Manny were certainly the highlight. This location is a bit away from town (~45 mins via golf cart) but that honestly made it even better. Feeling so removed was relaxing, but at the same time we could get to where ever we needed to go.

Highlights begin with the Puppers--Gringo, the property is actually his, he was there when the owners bought the property, and he is such a good boy; Niko, who is ready to accept any scraps you bring him; and Bailey who loves to play fetch and studiously protects the beach from all pelicans!

Next is Manny, who is super nice and helpful. There aren't enough platitudes to describe him. You definitely feel taken care of and are in good hands with Manny around.

The FOOD-so good! The best meals we had while visiting Belize were the tasty and filling breakfasts (those fry-jacks, I need the recipe), and a locally made dinner that was delivered to us.

And, lastly, the beach bon-fire that the hosts and Manny built for us.

All in all, our stay here was perfect.

Date of stay: February 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place to spend Christmas”
Reviewed 27 December 2019 for a stay in December 2019

We can’t hype this place enough!

Our room (beach cabana) was beautiful - very spacious, comfortable bed, lots of windows and natural light. You also have your own fridge. And the room was right on the beach, which is lovely.

The property is amazing - there are gorgeous birds flying around and four adorable dogs. There are kayaks available so you can paddle out, not very far at all, and there is fish and other sea life to see. Manny took us out lobster hunting/snorkeling and we saw so many different types of fish (there was snorkelling gear available there for us to use, or you could bring your own). I can’t imagine a more beautiful place to stay on the island. We were so happy we chose to book North Beach Retreat for Christmas as we wanted something really special that wasn’t insanely expensive. This was exactly that.

As an added bonus, Kristin and Sam are amazing cooks. The free breakfast is delicious and your cup won’t be empty for longer than a minute before someone is offering more coffee. We were treated to the best cinnamon buns we’ve had in our lives. We were lucky enough to be there for Christmas dinner and the feast they cooked for that was insanely good also.

Yes, there are mosquitos, but you will find this anywhere on the island. Just take normal precautions i.e use bug spray or wear long clothes. There are mosquito coils provided in your room and Sam/Kristin/Manny are vigilant about keeping coils lit in the dining area. The cabana we stayed in was well designed and airtight, with bug screen windows, so it was only the odd mozzy that got in (probably due to us leaving the door open a bit too long). We slept with a coil going just in case. I HATE mosquitos and am very paranoid about them but I found the situation to be totally manageable.

The location is a bit of a drive from the main town but that’s sort of the point. It’s private, quiet and calm. You can drive to the main town for a night in the hustle bustle if you want, and then drive back up north to sleep somewhere calm and beautiful and wake up to sunrise on the beach. Best of both worlds.

The only thing to be mindful of before booking is that in the cabana (not sure about other rooms) the toilet is not separated from the bedroom by a door. It is semi-open. We are a couple who have been together for a few years now (through sickness and health haha) so this wasn’t much of an issue for us but if you’re a bit shy about it you could just ask your roommate to enjoy the beach for a bit while you do your thing. Not a big deal.

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2020
Hi Emma
Wow. Thank you for such a stellar review! We’re so happy you could be here for Christmas too. We only wish you could have stayed longer. You were both lovely guests and we really enjoyed your company! Thanks again for taking the time to write such a kind review. We hope you will return to our bnb for future vacation time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway64...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Gem on North San Pedro”
Reviewed 18 December 2019 for a stay in December 2019

My teen son and I spent 3 nights in the tree house at Sam and Kristin’s. They, along with Manny (property caretaker), were the perfect hosts. The property speaks for itself, beautiful grounds, breathtaking views. Yes, it’s way north...but so worth it. Get the golf cart rental and get up there!
I had mentioned in a pre-arrival email that I was hoping for a traditional Belizean breakfast one day...and I got it the first morning: fresh fry jacks, eggs, beans, bacon, fresh fruit, and french press coffee. Have you made your reservation yet??
Their place is about a 20min drive from Secret Beach, which made it easy to get there before the rush and easy to get back.
Sam and Kristin offer dinner, which we joined them for, for one night. We were treated to bbq chicken and veggie kabobs with coconut and cilantro rice. They are excellent cooks, great to have a choice of dinner on the property.
We were assisted with a snorkeling excursion, and Sam’s recommendation was excellent.
I slept like a baby, the bed was comfortable and the pillow was perfection (proclaimed pillow snob).
North Beach Retreat was an exemplary way to start our Belizean Cayes adventure.
To quote Schwarzenegger, “I’ll be back.”

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2019
Thanks for your positive review Melanie. We really enjoyed having you here and hope you and Chase enjoyed the rest of your vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.