We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Nearby Hotels
US$301
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$349
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
US$503
US$301
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
US$286
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$431
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$485
US$458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$386
US$366
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$487
US$458
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 961)
Filter reviews
1 961 results
Traveller rating
918
680
223
90
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
680
223
90
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlejockey clubanderson housephillips collectionluxury hotelfront desk staffbeautiful hotelmetro stationlocation is greatper daybusiness centertwo blocksdc areawhite housevalet parkingnational malliprefer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 961 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fairfax is what I think of as a classic and stately DC hotel. Please be aware the lobby is under construction as well as most of the lower level (restaurant, concierge, front desk, etc) have been relocated.

As for the rooms, they are average in size, but the beds were quite comfortable. The bathroom and furnishings were elegant albeit a little tired (but in keeping with the charm of a DC hotel in my opinion). The staff was very accommodating and very happy to help.

Overall, I was satisfied with the room and the hotel.

Travel Hint: I would certainly recommend getting a room with a view of Massachusetts Avenue, otherwise you may face nearby buildings.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Mass Ave
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank agg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay here at Fairfax at Embassy Row. What a pleasure to see that you found us to be a “classic and stately DC hotel.” Our staff enjoys nothing more than to help guests have a great visit and it is gratifying to us that you should mention this. We hope you can come back after the renovation work is done to see us in our full glory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are adequate but on the small side. The hotel main entrance was under renovation when I visited, so maybe better things are to come. Price was reasonable, but furnishings rather tired. No view of Embassy Row from my room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank antiques223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We apologize that your visit with us fell in the midst of our renovations, but it means that you will have to come again to see all of the gorgeous improvements upon their completion! We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your view but hope that you were able to enjoy the close walk to Embassy Row from our hotel. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

18 people waiting to check in and both reception people were working on one person checking out. Waiting 40 minutes. People are agitated and requesting service and are being told to wait on line and someone will be with them shortly. Shortly must mean 40 minutes. Ridiculous.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AnynameAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback regarding your check-in. We strive to have a quick and easy check-in and check-out policy and we are deeply sorry that did not happen. We do hope that our staff made up for the inconvenience and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you wish to discuss further. We hope your next experience with us will go as smoothly as expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying here makes you feel like visiting royalty! The staff is the MOST friendly and accommodating anywhere! Enjoy DuPont circle in the evenings and check out the beautiful embassies too. Great restaurants, and the Phillips Art Collection is just a block away! Close to the subway station (by Krispie Kreme, DuPont Cir). They even stored our luggage after checkout so we didn't have to lug it around before our evening flight. This 1927 hotel is imacculate!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Paintyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us! We think our grand old building is something special and are pleased that you think so, too. It is always our aim that guests feel like royalty and that our staff is as accommodating as possible, so thank you for taking the time to note this in your review. It is a joy to host guests like you and we look forward to your return to the Fairfax at Embassy Row.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I returned here after a visit two years ago. The rooms are nice and reflect a historic design. The housekeeping and maintenance staff were great. They are under a major remodel so no food or bar services beyond a temporary try.....I was disappointed in their lack of disclosure for the remodel. Staff are nice but there are better options. I hope they invest heavily to modernize and still keep some of the embassy row feel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Twinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank you for your repeat business and for taking the time to give us feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our remodeling. While your overall visit was satisfactory, we are concerned that you were not completely impressed by us on this visit and hope you come back again and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews