We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$137
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt Washington(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hamilton Hotel Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Harrington(Washington DC)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$121
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Georgetown Suites(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wink(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2 000)
Filter reviews
2 001 results
Traveller rating
927
690
234
96
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
690
234
96
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlejockey clubanderson housephillips collectionluxury hotelfront desk staffbeautiful hotelmetro stationlocation is greatper dayking bedbusiness centertwo blocksdc areawhite housevalet parkingnational mall
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 2 001 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Fairfax is what I think of as a classic and stately DC hotel. Please be aware the lobby is under construction as well as most of the lower level (restaurant, concierge, front desk, etc) have been relocated.

As for the rooms, they are average in size, but the beds were quite comfortable. The bathroom and furnishings were elegant albeit a little tired (but in keeping with the charm of a DC hotel in my opinion). The staff was very accommodating and very happy to help.

Overall, I was satisfied with the room and the hotel.

Travel Hint: I would certainly recommend getting a room with a view of Massachusetts Avenue, otherwise you may face nearby buildings.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Mass Ave
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank agg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay here at Fairfax at Embassy Row. What a pleasure to see that you found us to be a “classic and stately DC hotel.” Our staff enjoys nothing more than to help guests have a great visit and it is gratifying to us that you should mention this. We hope you can come back after the renovation work is done to see us in our full glory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The rooms are adequate but on the small side. The hotel main entrance was under renovation when I visited, so maybe better things are to come. Price was reasonable, but furnishings rather tired. No view of Embassy Row from my room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank antiques223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We apologize that your visit with us fell in the midst of our renovations, but it means that you will have to come again to see all of the gorgeous improvements upon their completion! We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your view but hope that you were able to enjoy the close walk to Embassy Row from our hotel. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

18 people waiting to check in and both reception people were working on one person checking out. Waiting 40 minutes. People are agitated and requesting service and are being told to wait on line and someone will be with them shortly. Shortly must mean 40 minutes. Ridiculous.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AnynameAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for the feedback regarding your check-in. We strive to have a quick and easy check-in and check-out policy and we are deeply sorry that did not happen. We do hope that our staff made up for the inconvenience and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you wish to discuss further. We hope your next experience with us will go as smoothly as expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Staying here makes you feel like visiting royalty! The staff is the MOST friendly and accommodating anywhere! Enjoy DuPont circle in the evenings and check out the beautiful embassies too. Great restaurants, and the Phillips Art Collection is just a block away! Close to the subway station (by Krispie Kreme, DuPont Cir). They even stored our luggage after checkout so we didn't have to lug it around before our evening flight. This 1927 hotel is imacculate!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Paintyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us! We think our grand old building is something special and are pleased that you think so, too. It is always our aim that guests feel like royalty and that our staff is as accommodating as possible, so thank you for taking the time to note this in your review. It is a joy to host guests like you and we look forward to your return to the Fairfax at Embassy Row.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I returned here after a visit two years ago. The rooms are nice and reflect a historic design. The housekeeping and maintenance staff were great. They are under a major remodel so no food or bar services beyond a temporary try.....I was disappointed in their lack of disclosure for the remodel. Staff are nice but there are better options. I hope they invest heavily to modernize and still keep some of the embassy row feel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Twinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We thank you for your repeat business and for taking the time to give us feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our remodeling. While your overall visit was satisfactory, we are concerned that you were not completely impressed by us on this visit and hope you come back again and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews