We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing experience!

It was a wonderful experience! Marc is very knowledgeable and had fascinating stories to share. He... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
rachelwmy3sons
,
St. George, Utah
via mobile
Amazing

I do at least one and usually more whale watches a eyar in Southern California. This was my first... read more

Reviewed 18 September 2021
KBlaquera
Read all 476 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Avila Beach
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
473
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
473
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain mark whale watching central coast sea lions marine life local history see whales an incredible experience great trip highly recommend this trip hour trip the entire trip local area highlight of our trip boat tour within minutes san luis bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2021

This whale-watching excursion was fabulous. Captain Mark was very knowledgeable, very friendly, safety conscious, and a great guide. The boat was great, too. We saw numerous whales. It was close up and amazing. Well worth every penny.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank annettekJ9102LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2021

OMG! Amazing. Do not book with anyone else. We have been Whale watching many times and in several other Countries and this is hands down the single best experience ever. Marc is a very gracious host and has the perfect boat for this excursion. He has an incredible "knack" for locating the Whales, getting you right where you need to be to have the best vantage point for viewing without interfering with their feeding habits. The Sea Lions and Birds put on a show that is almost as awesome as the Whales. DO IT!!!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank tayloxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Loved being able to book a private experience with my family. Captain Mark was so friendly and knowledgeable and gave us great experiences with amazing humpback whales! We will definitely be back!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 2006kira
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Loved this trip! The boat is comfortable and rides very nicely. We've done a lot of whale watching trips but this was unique. You are right at water level, not on a huge boat. The whales were trumpeting, which was new for us and you could hear them far away because you were in a totally quiet setting. We had one come within 8 ft of the boat. We learned a lot of new information, which was so interesting. Go and enjoy yourself.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Jba31857
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic experience with the Avila Beach Whale Watching tour. Capt. Mark is extremely professional and knowledgeable and knew exactly where to go for the best viewing. We were fortunate to see 5 humpback whales with hundreds of sea lions and birds all getting their fill of fish. Unfortunately we didn’t see any dolphins but the trip was well worth it nonetheless. Such a surreal experience to get close to these creatures in their environment. Highly recommend this excursion. Groups are limited to 6 people which is nice.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 687jann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews